We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great jumping off spot for visiting Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Easy drive to Biltmore and downtown as well as Grove Park Inn. Host and Hostess are extremely helpful in guiding you to where you want to go as well as making suggestions on how to prioritize your points of visit. Breakfast was wonderful, room and bed very comfortable, grounds very attractive. A great running location for the traveling runner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Atlanta91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

Beautiful B&B... we were late, but we called and our hosts left out a key and a nice welcoming letter. They have a stocked pantry, complete with water & sodas & snacks & tea & coffee - whenever you'd like! Such a small thing, but makes such a big difference.

I'll remember the wonderful breakfast conversation - not to mention the wonderful breakfast!

They sell tickets to the Biltmore, 2 days for $50 - that's a 2-day ticket for less than the 1 day admission at the gate! Definitely ask them about that.

Also - we went biking on the grounds of the Biltmore, also highly recommend that activity. Some of the most beautiful scenery, and all levels of biking trails.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonder_woman4056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary with a 2 night weekend stay. Jim and Linda were very hospitable and we really enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts. The Lion and the Rose is very quiet and the rooms elegant and very private. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the elegant home and the spacious downstairs, porch and outdoor areas as well. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone planning a trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce73060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The location and setting of the Lion & the Rose were just perfect for our long weekend getaway. Jim and Linda have thought of every amenity, including a pantry stocked with drinks, snacks, coffee, and tea that was available 24/7. The breakfasts were scrumptious, and filled us up so that we skipped lunch. Jim's recommendations for restaurants were great, and access to downtown is superb. Linda supplied us with maps & directions to every place we were interested in. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We have travelled all over the world and generally stay in bed and breakfasts. Our 6 nights at The Lion and The Rose ranks as one of the best we have ever been to. Linda and Jim are perfect hosts. The inn itself is a gem. The breakfasts are beyond belief... enough to avoid lunch. If you have not been to this historic inn, you have not been anywhere worth writing about.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joejoslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The innkeepers, Jim and Linda, are warm and welcoming and very helpful in making recommendations for restaurants and things to do in Asheville. The inn is likewise, warm and welcoming. Rooms are comfortable and spotless. The breakfasts were outstanding with a creative flare and loving preparation. We throroughly enjoyed our visit and especially appreciated the quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The use of a computer was also appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiea1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed at The Lion and The Rose as a simple little get-away. Jim greeted us at the door like we were old friends. Greetings were followed by a tour of the facility to make sure we knew where to find the little things we might need or have forgotten. We were offered Port or Sherry, copious amounts of chocolates, fresh pastries, soft drinks, coffee or tea and ice...or anything else we might desire. The entire facility was spotlessly clean and organized...and comfortable. Jim gave us good counsel as to where to eat, along with marking maps for us. The beds were fantastic. Jim told us he had mattresses custom made locally. We all slept very well. Before breakfast, coffee and tea showed up at our door, as ordered the evening before. Breakfast was equally fantastic! All in all, we loved our experience...best B&B we've seen in a long time! Our only complaint...too much chocolate!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThinkTellico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 39 in Asheville
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
256 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £147 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing