We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #25 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My Husband and I spent a weekend in Asheville at the end of March. We arranged a late check-in ahead of time, and Kyle gave us great information on how to locate our room. We stayed in the Dorothy Parker room which was cozy and comfortable. I enjoyed laying in front of the fireplace and reading on a chilly, rainy weekend. The built in space heater in the bathroom was also a nice touch. The linens were amazing - very plush!

I liked having coffee served outside our door on the second floor - it was a nice wake-up before breakfast. The food at breakfast was wonderful! Each course was very tasty and I liked indulging in a little dessert at breakfast! It was fun interacting with the other guests, Frank, Ralph, and their adorable dogs each morning before starting the day. Frank gave us great recommendations for where to eat in Downtown Asheville, and also offered specific plates at those restaurants which did not disappoint!

We were left with a memorable stay and we can not wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitegate, General Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We are so happy you and your husband enjoyed your stay at the 1889 WhiteGate Inn. The Dorothy Parker Room is one of our favorites in the main inn. Asheville has so many wonderful restaurants that it can be hard to choose where to go. We make it a priority to experience them all in order to adequately recommend eateries to our guests. It's a tough job, but we're willing to go the extra mile! Thank you for your wonderful review, and we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

The 1889 inn ahs a grand old house (built 1889, and very nicely renovated) and 2 out buildings, with various types of accommodations, some with kitchens. The owners are very present and full of local information for restaurants, attractions, etc. The room we had was very large and immaculate. Frank, one of the owners, does stand up comedy and acting, and you will be thoroughly entertained at the breakfast table, as he introduces all of the guests to each other. Breakfasts are very good...3 course meal with great coffee...sometimes more than you will want for breakfast. Very attentive to food allergies, including vegan, lactose and gluten free. Located in a quite residential neighborhood, convenient to downtown...about a 15 minute walk to most of central Asheville.

Room Tip: Everyone seemed to like their rooms. Maya Angelou was very large, handicap accessible, with a whirlp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitegate, General Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We appreciate your compliments, and are very glad you were able to stay with us. Sometimes it's hard for guests to go out and explore Asheville because our rooms and gardens are so relaxing. And yes, Frank is quite the comedian. He loves interacting with our guests. Additionally, we always try to accommodate dietary restrictions so that each guest can enjoy our gourmet three course breakfast.Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in Robert Frost room which was very nice, check in was effortless and we were given a tour and briefed on happy hour and breakfast. There is always coffee, water, juice and sweets available. Would love to see the grounds in the spring. The breakfasts were delightful. A three course meal by candlelight with Frank providing the entertainment. Great location for walking to town, also a trader joes on the corner, would stay here again with no qualms.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank redhare54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitegate, General Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our inn. The Robert Frost room is the original master bedroom of the house, and really showcases the 'bed and breakfast' charm. We would love to see you again in the spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at WhiteGate Inn. Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted and offered champagne - nice touch! We were shown around the property and directed to our room, the Maya Angelou room.

The king size bed was very comfortable, the sheets were super soft! We also really enjoyed using the fireplace. The bathroom is huge, and we really liked the spa style shower. With the jacuzzi tub and shower, I would recommend having more towels available, but otherwise - very nice.

There were only three minor things - 1) the people who stayed above us were SO loud. The woman wore high heeled shoes and traipsed back and forth across the hardwood floors between 7 and 9 a.m. We heard them flush the toilet, shower and use the tub. I would definitely recommend staying on the top floor! 2) the mirror on the bathroom door bangs every time you close the door and 3) the bathroom door didn't close all the way.

We enjoyed breakfast. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and it was spotlessly clean. We also enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk to the downtown shops.

Overall, it was great and we enjoyed our stay -- but -- next time, stay on the top floor!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the top floor to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitegate, General Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for review; we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff strives very hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable experience at our inn.

Our housekeeping staff alerted us about the door after you departure, and we had our maintenance service fix it. Due to the changing of seasons, doors can sometimes swell and contract, causing them not to shut properly.

Again, thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our suite, Elisabeth Barrett Browning, was top notch. Loved it so much. Everything was thought of. The fire place, big jacuzzi tub, and the bed linens were the highlights! Hate that we only got to stay for 1 night. We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and wanted a quick romantic getaway that was fairly close to home. Breakfast with Ralph and Frank was really good also. Frank will have you laughing the whole time. You will be hard pressed to find a place this nice, anywhere. It's not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for. Hope to return again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitegate, General Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you! We are glad you were able to stay with us. Our stacked stone gas fireplaces have always been a favorite in the colder months. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My mother, sister and I stayed here for a long weekend and loved every minute of our vacation. Frank and Ralph are excellent hosts and cooks. They try to attend to all of their guests needs, whether it be a gluten free diet or lost luggage, they will make sure you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Wife and I spent two days at the inn. Everything about the stay was above our expectations. First time in a B&B so we were not sure of what to expect. Great room, friendly staff and very nice breakfast. Close to downtown Asheville and owner Frank very helpful in telling us best places to visit. If we ever visit Asheville again we will be sure to stay at the inn.

Pat&Jim Cozier

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
237 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bunn House
#16 of 39 in Asheville
125 reviews
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 39 in Asheville
682 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £212 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing