We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #25 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2008

What a wonderful place to stay in to see downtown Asheville! We were greeted promptly by the owner of the Inn upon our arrival, who immediately grabbed our bags and showed us around the inn. The inn itself is gorgeous with gardens outside and inside the most beautifully decorated home with a jukebox and homemade treats and sherry! Our room was breathtaking, we stayed in the Ralph Waldo Emerson Suite, and a dream come true! Huge comfy bed with a fireplace and large flat screen TV, candles everywhere, a small sitting area. The largest bathroom with a 2 person jacuzzi tub and shower with body sprays! Everything was decorated perfectly in lovely reds and dark woods, and beautiful tile in the bathroom! Breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning, (we opted for the extended continental in room but there is a formal breakfast in the dining room) we had hard boiled eggs, huge muffins, fresh orange juice, coffee and strawberries with custard. After a long refreshing shower we were ready to hit the town! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AshNC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2008

First impressions are lasting impressions...And what they say about location? It's everything. We parked our car and walked. Able to shop, eat at restaurants and go to grocery store, as well as coffeehouse. Professional staff and owners go out of the way to please. Cleanliness was 5 star. Breakfast very good. Ambience was most excellent. Secure and safe. Would recommend to anyone. Asheville is wonderful..Will return.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank songstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at WhiteGate Inn in December and absolutely loved our stay. The room was beautiful, the service was wonderful, and breakfast was delicious! It was so nice to relax in front of the fireplace and receive spa services in our room. We will be back soon and recommend the Inn to all our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kris10anne121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2008

We stayed in the Cottage at the WhiteGate Inn and it was absolutely perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn is very beautiful and the Cottage is private, quaint, & nicely decorated. We loved the fireplaces in both the living room and bedroom.

This was our first visit to Asheville and we could not have found a more perfect place to stay. The Inn is located about 4 blocks from downtown Asheville (easy walk) and about 15 minutes from the Biltmore Estate. A great location.

The Innkeepers and staff are all very helpful and personable. From the three course breakfast (YUM!) to the daily "Happy Hour" (with wine and appetizers) the service and personal touch is always there. We were provided with helpful restaurant reccommendations (they even made reservations for us), places to go, history of the area, and great personal stories about the area.

We highly reccommend the WhiteGate Inn and plan to tell our friends about it. We will definitely come back to Asheville and stay here again....but, next time we hope to stay longer than a weekend!

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank LisaKay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

Pulling into the driveway at the 1889 WhiteGate Inn, I was handed the keys to the luxurious home of a very wealthy friend and was given full run of the place for 3 days, with 'servants' preparing our breakfast each morning, and cleaning behind us as we came and went.
Now this is not really the truth. I did not know the owners before I arrived, nor did I have exclusive use of the property. It just felt that way....and it will for you too, if you visit. My girlfriend and I stayed in this luxurious and charming bed and breakfast for three nights last December, as the staging ground for a "Christmas Lights" Biltmore tour. I could not have asked for a better experience. Our hosts were wonderful and the whole property had an electric, festive feeling - indescribable. Strangers sit down each morning to breakfast together and after fifteen minutes, the historical formal dining room is filled with laughter and merriment...as if the delicious food and sheer energy of the place penetrated each and every person with a sense of belonging.
We stayed in the Elizabeth Barrett Browning room and I was amazed at the thoughtful design coupled with absolutely stunning decoration. The luxury was understated, yet elegant and the stone fireplace, and chimney mounted plasma television were not only tastefully in keeping with the other decorations, they added an entire night of fun for our vacation as we opted to stay in for "movie night" to recover from our day of horseback riding and touring.
While the pictures on the website are highly accurate, they cannot begin to encompass the overall feeling of the place - this is a location that has to be experienced to be understood.
If you are looking for a romantic getaway in the Asheville area, I highly recommend this location. You may arrive a stranger, but you will depart feeling as if you were leaving a family estate.
Raoul "Raleigh" Wilkins

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raleigh1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

The 1889 WhiteGate Inn was absolutely wonderful. We stayed in the Ralph Waldo Emerson room, which had a beautiful stone fireplace, a giant four-poster bed, and an astounding bathroom. Upon arrival, we were shown first around the main house, and all the available services there - free water and soda, a fancy coffee maker, complimentary baked goods, and an incredible CD and DVD library. We were then shown our room - we picked one of the new rooms in the carriage house and we were not disappointed; the room was wonderful.

Every evening there is a social hour in the main house. Breakfast is three course, served at nine am and was delicious both our days there. The inn is a short walk into downtown Asheville - about 10 to 15 minutes to all the resturaunts and shops.

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it most highly.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank luvs_trvl_and_dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Dorothy Parker room on the nights of January 15-16, 2008. We found this inn very much as advertised. It is beautifully furnished and well-located within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants. The public areas of the house are very nice; the dining room where breakfast is served is particularly lovely and elegant.

We were greeted on arrival by Debbie who was very gracious and helpful. Ralph, one of the owners, was at the wine social that evening (which was a nice event).

Our room was very comfortable, with a nice gas fireplace and very comfortable bed. Our only quibbles (both minor): the bed needs a reading light on the right side, and the shower was dark (but with great pressure!).

They are justly proud of the plated breakfast which is served promptly at 9 AM. Everything we had was delicious. On the second day we were the only 2 at the table, and both Ralph and Frank came out to chat with us for a long time after we were done eating. It was one of the more enjoyable parts of our stay.

We would certainly return here if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albemarle Inn
#22 of 39 in Asheville
741 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £189 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing