We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit Proves as Fantastic as the First”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #22 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second Visit Proves as Fantastic as the First”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was my second year staying at the WhiteGate Inn for a girl's vacation. We stayed in the Joyce Kilmer suite which was impeccably clean and well appointed. We had plenty of room for conversation, laughs and relaxation. The breakfast continues to be superb - no need for lunch - and the afternoon hospitality is delightful. The convenient location allows for an easy walk into the heart of downtown or to catch the trolley. The staff was very helpful arranging dinner reservations and providing suggestions for us. We will return again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanN618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    55
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
32
395
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent 2 nights here with my husband. We frequent inns in the Select Registry network and thought we would try something new on a recent trip to Asheville. Overall we liked the inn -- our room, the Emily Dickinson, was very nice. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the separate sitting room. The staff were extremely courteous, professional and welcoming. The location is fantastic -- within walking distance to downtown Asheville. The only negative for us had to do with breakfast. I guess I would characterize it as very controlled. There is only one seating, at 9 am. When we arrived downstairs a few minutes before 9, we found the dining room doors shut and the other inn guests waiting somewhat awkwardly outside. At 9, Frank, one of the inn's owners, opened the door and, after a moment or two, let us in. Once we were seated, he began asking where everyone was from, and from there he continued to talk to all of us for the entire meal. The second morning played out in exactly the same way. We liked Frank and thought he was funny and entertaining, but we also felt like we couldn't have any conversation amongst ourselves or get up and leave the room if we wanted/needed to, without interrupting the "show." And two days of it was a bit much. My husband described it as feeling "trapped." If you are the type of person who needs their peace and quiet in the morning (or just want to talk to your mate during breakfast), be forewarned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

First time for us, we'll definitely return. Stayed in the cottage, it was private and extremely comfortable. We were greeted with Champagne upon arrival and the evening social in the garden with wine and appetizers was great. Breakfast is absolutely not to be missed. Frank and Ralph are greats hosts and the whole dining room erupted in laughter several times during our meal. The main home is beautiful and there are many places to pull up a comfy chair. The gardens were beautiful as well. We appreciated all of the helpful advice on the many Asheville places to eat and things to see. I highly recommend the 1889 WhiteGate Inn, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From the moment we arrived and were escorted to the lovely garden to sip wine and enjoy afternoon appetizers to the moment we departed 4 days later, we enjoyed our time at the WhiteGate Inn & Cottage immensely. We stayed in the Elizabeth Barrett Browning room where the bed was extremely comfortable and we used the push button fireplace even though it was summer time! Loved the bath for 2 and the fab multi-spray shower too. Our favorite thing would have to be the convivial dining room table at which we dined for the amazing 3 course breakfasts each morning. The Innkeepers are wonderful, and Frank started our day each morning with his funny stories and ice-breaking introductions. Do not miss any opportunity to try the Inn!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The first time we stayed here, we were at one of the rooms in the main inn. The second time, we lucked up and got the Guest Cottage. A little bit had changed, but not much. Ralph and Frank continue to be consummate hosts, as well as providing lively entertainment while at breakfast. Wine and cheese every evening, and everything was well appointed. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had booked a three night stay at this B & B in Ashville, after spending a couple of nights at The Inn on the Biltmore Estate, in order to more fully explore Ashville, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Great Smoky Mountains. As we had only moved a couple of miles from Biltmore, we arrived mid-morning (far too early to check in of course) we were greeted by a very friendly young man who said it would be no problem to leave the car at the Inn so that we could do the short walk into Ashville for the day. On our return in the afternoon we were met by a charming lady who offered champagne whilst we checked in. She then showed us over the Inn - full to bursting with cuteness - and then to our chosen room 'The Robert Frost'. Quite large but filled with dark furniture which gave a slightly opressive feel with a large four-post bed with 15 - yes 15 cushions/pillows- the word cosy would apply on a cold winters day - this was a very hot day in May. We were shown the bathroom and informed that the bath was 'original' - it was wrapped in shower curtain so not visible. So far so good. Bedtime arrived and after removing all those cushions, sat on it - and it creaked! Lying on it and turning over seemed to over-excite it into a frenzy of more creaking!! I spent most of the night wide awake - even at one point contemplating placing ALL those cushions on the floor and sleeping on those but regretably could not recall the whereabouts of all of them as they had been shoved in any available space in order to access the bed. In the morning my partner went to see if there was any possibility of a change of room whilst I took to the shower. The bath, now revealed, was crazed and stained as befitted an 'original' but really should have been in a museum and not a B & B for practical use. Thank goodness I was only attempting a shower - a bath was not to be contemplated. We were offered another room and went down to breakfast to think it over. We had our instruction to be there at 9AM. Arriving a couple of minutes before the appointed hour we found our fellow guests arranged in embarassed groups around the living room - the dining room being out-of-bounds before the striking of the hour. Just like being back at boarding school! Doors were flung open and we were welcomed in with cheerfulness. One large table and several small 2-seaters - which were quickly filled. There didn't seem to be space for any more, and, as the Inn wasn't full, we wondered where guests would be fed if it was. The meal was adequate - no choices - but we had been asked on checking in if we had any special food requirements.
This rather concentrated the mind and the thought of another 2 nights with Robert Frost ( or any of his literary friends) - not forgetting THE BED - meant that we went upstairs, packed and left for the COMFORT of a lovely hotel ( maybe we're not B & B types - but we had stayed in others on this trip and all have been fine to varying degrees). For those reading this - all I would say is BEWARE OF THE BED. Hopefully the Innkeepers will by now have decreeked it and sent the bath to the local museum .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitegate, Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Nigel,

Thank you for your candid review.
The Robert Frost Room is currently out of service while we are having the 1907 china tub replaced. We hated to get rid of such a beautiful historic piece, but, as you say, it may have not been suited for practical use. We have had guests that absolutely love that tub, and some will be sad to see it go. It was, however, getting almost impossible to repair (or upkeep). As it stands, We will reopen the Robert Frost Room with a gorgeous claw foot slipper tub that matches the ambiance and appeal of the Robert Frost Room. While the room is out of service we will take a solid look at the 'creakiness' of the bed. We had never had a complaint from a guest about that bed, so it came as a shock to us when you reported the problem the next morning. Our manager Kyle tried desperately to get you to stay in one of our other rooms, and we were all very sorry that you cut your trip short.

If you happen to be stateside again, please consider us if you travel to Asheville again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the white gate cottage for only a night, and perhaps worked out well because our pet was super uncomfortable and kept scratching. Not sure why. The floors appeared to be poorly maintained / cleaned. The air ducts in the floor have dust/hair/etc that may have caused irritation to our dog. The cottage is small for the $400+/night we paid for it, and also could have been a little more cleaner. Looking at the pictures for other rooms, it appears like we might have overpaid just because we had a pet with us. The garden is alright. The cottage had patio furniture that could have been cleaned of the leaves etc that were fallen on it. Utilities (bathrooms, kitchen, etc.) are fairly tight. Not all doors on the cottage open. The three course breakfast cab be rated fair to good. When we booked the room, the three course breakfast seemed attractive, but didn't feel like so much of a breakfast because of the smaller portions. The back door from the dining area is a little difficult to open & close. All in all, with many little things adding up, we left the B&B feeling that we would have been better off staying in a chain hotel. Have to say that it is not a good feeling after reading fabulous reviews and paying a premium. We have stayed at some really good B&Bs for roughly half the cost... Innkeepers here are courteous, welcoming, and good people; but the place needs a uplift though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank expedition17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Bunn House
#13 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Property: 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing