We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food and friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maaryland
1 review
“best food and friendly owners”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. We only regret not having more time to just hang out at the B&B (too busy visiting Biltmore). Fresh flowers throughout the inn and stashes of chocolate in every room. But the best memory will be the wonderful breakfasts - better than anything we've had in a B&B!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler123404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    25
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
443
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Jim and Linda run a great B&B. This historic home is convenient to downtown Asheville and all the major sites.

The inn is well appointed with antiques, reasonably priced, and Jim's breakfasts are fantastic. When we go back to Asheville this will be where we stay.

Of special note: Jim was able to accommodate the dietary restrictions that my diabetes demands. Each day he made small adjustments and if anything was particularly problematic, it would be on the side with a great substitution.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiabeticTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I just returned from a trip to Asheville with four friends. Our stay at the Lion and Rose could not have been better. The house is gorgeous -filled with antiques- and Jim and Linda were so nice and accommodating. We all fell in love with Cedric. Breakfast in the formal dining room with beautiful china and candlelight was really special. This B&B definately deserves all the high ratings it has received.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Four friends and I booked all five lovely rooms at the Lion and the Rose for four days making it "our own". But Jim and Linda Palmer made it so much better than home. Hot tea or coffee (or even Diet Coke) outside your room each morning. Delicious, creative breakfasts served in a lovely candle-lit dining room with music playing softly in the background. Fully stocked pantry available to guests 24/7. Beautifully tended gardens and a welcoming porch. Printed directions,sight-seeing suggestions,restaurant recommendations---epitome of organization. And spotlessly clean throughout. See what I mean by better than home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcbeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast place to stay which was clean, had amazing furniture and the bed was incredibly soft making for a great nights stay. My only problem, I couldnt stay longer.

The inkeepers were away which would probably account for the breakfast which was nice, but not as advertised.

Very welcoming, thanks to Sally and gorgeous porch and gardens.

Recommended highly, in a nice quiet neighbourhood and to any other travellers, if you are staying here, the Nine Mile restaurant which is about a block and a half away is highly recommended, best restaurant I have had a meal in, in 5 years!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozhelen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2009

From the moment we arrived we were treated to true hospitality and graciousness. Our room was gorgeous and well adorned in every way. The room was quiet and very comfortable for two people exploring their love for each other. The meals were outstanding as well as novel each morning. Location to attactions in Asheville is very good and the trolley tour is well worth taking.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNC-CH-1967-Joyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Frommers quide has this as a one star but in our opinion it is three!!

Elegant and relaxing with attentive owners and superb breakfast.

Facilities for tea and coffee with snacks and evening sherry / port on offer.

Nearby restaurant for superb evening meals.

Such a pleasure to actually talk to fellow guests.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
232 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
737 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
213 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing