We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word......Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Reynolds Mansion
Ranked #2 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word......Fabulous!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Reynolds Mansion is more than a B&B. it is a beautifully restored and decorated, in period antiques ,large mansion. As large and elegant as it is, owners Billy and Michael make you feel completely at home. You could not have more charming hosts catering to your every need. The breakfast served each morning was nothing less than five star quality. The food is prepared fresh and served at a beautifully appointed table. If you could possibly think about eating another bite that day cookies, tea, coffee, etc. are ready and abundant. A real treat is admiring the gorgeous grounds while rocking on the most comfortable southern style wrap around porch.
The views are truly beautiful.
The location makes attractions in Ashville easily accessible . Yet the mansion retains a country feel.
I especially want to emphasize how important I feel it is to have the owners live on the property. We experienced a level of hospitality that is hard to find.
I am an experienced traveler with high expectations and with all honesty can state that The Reynolds Mansion is on my return list must. I can't wait to see my new old friends Billy and Michael. Billy has the true gift of hospitality. Don't miss out on all the fun!

Room Tip: The Claudette Room has a double and a twin bed great for our girls only weekend. All rooms are quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
496
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a little piece of paradise nestled in the Appalachian Mountains in Asheville,NC. We love to see and enjoy the beauty of Biltmore Mansion and Estate, and spend the day exploring Asheville. We always look forward to the fact that we'll be staying at Reynold's Mansion. It is the most beautiful bed and breakfast that we've ever visited, and the history is truly fascinating. Billy joins you each morning for an absolutely delicious breakfast, and shares his astounding knowledge of the Reynold's Mansion and the Reynold's family history. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious; and the dining room table is a beautiful backdrop, set with different formal china every morning. They graciously prepare a wonderful breakfast to accommodate my gluten allergy, including the most scrumptious gluten free baked items you could ask for. All of the rooms are comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated. Billy and Mike have thought of everything to ensure that your stay is nothing less than spectacular. They only ask that you enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of their home, as they do themselves. A warmer welcome that you won't find anywhere else.

Room Tip: There are good pictures of each room on the Reynold's mansion website. We've stayed in Lila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Style, history and a very genial host Reynolds Mansion comes pretty close to the top of my list of great places we have stayed.

The building sits in its own grounds on the outskirts of Asheville. Putting “Senator Reynolds Drive” into the GPS took us straight there. We were greeted by Barry who took pride in showing us round the building and explaining something of its history. Because we wanted a base where we could cook our own evening meal we stayed in Rhett’s retreat which is the ground floor of a separate building a few yards from the main house. There was a comfortable spacious lounge, separate bathroom, and two bedrooms (one double, one single). The kitchen was very well equipped, lacking only a dishwasher. The TV had many channels and there was a reasonable Wi-Fi connection.

The main house is a real treasure trove, full of interesting objects (as are the grounds). The owners have taken a great deal of trouble to furnish the house as it would have been in the 1930’s.

Breakfast was a real feature of our stay. All guests sit together at a magnificent polished wood dining table. Billy is the perfect host, managing the conversation with real skill. In my opinion he should take over from David Letterman! The food was superb full of flavor and served with the same style I would expect in a Michelin starred restaurant.

The only downside I can think of are that breakfast is served at 9am so don’t plan on an early start and be prepared to savour the experience.

If all this sounds too good to be true I promise you it isn’t, go and find out for yourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

If you want to go to a place that is sterile, uninteresting and has no history, this is definitely NOT for you. However, if you want to experience what it was like to live at a time when there was an aristocratic class who lived in a world that was out of reach for most, and understand who these people really were (think All That Glitters).. then take the time to reserve a room at this mansion. Billy Sanders is a font of knowledge pertaining to everything Reynolds and, with his encyclopedic memory of everything pertaining to the land, the home and the generations of those who rightfully lived there, you'll leave wishing you could have stayed just one more day, or week. Apart from its history, the gourmet breakfasts, beautifully appointed rooms and the BEST macaroons I have ever tasted IN MY LIFE, make this a place my family counts as the top of our, "We'll Be Back" places to visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Doesn't matter which one you choose, or are assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statham, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We both really enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Billy, Mike and staff were awesome, the mansion was beautiful. We spent two nights there. The breakfast was quite exotic and more than substantial. We stayed in the Claudette room, which was very comfortable and peaceful. Billy recommended several local restaurants, and the two we chose were excellent (Vinnie's and Stony Knob).

We plan to stay there again, on our next trip to Asheville.

Room Tip: Any of the five rooms in the mansion all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Turcotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Good: Billy the innkeeper is friendly, knowledgable and interesting. The breakfast is over the top portions of fresh fruit, breads and some rather interesting main courses. The house is beautiful and rich with history.

The Bad: We stayed in one of the back buildings in a room with two twin beds, a fireplace(nice), deck (nice) and a single sink bath with shower/tub combo (meh). The room was not quite kitsch- kind of a mish-mash of furnishings that looked as if they might have come from a garage sale. Definitely not pretty. The beds were not comfortable and the sheets were far from luxurious. The pillows were down right cheap.

The Ugly: At one time I'm sure the setting of this historic property was amazing. Unfortunately, the land around the home was sold and there now sits a large modern condo complex consisting of many multi- story buildings with restaurants and shops on the first floor. These are directly in front of the mansion. Personally, I choose a B&B for the quaint setting as well as the antique homey feel. The setting is no longer quaint. Its like being in the middle of town without the convenience or diversity of architecture.

If you don't care about the everywhere in America suburban feel then Billy and the mansion's beauty might make up for it being on the very edge of a condo complex. But I would stay in the house itself not the out building which lack any real charm.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 57783Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I researched many B&Bs before deciding on Reynolds Mansion. When you stay in this beautiful home, you feel like you are living the rich history of 19th century Asheville. Billy and Mike have restored everything to its original state, and we were encouraged to call their home our home. Billy is a warm, gracious, and most interesting host who will regale you with the fascinating history of his B&B and recommend "must-see" places to visit. His breakfasts were sumptuous gourmet feasts, and we looked forward to "raiding" the special treats in the cookie jars after a long day of sightseeing. You must stay here! We will be back next year for sure!
Beth and George

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
757 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,572 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reynolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reynolds Mansion

Property: The Reynolds Mansion
Address: 100 Reynolds Hts, Asheville, NC 28804-1302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reynolds Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry for Historic Places, The Reynolds Mansion was built in 1847 and is one of the few remaining pre Civil War homes. The mansion sits on a four acre site with spectacular views near the foot of Reynolds Mountain. With over 3,000 sq feet of porches, and 12 fireplaces, you'll feel the warmth and hospitality from the moment enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Reynolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reynolds Mansion Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing