We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice inn, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #22 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice inn, but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

The inn is very clean, well-decorated, and the owners are extremely nice. We were greeted with complimentary glasses of wine and hors d'oeuvres
between 5-6.

We stayed in one of the bungalows in the Oscar Wilde Suite. The suite is noted to be pet friendly. Not sure if that contributed to this, the suite had a musty smell that we also carried with is when we left. The bathroom had a light that was out, which made the shower extremely dark. The jacuzzi tub was touted as a two-person tub, but I could barely fit myself (6-1, 200lbs). The TV was also inoperable, and I normally do not have problems with TVs.

Finally, there was breakfast. They only serve a vegan/vegetarian breakfast, so be aware....NO MEAT! I called ours a gourmet continental breakfast.

To summarize, while we might have had a different experience if we'd stayed in the main house, our stay did not measure up to the bill we paid. Frank and Ralph, please consider offering a breakfast for us carnivores!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CESdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitegate, Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Had we known you were unhappy with your accommodations, we would have gladly moved you to another suite that would have better suited you. Had we known about the light and television issues, we would have fixed them immediately.

Our breakfast changes daily and we frequently do have meat. We believe you were only here one morning, and we did not offer that as an option for that day.

We hope that you will consider us in the future when you travel to Asheville. We would love to have another opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    54
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
392
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for three nights during the fall season. It was perfect. The room was great with a fireplace. The breakfasts were unique and delicious. The conversations with the other guests and with the owners were very entertaining. Great place and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This B&B far surpassed all of our expectations. My boyfriend and I came here for Valentine's Day, and it was absolutely fabulous. The staff was overwhelmingly nice and greeted us with bright smiles and courtesy upon our arrival. We stayed in the Ralph Waldo Emerson suite. The bed was extremely comfortable and was nestled directly in front of a roaring fireplace that only added to the calming yet haunting relaxed atmosphere of this room. The shower was impressive--several jets wash away any tension or stress you might have carried with you. It was only minutes from downtown and some of the best restaurants you'll ever visit (Mayfel's especially). We are in the process of booking our Christmas getaway to Asheville, and we are definitely planning on staying here again. We would highly recommend 1889.

Room Tip: Ralph Waldo Emerson suite...fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serenafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the 1st time this past weekend for 3 days and it could not have been more perfect. We have been married 21 years and visit many B&B's and we will definitely return to this one. We stayed in the Mayo Angelou Suite and it was just like the picture only much bigger than we could ever imagine. You are given privacy and the room was very clean and the body spray shower for two was amazing. I have to also mention the amazing breakfast we had each morning and the delightful engaging owner, Frank. He was very entertaining and funny. You could sit at the big beautiful table and engage in conversation or sit at tables for two. Either way the 3 course breakfast was awesome and juice and coffee was provided abundantly. We love to hike so we very much appreciated the free water bottles in the mini fridge in the room when we returned. This place also has beautiful gardening and it was one of the best B&B's we have stayed at. I can't think of one thing lacking. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraandMike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cary, nc
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Frank and Ralph have done a wonderful job making guests feel welcomed! Their staff was professional and courteous. The Inn and our room, Dorothy Parker, was perfect. We were unsure if we wanted the formal nature of the sit down breakfast, but loved the conversation and entertainment. Very nice touch. Ralph gave us dedicated time in the garden where we shared plant stories and interests. We will come back to Whitegate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank four-from-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We loved everything about our stay at the White Gate Inn. The room was gorgeous and super-comfortable. The house is beautiful, and the gardens are amazing. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the food is delicious --they were kind enough to accomodate our special dietary requirements. The location is also great -- walking distance to downtown and restaurants. The adorable corgis are a delight (the come for brief visit after breakfast). We've stayed at a lot of B&Bs and White Gate Inn is right up at the top of the list. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thyme2g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were in Asheville for our 50th anniversary, and opted to stay in a B&B. We couldn't have selected a better place to stay for 3 nights. The company was congenial and the rooms were excellent, albeit on the older side. The rooms had all the amenities of home, and maybe even moreso. The three breakfasts we ate were all fixed with great care, well cooked and presented by Frank and his staff. The afternoon gatherings in the garden with wine and snacks also were excellent. The location, within walking distance of down town Asheville, also was perfect for our interests for this weekend.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gthayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Bunn House
#14 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Property: 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing