We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super helpful with where to go around town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #13 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Wright Inn provides a beautiful Victorian Bed and Breakfast that's convenient to much of the city. We were provided with excellent directions about where to shop, eat, and visit. The directions are personalized from Inn and use direct routes without sending you back on the interstate all the time. The breakfasts were fruit filled and delicious. We would stay here again when coming back to Asheville. The location is easy to find from the website and communication from the owners and innkeeper are efficient and polite.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burtonnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Wright Inn while visiting Asheville for 2 nights. Our room was the ORR room. It had a huge, comfortable bed, soft robes, and was a good size. The private bathroom (for our room only) was right across the hall. It was a quite large, but cozy at the same time. The shower water pressure was perfect and the claw tub was fun. The staff, especially Shirley, were friendly and helpful. The coffee was tasty. Breakfast consisted of two courses. The first one was fruit and bread. The next one was a hot breakfast. We had pineapple french toast one morning and the next was a spanish egg bake with salsa and sour cream. The Inn was on a quiet street and surrounded by trees. The staff made us feel comfortable and welcome. We would definitely stay at the Wright Inn again!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klmcg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Sitting on the wide veranda is one of the pleasures of staying here. Periodically, tourists on the trolley tours wave to you as the driver stops to describe the historic Wright Inn. The walk into town is a bit long, but that is mitigated by the pleasures of admiring beautiful old homes in the Queen Anne style. Half way along this route is a terrific restaurant, Nine Mile, which was convenient for us because we didn't have a car. The Inn is beautifully maintained and has lots of nice touches like home-made cookies. You have to be relaxed about breakfast because it was only served at 9 am, but the company was so interesting that we spent a full hour in conversation during each of the five mornings we were there. The staff was especially friendly and helpful and the manager was especially kind to give us a ride to the airport when we left. Staying at the Wright Inn was a major part of our delightful Asheville experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeCalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We loved our stay at the Wright Inn from the first moment on, what a lovely house to stay at. A beautiful entrance, an absolute stunning living room... and what a welcoming attitude, thank you Rebecca and Bob... we felt like visiting friends or family! The room was very cosy and wonderfully decorated with pillows, old painting and antiques, comfortable bed. Breakfast was a special experience with all other guests on one long table, very tasty and a traditional breakfast dishes. Thank you also for the restaurant recommendations especially the Hyman's in Charleston!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja8706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and it was fantastic, fantastic, fantastic! We loved the delicious (TRULY DELICIOUS!) breakfasts, we loved our room and shower (great water pressure!), we loved the coffee in the mornings and the guidance from the owners (Bob and Barbara were great guides to the area!) and breakfast conversation with other guests was always fun and filled with laughter.
The Inn is not in downtown Asheville but it's perfect to be a tiny bit outside. We had a car so this worked out super well and there is a delicious Jamaican restaurant nearby, so really, perfect.
I recommend it without a doubt! The price was also a lot less than any of the other BBs that we considered.... So, FANTASTIC, FANTASTIC, FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecacristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The Wright Inn Asheville offered us everything we could possibly need to make our time together special. Relaxing. Comfortable. Inviting. Friendly. Bob and Barbara went out of their way to help us. The food was exceptional.Our only reservation was the late breakfast since we are early risers and like to get our day started early to pack as much as we can in. Wish we could have been out by 9am each day..But in comparison with the good experiences at the Inn this really is a small detail.

Room Tip: Prepare for a late start every day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanD239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My wife and I stayed in June and we had a wonderful time. The home is beauitful and the service was really great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtime25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
792 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
762 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
237 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Asheville
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Address: 235 Pearson Dr, Asheville, NC 28801-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £120 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing