We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a B&B should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Reynolds Mansion
Ranked #3 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is exactly what a B&B experience should be like! It has everything going for it: Great hosts who are gracious and friendly, incredible food (best B&B breakfasts I've ever had), and an incredible house with great history. There's really nothing bad I can say about it at all, and yet everything great to say about it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the Reynolds Mansion for 3 nights of our early spring, 12-day road trip. We were traveling with big and heavy luggage. Upon our arrival, Billy swung open the front door, deftly grabbed our suitcases in each hand, flew up the stairs, and gently set them down in our room. That was the astonishing beginning of the most pleasant lodging experience we have ever had in our entire history of travel to fine inns across this country. From his guidance about excellent dining, (and there are many choices in Asheville, to the best way to visit the Vanderbilt and other Asheville destinations, we were well advised. Billy's breakfasts were a celebration, every single day. I usually don't eat much for breakfast, but, as Billy regaled us all with stories at the head of the beautiful dining table, I ate slowly, much, and was well-fueled for the day's adventures. The Reynolds' porches and flower gardens and inside decor, not to mention 2 very well-behaved, generally out of site small doggies, made this lodging experience the best we have ever experienced. I cannot speak highly enough of the experience. Oh, and the King size bed was very comfortable (we slept so well), and the room decor (with fresh flowers!) was wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarjoryMSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

when planning a trip to Asheville we found the Reynolds Mansion and what a great find! We stayed for only 2 nights and those were the 2 most relaxing days/nights we have had in a long time. Think pampered ... that is what one experiences at this lovely bed and breakfast. Not only were Billy and Michael the most amazing hosts, their small staff were personable, kind and most accommodating. Hey Billy, we are planning a return visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsEllenMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There’s your normal, everyday B & B experience, then there’s the Reynolds Mansion in Asheville, NC. From the first moment you walk onto the magnificent wrap-around front porch and meet Billy and Mike, you understand why it’s one-of-a-kind. It’s like being invited to a very special dinner party at a dear friend’s home -- only the home is a grand slice of living history and the dear friend is someone you just met!

Pick a room, any room; they all have something special and comforting to offer. The breakfast room especially has a vibe all to itself. You’ll feel like Lord and Lady Grantham dining in Downton Abbey surrounded by superb staff. As Billy himself said, “a bed and breakfast is truly about the breakfast”, and breakfast at the Mansion is unlike any I have ever experienced. The exquisite setting, the antique china, the glorious food, excellent coffee and even fresh honey from Billy’s own bees raised on the beautifully manicured four-acre site of the inn, all adds up to perfect.

But, the truly special and unique difference at Reynolds Mansion is Billy himself. With all the aplomb of a gracious Southern host, Billy sits regally at the head of a table laden with sumptuous egg dishes, amazing creamy grits, the best apple-wood bacon ever, fresh fruit, sides of melt-in-your-mouth pancakes and iced sweet buns and regales his guests with wonderful tales about the inn and its unique and sometimes eerie past. I have never met a B & B host who takes such an interest in his guests and believe me when I tell you, Billy could easily be a successful stand-up comic with his hilarious detailed stories and perfect delivery. Your spirits will be uplifted and your mood will transcend the ordinary.

On the practical side, anything you need to know about Asheville and the surrounding area, including insider tips on the best restaurants, advice on side trips to beautiful natural wonders, and how to find the up and coming arts district without getting totally lost – Billy can provide. Reynolds Mansion defines what every B & B should be. It’s the perfect combination of a gloriously preserved home, quiet, comforting sleeping quarters, delicious meals, and the most gracious host you can imagine. You absolutely can’t go wrong choosing the Reynolds Mansion; it will be an experience you’ll cherish.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennyboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Billy and staff were wonderful during our weekend stay. The Reynolds Mansion has multiple porches, a fantastic breakfast and a peaceful yet fun setting. (Look for the monkey in the tree!)
Would definitely return to Reynolds for a future trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "All that jazz" room, in the house behind th main house. It is roomy, qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently spend a wonderful weekend at the Reynolds Mansion. This charming B&B is a great place to get away from the daily routine. Billy and Michael were wonderful hosts who are rightfully very proud of their extensive efforts at restoring this historic home. The entire place was immaculate, including the beautiful grounds. Breakfast both days was awesome--you will not need any lunch! Billy was gracious enough to sent us his recipe for his spinach and egg strata we had Saturday morning. We will definitely be returning here later this year. Jim & Ann N.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Reynolds Mansion was the destination of our annual girlfriend getaway. What a wonderful experience! The breakfasts were delicious, the inn was beautiful, and Billy, Michael and staff couldn't have been better. I recommend Reynolds Mansion to anyone who wants to experience a bed and breakfast at it's best! Theresa S

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
255 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
817 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,647 reviews
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 39 in Asheville
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reynolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reynolds Mansion

Address: 100 Reynolds Hts, Asheville, NC 28804-1302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £210 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reynolds Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry for Historic Places, The Reynolds Mansion was built in 1847 and is one of the few remaining pre Civil War homes. The mansion sits on a four acre site with spectacular views near the foot of Reynolds Mountain. With over 3,000 sq feet of porches, and 12 fireplaces, you'll feel the warmth and hospitality from the moment enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Reynolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reynolds Mansion Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing