We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we wanted!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #22 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cary, nc
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Frank and Ralph have done a wonderful job making guests feel welcomed! Their staff was professional and courteous. The Inn and our room, Dorothy Parker, was perfect. We were unsure if we wanted the formal nature of the sit down breakfast, but loved the conversation and entertainment. Very nice touch. Ralph gave us dedicated time in the garden where we shared plant stories and interests. We will come back to Whitegate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank four-from-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    54
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
392
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We loved everything about our stay at the White Gate Inn. The room was gorgeous and super-comfortable. The house is beautiful, and the gardens are amazing. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the food is delicious --they were kind enough to accomodate our special dietary requirements. The location is also great -- walking distance to downtown and restaurants. The adorable corgis are a delight (the come for brief visit after breakfast). We've stayed at a lot of B&Bs and White Gate Inn is right up at the top of the list. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thyme2g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were in Asheville for our 50th anniversary, and opted to stay in a B&B. We couldn't have selected a better place to stay for 3 nights. The company was congenial and the rooms were excellent, albeit on the older side. The rooms had all the amenities of home, and maybe even moreso. The three breakfasts we ate were all fixed with great care, well cooked and presented by Frank and his staff. The afternoon gatherings in the garden with wine and snacks also were excellent. The location, within walking distance of down town Asheville, also was perfect for our interests for this weekend.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gthayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creemore, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Don't hesitate to book this lovely accommodation as your home away from home. Even if you're passing through and it's only for one night. Very clean, well priced, and the staff were very accommodating.
If we're ever back through lovely NC, we will definitely make the 1889 White Gate Inn a stop on our journey.

Room Tip: Joyce Kilmer suite - very large, beautifully decorated, two bedroom with lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our experience at the White Gate Inn. The room was nice and the sheets were so soft--they even had sleeping masks and earplugs in the room which was much appreciated because the sun shone in the sleeping porch in the morning. The breakfast and snacks were yummy and the gardens were amazing. Make sure to allow time to poke around the grounds and the greenhouse. We had a great time at the White Gate Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waboof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were so disappointed in this inn. In all fairness, I got the impression that those who stayed in the house itself had a more favorable experience than we did in one of the dog friendly rooms not attached to the house. Some of the linens were actually frayed, the only towel rack fell to the floor the first night when I simply hung up a wet wash cloth on it, and the kitchenette was swarming with ants even when we put a closed jar of peanut butter on the counter. When my husband spoke to one of the owners about the ant situation, he was told that they already knew about it and had treated it. Perhaps that is why our suite had such a strong foul odor, which permeated everything and followed us home. Clearly, though, the treatment had not worked. Even though the room where we stayed is pet-friendly, the only place where we could relieve our dog was a vacant lot next door that was swarming with gnats. The owners are delightful and personable, and again the folks who stayed in the main house seemed to be having a very different experience. The food quality was not comparable to other inns that we have stayed at both in and out of the area. There was also a very thin connecting door to another suite. Not only did one of the other guests try to get into our room (an honest mistake--they thought it was the door to their bathroom), but they were so loud all evening during one of our nights there that we had to spend much of the evening in a different room due to the lack of sound proofing on the door. We came with high hopes, but were disappointed in our experience at this inn, and were very eager to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitegate, Owner at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, and we apologize for any unforseen problems concerning your stay.

Had we known about the frayed towels, we would have replaced them. We constantly evaulate our linen, and replace what is needed.

Additionally, we would have (and subsequently did after your check out) repair the damage to the towel rack. We also had the room exterminated the day you left. Traveling with a pet can be stressful, but we try our best to make your four legged friend feel at home with a welcome pack and dog biscuits. We normally get rave reviews about our gourmet 3 course breakfast, and were surprised to hear it was not enjoyable for you. Due to your dietary restrictions, we were unable to serve you exactly what was offered, and we apologize if it did not meet your standards.

Thank you for choosing the WhiteGate Inn, we hope that you will consider us again for any future visits to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a great time in this restored Victorian Mansion. The surrounding mature garden, complete with water features, is beautiful. The service was first class and the breakfast was to die for. Our room, with a fireplace and huge jetted tub, was awesome. Downtown Asheville was within easy walking distance. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Bunn House
#14 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Property: 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing