We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost but not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The house is wonderful as are the rooms. But for $175 per night I expected more. I've stayed in B&Bs around the world and others in Asheville where this one is located. I would place it at best in the middle. Breakfast was a disappointment (cheese toast and pancakes?) The toilet tissue was extremely thin (I could actually see through it). Very noisy air conditioner.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBAffinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionandRose, Owner at The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

We were very disappointed and surprised by this review. None of these issues were brought to our attention while this couple was at our inn, so we had no way to even attempt to resolve them.

Our rates are very reasonable considering our location and the amenities that we offer. The average rates for the two B&Bs that are adjacent to us on Montford Avenue start at $270 per night and $360 per night.

We have, in fact, served "cheese toast" and "pancakes" for breakfast on consecutive mornings, but they were far from what the description implies. Our "cheese toast" is served on artisan sun dried tomato bread. The sauce is a classic bechamel with five different imported cheddar cheeses, Provencal herbs, and beer. It is accompanied by country ham and mushrooms that have been glazed with balsamic vinegar.

The "pancakes" are sweet potato cakes made from scratch. We roast whole sweet potatoes to add to our home made batter. We serve them with real, warm maple syrup.Guests have liked them so much that we added the recipe to our web site.

Our inn was built in the 1890's and is in a National Historic District. To preserve the historic nature of the home, we have not installed central air conditioning. In the summer, we use window air conditioners to cool the guest rooms. However, on many evenings it is cool enough without AC and guests are free to open the windows. We agree that window air conditioners do make noise. We make every effort to ensure that ours are as quiet as possible. Since no guest has ever complained about this in the 8 years that we have owned and managed this inn, we assumed that it was not an issue.

Of all the great amenities that we do offer, toilet paper is not one of them. A guest who was a plumber by profession, recommended single ply toilet tissue to avoid plumbing problems. From the day we followed through on his recommendation, we have had no problems. Therefore, whether you can see through it or not, we will continue to use it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

If Bed and Breakfast' were awarded stars, then the Lion and the Rose easily rate FOUR stars. Jim and Linda are gracious hosts and made us feel like family. The Pink Lady is absolutely gorgeous both inside and out. It is no use being on a diet when you arrive as you will soon fall off. Jim,s cooking skills are truly world class. We are looking forward to our next stay. As far as we are concerned, there is but one place to stay in Asheville..
and that is the Lion and the Rose.
Jim and Sandy Kehoe, Sarasota Fl.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimnsandyk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Jim and Linda are truly the perfect B&B hosts...kind, gracious, accomodating, knowledgable, available, but never intrusive. They extended a truly warm welcome and made virtually their entire home and its amenities available to us. and what a beautiful home it is! Our room was warm, comfortable, beautifully furnished, quiet, and spacious-a heavenly haven to return to each day after touring the Biltmore Estate, hiking in the mountains, or visiting the shops and art studios in the City of Asheville. The inn is located only a stone's throw from downtown and provides quick and easy access to virtually all of Asheville's attractions. Jim and Linda are extremely helpful in providing directions to those attractions and go beyond the call of duty in making snacks, beverages and baked treats available to their guests any time of the day or night. Since no review of a B&B would be complete without mention of the daily breakfast, would just add that, whether it be Jim or Linda or both, someone in that kitchen is a true gourmet chef. JIm directed us to some of the the finest restaurants in Asheville during our stay there, but the first meal of the day at the Lion and the Rose B&B was always the best!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingman4919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We can't say enough about the beauty, charm, and history of this lovely B&B. Even with Jim & Linda on vacation, Kiki & Heather ran the place with grace and the perfect levels of availability and unobtrusiveness. With its literary historical appeal and authentic Queen Anne/Georgian pebble-dash architecture, The Lion & The Rose is a perfect home base for exploring Asheville. We stayed in the Craig-Toms Suite, enjoying the shower room, jacuzzi tub, and balcony especially. Recommended Asheville experiences include the Asheville Historic Trolley Tour, Thomas Wolfe memorial, Highland Hospital area, Grove Park Inn and surroundings, Blue Ridge Parkway, etc. We hit a lot of eateries; Mayfel's and French Broad Street Chocolate Lounge were standouts. Helpful hint: The Wall Street Parking Garage is cheap and convenient to all things downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tada1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Lion & the Rose. The house is beautiful, and near downtown. Our room was sparking clean, and very quiet (even though the B&B was full). We could not hear the other people on the same floor or above us. The owners are kind, friendly, and happy to help, but also are unobtrusive. If you are looking for a small B&B that will still give you privacy, this is a great place to stay. The amenities at the hotel are well thought out and very considerate. There is a computer and printer available, well stocked food and drink pantry, a library of DVD's you can watch in your room, extra toiletries (if you forgot something), port and sherry to sip on, and plenty of books of all kinds to choose from. Our room even had a soft throw blanket to curl up in. There are little bowls of chocolates everywhere. The bathrobes and towels are absolutely luxurious. Breakfast was great. The air conditioner in the room was a little loud--- but it is a window air conditioner, so we had control of it. Can't say enough good things about our stay. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlygirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Easy drive to Biltmore and downtown as well as Grove Park Inn. Host and Hostess are extremely helpful in guiding you to where you want to go as well as making suggestions on how to prioritize your points of visit. Breakfast was wonderful, room and bed very comfortable, grounds very attractive. A great running location for the traveling runner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Atlanta91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Beautiful B&B... we were late, but we called and our hosts left out a key and a nice welcoming letter. They have a stocked pantry, complete with water & sodas & snacks & tea & coffee - whenever you'd like! Such a small thing, but makes such a big difference.

I'll remember the wonderful breakfast conversation - not to mention the wonderful breakfast!

They sell tickets to the Biltmore, 2 days for $50 - that's a 2-day ticket for less than the 1 day admission at the gate! Definitely ask them about that.

Also - we went biking on the grounds of the Biltmore, also highly recommend that activity. Some of the most beautiful scenery, and all levels of biking trails.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonder_woman4056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
717 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
820 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,651 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £145 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing