We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal, good room, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Asheville Southeast
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good deal, good room, great breakfast”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

When we travel, we look for a decent price, clean room with wifi and a good breakfast. This hotel fit the bill. Yes, the room could use a bit of updating, but everything worked and we enjoyed the stay. The breakfast was above average - eggs, sausage, waffles, juices, bagels, etc. I don't mind looking for restaurants for lunch and supper, but I want breakfast at the hotel and they came through very well.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
We try and keep our rates reasonable and offer good value for your money. We know you work hard for it. So if you looking for clean , comfortable and affordable, we fit the bill. Thank you for taking the time to write down your thoughts and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    252
    272
    218
    209
See reviews for
408
378
79
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My family and had a last mintue trip to asheville to see a show at the Orange Peel in downtown ASheville, which the hotel is only a short drive from along with other area attractions we visted in the area. The staff was friendly and vevry eager to help with any thing we may need. The room had a mini fridge and microwave in it which was great for some late light snacks or to keep leftovers in. True it could use some updating but are overall stay was great nice clean, spacy room with free Wi-Fi and a good free breakfast all this for a great rate. We will be staying here again when in Asheville. Great Stay Geat Location and staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
We appreciate your review and hope you will come back and visit with us again. Thank you for taking a moment of your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Apparently there must be some differences in rooms at this hotel. I was almost scared off by the reviews. Our King Suite , 242, in one of the side buildings was absolutely wonderful! The kitchenette was very convenient, plenty of room at the bar and seating area. My husband loved the balcony that was as big as a porch! The king bedroom was great. The best thing for me was the bathroom. I LOVED the spa tub and the private little room for the toilet. Huge mirrors everywhere. Entire room was spotless and everything worked. Even the WIFI was easily obtained. Maid service was discreet and throrough.

As far as other complaints I have seen here....it was convenient not to have to use the key card every time you came in the building...I don't see it as a security risk. The halls were clean and well lighted, the ice machine worked perfectly. The breakfast buffet was as complete as any I have seen. Waffles everyday. And the staff both day and night were pleasant and helpful. And, on top of all that....the price was fantastic! Although I have been a Holiday Inn Express fan, I may be changing to Ramada as this is the second one I have had a great experiene with.

Room Tip: For sure get a king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words. We are constantly striving to keep the property clean and a comfortable place to stay. We are currently undergoing room updates and hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Ok, it was reasonably cheap. That said, it needs some TLC, specifically in decor, linens, and perhaps a quieter fan. The drain in the tub didn't work and the toilet gave me pause in that I was unsure whether it would acually flush. The staff were friendly, though and helpful in finding a cab. If you want something to eat in the immediate vicinity your are regulated to the clown and the colonel and a cafeteria where the lines are very long.Theyd id offer a free continental breakfast that most vegaterians would be happy with.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florabella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
The hotel is currently going through room renovations, exterior upgrades and other types of renovations throughout the property. We appreciate your review and hope you will come back and visit with us again. Thank you for taking a moment of your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were meeting a group of friends for our yearly reunion. One of our friends had made reservations at this Ramada, so we booked a room for two nights as well, so that we could all be in the same location. The first impression of the lobby was not encouraging. A handwritten sign on the counter stated that a $75.00 charge would be imposed for smoking in non-smoking rooms. As we had requested a non-smoking room, this gave me a sense of foreboding. neither keycard worked, so back we went to the lobby. Upon finally entering the room, we were overwhelmed by a strong odor of cigarette smoke. When we called the front desk, we were told that we could not be moved to a different room, but if we could leave the room for an hour, the room would be "treated" to remove the odor. When we we ready to go out for the hour, the employee who brought the equipment to the room told us we needed to be gone only 15 minutes for the ozone treatment. We decided to compromise and leave for about a half hour. On our return, the odor was almost gone,a and the hour being late, we went to sleep. The next morning it was just as bad, and we could not cancel our second night.

As for the breakfast, the choices were few, and several people commented that the sausage gravy smelled like Alpo.

The outside doors to the buildings are not locked at night and there is inadequate lighting in the parking lots.

Carpet throughout the rooms and hallways is dirty.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipmiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
When apologize for the smoking room experience, however, if you booked on line, at a reduced rate and the reservation came to us as smoking room, we can do little to assist you when we are sold out and we were on every weekend in October. We appreciate your review and hope you will come back and visit with us again. Thank you for taking a moment of your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This motel has 3 levels but no elevator; however, you can enter the building on the 2nd level, which entails negotiating just one flight of stairs with your suitcase in hand. Our room had seen better days. The wallpaper was splitting apart at the seams; the bathroom was clean enough, but with amateur caulking and cracked tile floors; the a/c was exceptionally noisy, and the TV was an object left over from a previous century. Overall the place seems rather tired looking, and the decor appears to have been orchestrated by a design school dropout. Nevertheless, during leaf-peeper season, it was full to the brim. If they can do that kind of business, there's not much incentive to upgrade the place.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
This winter we are in the process of painting all of our rooms.... news roof... new phone system and many other renovations. It is true ,we are a very busy property , we want to stay that way and hope you will give us another try if you are in the Asheville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I went on a Fall tour of the Blue Ridge Parkway and had booked ahead to stay at the Ramada River Ridge in Asheville NC as the other hotels were fully booked.
It was the WORST hotel we have EVER stayed in.

Walking toward the front door I saw a guest surfing the internet right Next to the main entrance in a crammed space without any privacy - wonder if that was the business center.
I realized that the owner had not even bothered to install an automatic door for the main entrance. You gotta put your luggage down and manually push the door open and quickly gather your things before the door slams back at you.
Don't expect a welcome smile at check in. Be prepared to be greeted by a curt matter of fact kind of staff who won't even bother making eye contact because you're just a reservation number his computer.

The hotel room looked like it had Never been updated from the 70ies. The moment we walked in, the room smelt mouldy, to the extent that I started sneezing and had to take an anti histamine. The carpets were Dark in color so you wouldn't be able to guess it's age and it smelled too. The sheets were yellowish and thin from being worn out. No fridge, No microwave. Old noisy air conditioning.

We got a View of our car in the parking lot. This hotel paints a beautiful picture on it's website saying that 'Our Ramada Asheville hotel is ideally located in a beautiful mountain area, situated on seven acres of rolling hills with some of the best mountain views in Asheville.' !!! Well, you gotta experience the Ramada Inn in Asheville yourselves to understand that it's not what it claims to be.

The bathroom sink had many cracks in it around the area where the water drained. It was obvious that the bathtub was a job done more for aesthetics than function as it was a new plastic tub fitted to an old rundown wall. The owner didn't even bother to change the 70ies wallpaper in the bathroom. The tub was very slow to drain bath water.

I slept with a towel on my face to drown the smells of our 'non smoking' room.
In the morning you awaken to the chattering of housekeeping staff, but then again did I mention that the doors are paper thin.
We didn't even stay for breakfast in the morning - just got up, showered and ran out as fast as we could.

As for price, we did pick one of the busiest weekends in October so we paid about USD 120. We had No choice as there were no other available hotels at peak fall season in downtown Asheville. However, I wouldn't pay even 50 bucks for this place on a normal day.
There are other Motels out there that are in better shape than this Hotel.

I am So surprised that this hotel is still in business. I don't understand how people are still staying at this place. I don't believe the owner is running at a loss and cannot afford to update and renovate this hotel because it was a Full House weekend when we checked in.
The only reason I could imagine is the hotels proximity to the highway and being in downtown Asheville. Well if Location is your Only criteria, then this is the place for you.

Even if (and I am not sure) the Ramada River Ridge is a personally owned hotel, it's still a part of the Wyndham hotel chain and at this point I only have one thing to say - Never again another Ramada anywhere for us. We rather sleep in our car.
As a Trip Advisor member, I think that we deserve Quality for each dollar spent.
My husband and I have stayed in Many hotel Brand wise from 3 stars to 5 stars and we know what to expect from them and personally never found an experience so bad worth complaining about but This Ramada River Ridge hotel experience compelled me to warn others.
To the hotel management - Please don't take us consumers for a ride.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emira-Orooj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSRAMADA, Director of Sales at Ramada Asheville Southeast, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
We are sorry your experience was less than what you expected. We have been completely sold out for several weeks and the hotel is very busy. Sometimes the staff does get worn down during these busy times. We are a limited service property, we do not advertise otherwise. I know you will not be coming back to stay at this property, however, thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#47 of 66 in Asheville
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
1.3 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#36 of 66 in Asheville
861 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#33 of 66 in Asheville
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Asheville Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Asheville Southeast

Property: Ramada Asheville Southeast
Address: 148 River Ford Parkway, Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Asheville Southeast 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Asheville at River Ridge in North Carolina. Minutes from Downtown Asheville and charming historic sites like the Biltmore Estate, the Ramada Asheville at River Ridge is your Asheville hotel of choice. We strive to give our guests an affordable, value-oriented experience whether you’re here for business, staying with family or simply passing through for a night. We also are registered to accept contracts with government workers. Situated on seven beautiful acres of land with an observation deck overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountain, we’re not your average Ramada hotel. Located off Interstate 40 and Interstate 240 at the River Ridge Marketplace, the Ramada Asheville at River Ridge has the market cornered on convenience and value. We offer contemporary accommodations at affordable prices with friendly service that strives to give you everything you need for hassle-free travel. Choose from our guest rooms or suites and enjoy all of our onsite amenities including such as parking, business center, fitness center, outdoor pool, meeting room, express check-out and premier front desk service, complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, high-speed internet access, picnic area and observation deck, and walking trails. Enjoy a hearty breakfast before starting your day. We serve scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, biscuits & gravy, tropical fruit cocktail, muffins, bagels, white and whole wheat toast, and hot and cold cereal, Monday - Friday. No sausage or waffles on Saturday & Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Asheville Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Asheville Hotel Asheville
Asheville Ramada Inn
Ramada Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing