We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asheville Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #16 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Asheville Charm”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We loved staying at the Wright Inn and Carriage House. It is an authentic Victorian, beautifully decorated and maintained. Location is central with easy access to Asheville attractions. Lots of charm and charming hosts. We are excited about recommending the 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House to other travellers enroute to Asheville.
Lynn and Jim Hunt
Roanoke, VA

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kinggeorgeinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    53
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
71
392
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phenix City, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Kind staff, great house, wonderful food. The Inn is a very charming and inviting Bed & Breakfast. The porch is a treasure and the grounds are well kept. We will stay here again! This was our honeymoon and we stayed in the Wright Suite. The only thing I would change is to have air conditioning able to be controlled in the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkw1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I planned to spend our a long weekend away in Fall (Nov) and Asheville, NC was our destination. We were joined by another couple - and spent a long weekend at the Inn in the first week of Nov. ( Most of Asheville was sold out for the Halloween and beautiful Fall activities by the time we decided to book.)

We were very excited about finding the 1899 Wright Inn and even splurged a little by renting the Powell Suite on the second floor. ( A little larger than some rooms.) This Inn was very affordable compared to some others in the area we priced. Our friends rented the Green room catty-cornered from us on the same floor - this room had a really cool large 'walk out window' and wardrobe beside the bed.

The house has been restored beautifully and feels very authentic. The rooms were cozy but not pretentious, and the beautiful scenery from our room through the beautiful windows was very calming and lovely.

The hosts were very accommodating and helpful without being intrusive. Tom - who was our main host for the trip - was extremely knowledgeable and helpful - and offered to recommend/reserve restaurants and site seeing expeditions for us to insure we got in.
He had particularly good advice on parking, and discounted tickets to attend the Biltmore Estate.

This Inn is centrally located - within walking distance of the main downtown area, but the trolley also stops right in front of the Inn as it's featured on the trolley tours!
We did not know - but really enjoyed learning that there are still only 2-3 chain restaurants in the Asheville area - most are locally run with fresh produce from the surrounding area.
The night life was alive and interesting - from an Art Show at a local gallery to several types of clubs featuring live music to the outstanding ambiance of local restaurants.

The Inn makes hot tea and water as well as assorted carbonated drinks available at your convenience for a donation ( to the local animal rescue - YEAH Wright Inn) and has coffee / tea going early to greet you in the AM. The breakfasts are delicious - not the run of the mill food, and they offer you an optional courtesy board to 'sign out' if you know you'll be skipping breakfast on any given morning.

It's clear they know the area - we even ran into Tom a couple times over the weekend downtown in the heart of Asheville !

We would definitely happily recommend this Inn to others looking for a pleasant stay, a great location and a chance to feel like you 'fit in' to the Asheville scene!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor tend to be larger. The Powell Suite was a great size and the bath was wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxVacationOrBustxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A recent long weekend trip to Asheville sent us searching for a B&B for a change. After searching the various offerings, we decided on the 1899 Wright Inn due to price, location and the positive reviews we read. Having stayed at B&B's before we knew what to expect and this one has everything we expected and more. The host and hostess were hospitable and helpful. From providing information about the house, driving directions around the area, and restaurant recommendations, we were able to get all the information we needed.

The house is located in a residential area and is close to may attractions. There is adequate parking behind the house and an access driveway in the front. The room itself was smaller than I expected but was certainly adequate. The fireplace was fitted with gas logs which added a nice touch to our snowy weekend. The bed was clean, comfy and warm. There are a couple of common rooms in the lobby area and on the upstairs floors that provide a wonderful gathering space for guests to mingle in the morning and in the evenings to share stories of their adventures of the day.

The breakfast was a highlight of the day - every day. The hosts provide coffee, orange juice and various teas as is your liking. Bob was sensitive to my wife's gluten-free diet and was careful to prepare an appropriate breakfast each day. Food selections included fresh fruit, bacon, individual breakfast casseroles (they weren't quiches) and a thick crispy, custardy French toast.

A few quick notes of interest:
On arrival we were given a room key and a house key to allow for 24 hour access on our own schedule.
There is a common refrigerator that we were allowed to share with other guests.
Water temperatures in the shower fluctuated a bit. No problems there - just be aware.
There is a full front porch with outside seating if the weather is agreeable.
Bob and Barbara were wonderful hosts and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nesouther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I got away for a long weekend in Asheville to celebrate our anniversary. We loved The Wright Inn as it is beautifully cared for and very comfortable. Bob and Barbara were most hospitable both with the amazing breakfasts and helpful advice about all things local to Asheville. We will be coming back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threeemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Wright_Inn_BandB, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We were glad to meet you and hope to see you again soon. Next time you are on Lake Murray, think of us. We also love your area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was a beautiful B&B with first class service and a welcoming family feel. Bob and Barbara went all out to cater to our every request. Close to downtown Asheville location was great. Really enjoyed breakfast on fine china and linens! Definitely would return here and recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorinda321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Attended a family gathering here and had the best experience I could dream of. The staff were very helpful. The food was fantastic. And I loved the decor. Bob, Barbara and Tom made us feel right at home. The rooms were immaculate. This was my first experienece staying at a Bed & Breakfast and I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Property: The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Address: 235 Pearson Dr, Asheville, NC 28801-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing