We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at this beautiful B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We have just returned from the Lion & Rose with memories of another fabulous stay with Jim & Linda. This is at least our forth visit over the years and we are always delighted with the accommodations/food/hospitality. We are veterans of over 20 years at many B&B's and this is our favorite. Jim's delicious breakfasts are always a treat and prepared to our needs with dietary restrictions. The rooms and house are immaculate while comfortable, the location in a historic neighborhood is convenient to Asheville, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and walking to a close-by park and historic sites. Jim and Linda are gracious hosts; helpful and friendly. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriendsofKoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Lion and Rose, located in the historic Montford neighborhood of Asheville, is a delight in every way. Its location allows one to walk to town without stress and strain, yet at the same time enjoy the park-like setting of the neighborhood and its beautiful row of stately homes. The hospitality is thoughtfully attentive, the breakfasts imaginative and wonderfully prepared, and the appointments of the house invite one to linger.

Our whole experience there was very congenial, indeed . . . the epitome of comfortable graciousness. We look forward to a return visit at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appellation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

This is a very nice inn with even nicer owners. They thought of all sorts of little touches, like wine glasses in the room, free sodas/snacks, umbrellas by the front door, printed directions to the Biltmore Estate, etc. They couldn't have been more helpful. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room because we were out doing tourist stuff, but the Craig/Tom Suite is the only room on the third floor so it is very private and spacious. Breakfasts were delicious, too, and coffee was brought to our door every morning. Pretty gardens, too. My only issue is that it's located on a fairly busy street so that the noise factor is something to consider for those sensitive to this. The air conditioners were also loud. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay at the Lion and the Rose.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChipTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was our first (and definately not last) B&B experience. The Inn is absolutely beautiful and had all of the comforts of home plus some! Jim and Linda are the perfect hosts and feed us so well at breakfast that we could not think about eating lunch. This was a perfect and relaxing trip! The suite was so comfortable and roomy. The room was spotless and the bathroom was huge!! I usually do not sleep well away from home, however, the bed was so comfortable that I never stirred during the night. Conveniently located to downtown, Biltmore and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Jim had directions to everything we wanted to do and had several other ideas of things to do.

Highly recommend The Lion & The Rose!!! Your senses and stomach will thank you! We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyBondGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My husband and I have stayed at numerous bed and breakfast inns over the years and we found this lovely gem to be the best experience for us. We were very pleased with the service and all the attention to detail provided by Jim and Linda. The inn has been beautifully restored and the outside gardens are well-maintained. The Lion and The Rose is located in the quiet historic district of Asheville, just a short walk to the downtown shops and restaurants. The rates are reasonable, especially given the quality of our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy32309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

The place was beautiful, location fantastic, and Jim and Linda were gracious as always. The breakfasts were to die for....elegant, plentiful and delicious. We were 2 couples traveling together and we stayed in the Margaret Grace room and the Marion Hall room which connect. We had a sitting area to share as well as our private areas. They provide you with everything you need as well as those things you don't but love. Chocolates around the entire house, and port wine to drink for an nightcap. They also have a visitors pantry open 24 hours for your convienience with sodas, water, coffee, snacks and fresh pastries each day to satisfy your every whim. And by the way...while staying in Asheville don't forget to go on the Segway tours with Wes, and the new navitat canapy adventures. AWESOME both of them, and we are all late 50's. Non impact, fun, and a new fresh way to see the area and nature.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

I searched many bed & breakfasts on line but kept coming back to The Lion & the Rose. The house looked just like the photos. Breakfast was good, bed was very comfortable, and it was quiet at night. The location was good, however, it was not as close to downtown as thought. You could easily drive, but on hot days the walk would be difficult. Everything else was close.Biltmore very close, Grovepark Inn and restauraunts. The only small negative was there was no central air, which we were surprised at. There are window units in the bedrooms. The downstairs was very warm when we arrived at l:00 PM, so I don't think you would b e able to sit on the main floor in the afternoon. They do have a wonderful porch which we used several times. We started talking to another guest, and we ended up dining out with them. Very nice B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rescuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 39 in Asheville
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
256 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £146 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing