We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short term stays only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The lobby and rooms were clean and were about what one would expect for this level of hotel. Nothing great, but nothing terrible either. The beds seemed to be smaller than usual and weren't very comfortable, I guess about average pretty well covers the whole place. Probably the most negative thing is the fact that The area surrounding the property seems to be in decline. Biltmore Square Mall is nearly empty and the area near the hotel is rather sketchy. I would stay again, but would rather be downtown or at one of Asheville's B&B's.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Outlet Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean. The Biltmore Square Mall is getting ready to close for renovations and will re-open as an upscale Outlet Mall. We can't wait for that! We hope that you will come stay with us again and you can shop 'til you drop!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a nice hotel, about what you'd expect from a 3-star level property. The only gripe I have is the price. We stayed at the end of October during the peak of leaf peeking season, and I got a feeling the rates are at least double of what they charge in the off-season. Oh well, what can we say? It's capitalism hard at work.

We had a double room on the 2nd floor. The room is decently sized, but both the room and hallway could use a renovation. The decor's color tend to be cool and the use of compact flourscent light (good for them!) made the property seem less inviting than it could be. Note to management: You know there are different "shades" of white for those lights? Pick a warmer white. At least the room was clean with plenty of towels for two and beds were comfortable.

The property only has one elevator. Not an issue when we checked-in at a rather late hour of 9pm. The next morning there was always a crowd waiting for elevator at the lobby level. We used the stairs instead (since we were on 2nd floor) when we went to get breakfast and check out.

Talking about breakfast, it's nothing to write home about. It's your typical, corporate-run, microwaved eggs, sausages and etc. There were couple waffle irons though if you like make-your-own-waffles. Besides those are some store-bought, or corporate supplied, pastries and yogurts. Just be prepared to face the crowds, or take something and go back to your room.

So will I stay here again? That depends on what season it is.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Outlet Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and stocked well with towels. We will look into the different shades of bulbs. Thanks for that suggestion. We are currently updating our bedding to a white decorative top sheet with a red scarf (that should brighten up the room as well). We apologize that the rates were higher due to our busy season. Our rates are based on supply and demand and when everyone wants to come to Asheville our rates do increase. As you can imagine our rates our lower in January, February & March. That is our off-season. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We chose this hotel for it's reasonable price for an Asheville property and, with 2 adults and a 12-year old, a partially divided room is a plus. It's a little hard to find as it's perhaps 1/2 off the highway adjacent to the mall and there is no direct entrance - turn into the mall by the seafood restaurant and the entrance is on the right. As we discovered, the location has its benefits. It is a short drive south to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Brevard is a good alternate route to I26 for travel to downtown.

The lobby and common areas were fine for a mid-price hotel and were clean and in good condition. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful So far, so good.

Our room was a king with a sleeper sofa, microwave and mini fridge on the 5th floor. With a nice sized flat screen tv, a computer desk, an armchair, and plenty of linens, it was perfectly acceptable for its class, although there was a slight musty odor to the room. At least, until time for bed. We went to make up the sleeper sofa for our child and discovered a very stained (is that blood? Urine?) and worn mattress. We thought to flip it over, but my spouse took one look and said no. It was late, so we checked for moisture and odor and convinced our 12-year old fan of Hotel Impossible to sleep on it. Reluctantly. The only other problem was that the hotel has extremely bright lights illuminating the hotel, and our room was directly in line with one. It was blinding and we had to rummage through all of our gear for paperclips, safety pins, anything that would help keep the drapes closed.

It was prime leaf season and the hotel was fully booked. The complimentary breakfast was mobbed from open to close. The offerings were what seems to have become the industry standard (and problem) for those touting a free breakfast - scambled egg patties and sausage, a waffle iron, prepackaged pastries and bread items, yogurt, a couple of cereals, etc from the corporate supplier. I never went down, but spouse was kind enough to bring up some coffee, juice, yogurts, and a few samples of other offerings the first morning. The second, we avoided it altogether and went a few doors down to the Waffle House. Inexpensive and they do have good waffles.

I'm giving the hotel the benefit of the doubt in my rating. Except for the sofa bed, everything did seem well cared for and the tv and appliances were great. Perhaps our room was the exception. I'd ask for a room away from the lights and check any sleeper sofas ASAP.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s2mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Outlet Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry that the sofa mattress was stained. We will have that replace immediately. The black out drapes are located behind the set of sheer drapes and should close completely to block out any light. We hope that you will stay with us again so that we may have the chance to provide you with a superior experience. Thank you again for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed one night after driving down the Blue Ridge Parkway before driving home to northern Virginia. Very good hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable, but the HVAC unit was very noisey even on the "Lo Heat" mode, as many units of this type are in hotels. (Below the window unit)

One nice positive note, their wide screen TVs actually get true HD signals and I was able to watch the second World Series game in HD in my hotel room.

Hot breakfast was just average - and their seating area was very crowded with people waiting to sit down. For the size of the hotel, the breakfast area should be larger.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Outlet Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was our 2nd stop on our week long road trip. We checked in (the front desk lady was very nice)...went up to our room...the key did not work! My hubby went back to the front desk..I was waiting in the hall by the door to our assigned room, when I heard what sounded like a toilet flushing...hmmm. Then the door opened and a young man wearing a work uniform came out...I thought perhaps he was finishing cleaning the room (it was 3:45 pm) but then I noticed a young lady coming out of the room...looked to me like they were having a little afternoon delight...I was a bit suprised and so were they...I asked who they were, they mumbled their names, rushed by me and ran down the stairs...my husband came back with a new key...I told him the story...we went back down to the front desk...front desk staff apologized...gave us a different room for the same price. This property was located conveniently (about 3-4 miles) from the Biltmore Estate and it is located near a mall. We ate both nights at the Stone Ridge Tavern which is across the street from this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionysius56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Outlet Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We apologize that someone was in the first room you checked into. All of our staff is aware that they are not to be in guest rooms unauthorized and we will be certain that this does not happen in the future. We are glad that you found our location to be convenient. We hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Here today and it is very nice so far. Quite busy but room is nice and especially for the price. Breakfast sounds good also...we will see. I am pretty picky so for me to say it's pretty good for under $90 is real good.
Front desk is very helpful but too busy, they need to hire more help so someone can answer questions for guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariannelalmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Outlet Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We will look into staffing more help during our busier times. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had spent the day at the Biltmore and spent one night before we headed out the next day on our motorcycle. The room was nice and clean and the staff was very helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the continental breakfast was great! Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr3117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalCamacho, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Outlet Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Please stay with us again the next time you visit beautiful Asheville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Outlet Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Outlet Center

Address: 890 Brevard Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-2206 (Formerly Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Asheville
#29 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £72 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Outlet Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites Outlet Center is conveniently located right off of I-26 and near the beautiful Biltmore Estate, America's largest home. Discount Biltmore tickets sold! We are adjacent to Asheville Outlets, western NC's premier shopping venue with over 75 outlet stores plus food pavilion. All of our suites include a free full hot breakfast, pull out sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator & coffee maker. We have a Fitness Room on-site as well as seasonal, outdoor pool. Whirlpool suites are also available. We are a pet friendly hotel and we offer pet walking and cleanup areas. Our business center is stocked with office supplies and we also offer remote printing. Our meeting space can accommodate up to 150 people. We look forward to welcoming you to the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Outlet Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Comfort Suites Asheville
Asheville Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing