We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and will return the next time we are in Asheville.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We loved it and will return the next time we are in Asheville.”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We were very pleased with this hotel. The room was very clean. My daughter and niece enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The fitness room had new equipment. The kids enjoyed the complimentary cookies. The continental breakfast was great. There was always complimentary fresh coffee available as well. The man behind the desk was very helpful and friendly. We will return to this hotel the next time we go to Asheville.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Glad to know that your family enjoyed our facilty.!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    412
    96
    28
    17
See reviews for
453
479
47
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We search out a Country Inn and Suites when we are traveling. Always clean and quiet. My kids love the fresh cookies after traveling.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcfrider8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Glad tio hear that you and your kids enjoyed your stay with. Our cookies are always a plus to the kids.!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed one night in June 2011 while taking our child to summer camp. The check-in process was simple and quick, and the entranceway has a very deep covered entry, which was important for us, as it was raining when we unloaded our things and also when we checked out. The gentleman on the evening shift was very helpful when we asked for dinner suggestions, and also quickly responsive when we had a minor problem in our room. The beds were typical of this level of hotel, but wow! the pillows! Each queen bed had about 5 lofty pillows, and when I opened the closet the next morning to see if we had left anything, there were half a dozen more to choose from. The decor, both in the lobby and the rooms, will not blow you away. They don't call it Country Inn for nothing-it is homey and low-key; nothing shiny and sleek about this place. However, the simple comforts make up for that. The shower temp and pressure were absolutely ideal, and, as most know, that is often a difficult trick to perfect, regardless of the level of hotel.
The breakfast was basic but thoughtfully done: the cofffee was fresh and plentiful, the supplies were contantly replenished, and there was something for everyone-fruit, hot and cold cereal, yogurt and a pre-cooked omelette. I am not one for pre-prepared egg dishes, but it was quite good! Although we were told the hotel was 100% booked the night before, there was ample space for everyone to sit, even at 8:00 a.m.
As someone else noted, the property is tucked into a small piece of real estate, so if you stay with a large group of people, don't expect for all of you to easily spread out into the lobby and pool area. However, it is perfect for a quick visit and also very convenient to downtown (less than 5 minutes).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPDiaz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Veyr pleased to know that we made your stay very enjoyable!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My spouse and I stayed here for a night after booking on Hotwire for $60. The facility was clean, quiet, and a great option if you just need a comfortable place for the night. Although we didn't use them, the small exercise room and breakfast looked very nice.

Overall, a decent place to be for a night, and the price was great through Hotwire.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Thanks for staying with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We had a very comfortable two night stay at the Country Inn & Suites Tunnel Road. The beds were extremely comfortable. It felt very homey and I enjoyed the nice little touches like the free cookies and coffee in the foyer, and the included breakfast had everything you could desire to start your day! It certainly seemed very convenient to downtown Asheville, but Asheville itself doesn't seem very big anyway so I think most places would be convenient! It also was very quiet which gets the two big thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Very pleased to know you enjoyed the free cookies, coffee and the free breakfast.!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I've never slept on a better bed in a hotel. The breakfast was excellent, although the breakfast area wasn't too large. But, the hotel was squeezed into a small plot of land in a prime location, so compromises had to be made. In the summer, all Asheville hotels are godawful expensive, but, considering that you might only save $10-20 going to a Days Inn, The Country In & Suites stands out. In the off-season, rates are much less, and is a great value. It's the only one with an indoor pool, too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raleigheyedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 13 July 2011
We are very pleased to hear that our beds let you have a good night's rest. Yes our breakfast room dose get crowded when we have a large group.Please visit us when you come back into the Asheville area again.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Nice, clean room. Loved the pillow choices for sleeping. Breakfast had much more than we expected. Good value. Enjoyed the hot tub after a day of zip-lining. Room looks a little dated but ameneties were up to date (wi-fi, flat screen TV in bedroom area of suite).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetP173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Glad to know that you enjoyed the hot-tub after going to zip-linning.Thank-you for staying with us and hope to see you again.!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#21 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing