We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Reynolds Mansion
Ranked #2 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
long island new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We started our N. Carolina trip by staying 5 days and nights at Reynolds Mansion, an historic pre-Civil War, beautifully restored mansion. The owners, Billy and Mike spared no expense in restoring this old "gal" to her former prominence and beauty to the smallest detail. Breakfast is quite an adventure starting with fresh fruit, breakfast pastry, coffee and juice daily and piped-in 40's music which I love to hear. One day, we had "green eggs and ham" benedict, another day, we had blueberry pancakes with homemade blueberry compote (or syrup for those of the non-diabetic set), sundried tomato, baby spinach and scrambled egg crepes and other creative treats too numerous to list. We never had the same things twice. Billy is very knowledgeable about Asheville, its history, culture, food establishments and the artistic places to visit. Ask for his recommended restaurant list. Needless to say, we had a stellar time in Asheville and have targeted the city for a possible retirement location. It has something for everyone. By the time we completed our stay at Reynolds Mansion, Billy, my husband and I were good friends and we've promised to return.

Room Tip: The "All That Jazz" room has a very large balcony where you can sit and enjoy nature's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
492
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

When I read superlative reviews of a place to say, I always expect that there will be some kind of exaggeration or puffery. So when I saw unanimously favorable reviews of The Reynolds Mansion, I was a bit skeptical. I shouldn't have been -- everything they said was true! Billy and Michael are gracious and thoughtful hosts. The fully-stocked guest kitchen and baked-goods sideboard were great touches. The breakfasts were multi-course affairs, wonderfully prepared and attentively served. There is no detail involving guest comfort that has been overlooked. Downtown Asheville is close by and easily accessed.

Room Tip: I stayed in Lila (the sole first floor room) and found it to be convenient, quiet, and private (I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_so-called
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

If you don't like to be pampered, don't like wonderful and creative breakfasts, don't enjoy making new friends who feel like family, don't like comfortable beds, don't like fresh cookies and brownies, don't like complimentary happy hour, and, in general, don't appreciate the finer things in life, then don't stay here! But if you do, be forewarned--you'll want to return over and over. Thank you, Billy and Mike, for sharing your home and yourselves with your us.

Room Tip: Call Billy to see what's available. They're all good sized rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a wonderful three night (and three breakfast!) stay at The Reynolds Mansion. Billy and Mike were amazing hosts and it felt more like we were visiting great friends than staying at a hotel. I couldn't wait for Billy's stories about the house at breakfast and we enjoyed chatting with them after our day's activities, as well. Their meal recommendations were spot-on, as well. We felt pampered, cared for and can't wait to go back. I've already told my family, friends and coworkers about our wonderful experience. When I go back to Asheville, you won't find me anywhere else!

Room Tip: We stayed in room "Glenda" and it was just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stay at many B&B's when traveling, but this has been by far the best ever!!!!!! Billy is such a knowledgeable innkeeper of the mansion. Not only does he make a mouth-watering breakfast, but he has fascinating stories to tell about the mansion's history. The entire staff is like family and so friendly. We really felt welcomed and will definitely plan our next trip to Asheville at Reynold's Mansion. Make sure to get all the staff's tips about where eat as well. They will not steer you wrong. So excited about coming back soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Williams2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our first visit to The Reynolds Mansion was fantastic so we felt like we had to share it with our daughter. Last week she turned 17 so we made a weekend trip to Asheville to celebrate. Billy and Mike were quick to accomodate us in a room that sleeps 3 guests in the main house. We had stayed in the Carriage House last time and it was wonderful but staying in the main house is especially fun. The house is immaculent and the history is so interesting. Billy and Mike make you feel like family from the time you arrive. Our daughter didn't want to leave. By the way, the breakfast is AMAZING! And thank you to Marty for all the useful information on ASU. We want our daughter to attend there so we can come back to Reynolds Mansion over and over. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temho65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We loved our stay here. It was a gift from our children and we fell in love with the home the moment we stepped through the doorway. Billy and Mike were so gracious and welcoming. The breakfasts were fantastic and Billy’s “history lessons” and stories of the home and those that lived and died there were truly captivating. The surrounding views from all sides of the house are amazing as you relax on the porches. The attention to the smallest details and soft subtle music playing in the Foyer helped you feel as if you have stepped back in time. We were so sad to leave but are already planning our next visit there and hope to stay even longer the next time.
Stayed April 20th - 22nd

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
197 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,813 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,561 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reynolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reynolds Mansion

Property: The Reynolds Mansion
Address: 100 Reynolds Hts, Asheville, NC 28804-1302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reynolds Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry for Historic Places, The Reynolds Mansion was built in 1847 and is one of the few remaining pre Civil War homes. The mansion sits on a four acre site with spectacular views near the foot of Reynolds Mountain. With over 3,000 sq feet of porches, and 12 fireplaces, you'll feel the warmth and hospitality from the moment enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Reynolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reynolds Mansion Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing