We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than commercial hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #13 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We came to Asheville for the Mother Earth News Fair and elected to stay here instead of a chain hotel/motel. The only disappointment we had was not being able to make breakfast on our second day. We absolutely adored the house and location. We are certainly looking forward to visiting again when we can have more time to enjoy its elegance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This bed and breakfast by far was one of the most unique and amazing places I've ever had the honor to stay at. The innkeepers treated me with the best of care and were as accommodating as anyone could be, while also helping me with my way around Asheville.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank eandp-reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a wonderfully 2 night stay at this B&B in Asheviile. My husband and I really needed some R&R and he found this B&B on line. From the first phone call to make reservations to our good bye this morning we were treated like old friends. Our room was comfortable and lacked for nothing. The breakfast both mornings was excellent. Restaurant recommendations, things to do, directions they provided it all. The house is close to downtown and the house is just beautiful. We will keep this on our list for return visits. NOTE I rated the swimming pool in error and could not get it cleared....there is no swimming pool. Jim & Diane Norcross GA

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I visited the 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage house on Valentine's weekend 2014. Tom, the manager and son of the owners, helped us with reservations at the inn, selecting dining locations on Friday and Saturday night, made dinner reservations for us, advised us that they could acquire tickets to Biltmore House for us to help us avoid lines (and we got a discount, too!), and actually waited for us when we were running late the Friday night of our arrival so we wouldn't have to just let ourselves in. The room in which we stayed was charming; the bed comfortable; the house full of history; Tom and Barbara the perfect hosts. The property is close to downtown and close to our son at UNCA. And the breakfasts were absolutely superb. Definitely a place to keep on our list of favorites!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed in the Green Room. It was a wonderful visit.If you are in the Asheville area, I would highly recommend this B/B to you. Just 3 miles from the Baltimore Estate and close to downtown. The breakfast was great...good and healthy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Room. It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kc4dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We loved staying at the Wright Inn and Carriage House. It is an authentic Victorian, beautifully decorated and maintained. Location is central with easy access to Asheville attractions. Lots of charm and charming hosts. We are excited about recommending the 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House to other travellers enroute to Asheville.
Lynn and Jim Hunt
Roanoke, VA

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kinggeorgeinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Kind staff, great house, wonderful food. The Inn is a very charming and inviting Bed & Breakfast. The porch is a treasure and the grounds are well kept. We will stay here again! This was our honeymoon and we stayed in the Wright Suite. The only thing I would change is to have air conditioning able to be controlled in the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dkw1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
787 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
762 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
236 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Asheville
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Address: 235 Pearson Dr, Asheville, NC 28801-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £119 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing