We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Wright Inn added to our experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #13 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My girlfriend and I had a most excellent time in Asheville visiting the Biltmore and staying at the Wright Inn. Bob, our host, was full of knowledge of the area and a pleasure to talk to. We are looking forward to our next stay and experiencing more of what Ashville has to offer. We had a chance to wander around the house and check out most of the rooms which were spacious and elegant. I'd recommend this B and B to anyone passing through the area or looking for an escape. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and well kept. To top it off our breakfast was a first class meal, stuffed croissants with an orange marmalade. Bob even gave us the recipe! Just the right size meal to get us through another busy day of exploring the Biltmore gardens.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor which has a nice view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

We just returned from our midweek getaway to Asheville and can't say enough about the loveliness that is the Wright Inn and Carriage House. It is absolutely gorgeous, inside and out. From the peaceful sitting room, to the ornate settings at breakfast, from our cozy room, to the inviting claw foot tub in our bathroom, it was all just perfect.

We sat in the sitting room before breakfast reading and working a crossword, which was delightful. Breakfast was delicious, and trust me (a pregnant woman), you will have plenty to hold you till lunch. Our room, The Orr Room was cozy and had everything we needed, even a box fan in the armoire to my delight because I enjoy having a noise while I sleep. And we very much enjoyed the claw foot tub and the bubble baths that we took.

And last, but definitely not least, the staff, Bob and Barbara were terrific. We mostly dealt with Bob and he was so helpful and somehow at the same time, un-intrusive. He suggested a terrific Italian place for us to eat, drew us maps for where we needed to get to and was overall just a really great person to chat with.

This was our first trip to Asheville, definitely not our last, and also our first experience with a bed and breakfast, also not going to be our last if I have anything to say about it. I am so thankful we chose the Wright Inn and Carriage House because I can't imagine there being a more pleasant experience anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I traveled to Asheville for a leisure vacation and we extremely enjoyed our stay at the Wright Inn and Carriage House. Sarah made us fell so welcome as if we were in our own home. Mr. Bob had a wealth of information that we enjoyed hearing. We stayed in the Green Room and the two person balcony was awesome. We were the only quests the night we stayed and we were able to see all the other rooms. It was just fabulous. If we have the opportunity to return to Asheville, we hope to spend time at the Wright Inn and Carriage House.

Room Tip: The Green Room was small (cozy) and the balcony was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My wife and I came to Asheville for we heard that it is one of the best 10 places to retire to. Via the web, we located this beautiful B&B in the historic district. Bob, our innkeeper, shared with us the story of the Wright Inn and a lot of great places to see and visit in both the downtown and the surrounding area. The morning breakfast was delicious and glutton free. We plan on returning for another stay on our next trip down.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverkayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This was our first b&b ever, my wife and i took a little vacation what we called our "babymoon" "last little trip before our first child arrives". We stayed here at the wright in and it was a great experience. We are probably ruined for life now and we are not sure if we will ever be able to stay at a hotel again. The food was excellent, the house was beautiful with a great history, and the inn keepers were great and knew LOOOOTS of info on the area and were more than happy to help use find things and give great recommendations. I would highly recommend the wright inn if you are staying in asheville. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This B&B is in a lovely setting, close to the wonderful historic downtown area and even serves as a trolley stop location if you choose the "hop on-hop off" trolley ride. We stayed in the "Green Room" a cozy and comfortable room just the right size for two of us, and totally enjoyed the nifty little balcony patio that was accessible from our room through a tall window/door. The hosts were personable and easy to chat with about the area and things to do. The staff was very accommodating about providing evening coffee and tea. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: The "green room" has a tiny private balcony/patio just right for two people to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyhiker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

A great bed and breakfast we have been there four times now and have never been disappointed. Have always taken bob and barbs suggestions for shopping-dining and site seeing. They have been right on the target with all of there suggestions.

Room Tip: Any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
812 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,639 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
253 reviews
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 39 in Asheville
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Address: 235 Pearson Dr, Asheville, NC 28801-1613
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £114 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing