We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing as usual”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

When my husband informed me we were going to drag races within 2 hours of this particular hotel there was no way I was letting an opportunity to stay here go to waste. We called this AM, spoke with Tom at the front desk, and are now relaxing in the indoor pool. Oh how I wish it were for more than one night :-(

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ameebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    412
    96
    28
    17
See reviews for
453
479
47
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent three nights in the Country Inn & Suites on Tunnel Rd. This hotel is close to Downtown Asheville, the Biltmore, and the Grove Park Inn Resort & Spa. The room was clean, had fast Wi-Fi, and a refrigerator. There are an indoor pool, hot tub, the workout room, a library where you could borrow a book to read.
The hotel offers a free breakfast with eggs, ham, bacon, potatoes, gravy, biscuits, bagels, bread. You can make your own waffles with berries, chocolate chips, and syrup. Coffee & tea available all day.
The location is a very short drive to chain restaurants (IHOP is even in a walking distance, open 24 hours on Fri&Sat), Walgreen's, Asheville Mall.
The hotel staff was very friendly.
We enjoyed our visit here and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TandL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

True to the brand, this was an attractive, clean hotel with great amenities - great breakfast, decent indoor pool and hot tub, and a nice exercise room. They even were friendly to the environment in that real dishes, cups, and silverware were being used.
The bed and pillows were comfortable, the room and linens did not smell, and the bathroom was clean. My room backed onto the woods and I did not have problems with parking lot lights, sounds, or neighborhood noises. It was easily the most quiet night I've ever had in a hotel room.
The neighborhood was handy - lots of restaurants on that road, easy access to the interstate as well as downtown, and even a grocery store less than a mile away.
The only negative was more of a "homeowner" issue - there was a seam in the shower stall where it met up with the bathtub. It looked to me as if water/moisture could go back behind the shower wall and create a problem. Caulk might take care of it.
Also, I was able to get an incredibly fair price by booking and paying 2 weeks ahead with no opportunity to cancel the reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms that back to the woods are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quilty_As_Charged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesdale, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I come to Asheville at least once a year to a continuing education school and I always stay here at the Country inn & Suites Tunnel rd.I have never had a bad experience here and the rooms are great, always clean, up to date, and very comfortable beds. The location is convenient to all of Asheville and you don't have to drive but a few minutes to most food locations. The price is always competitive with similiar hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We went for 2 nights to visit The Biltmore Estate. We were very happy with the check in process~although we arrived early, they were able to acommodate us, and get us settled. Chocolate chip cookies and fresh fruit were offered to us as well as coffee and tea. The room was nice and comfortable and very up to date. Clean and quiet :) Breakfast was a crowd pleaser. They had eggs and Canadian bacon as well as warm oatmeal with fresh fruit to stir in. We would recommend this hotel if you are visiting the Biltmore, or if you would like to go to Downtown Asheville. Very convenient!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JapaneseChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumber Bridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We were in town for a volleyball tournament. Upon mentioning this to the front desk, the night manager set up breakfast for us an hour early to accomodate the teams schedule. He had everything set up! Breakfast was wonderful and was a little different each day. Bacon, eggs, breakfast burritos, oatmeal, waffles, etc. The pool area was clean and the kids loved it. The breakfast room was also opened for us in the evening to enjoy the tables to play games and sit and enjoy a bottle of wine. The rooms were very clean. There are not many hotels that I would consider taking a bath in and the tub was so clean I would have! The beds were comfortable and clean. The rooms were a little smaller than expected upon first impression, but that is truly the only thing I would rate as a 4 instead of a 5.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cimba33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Country inn & Suites on Tunnel Rd is close to shopping & Downtown Asheville. The Biltmore & The University of North Carolina Asheville is close by. My family spent three nights at this hotel. The rooms were clean & most important the beds were comfortable. The water was hot, even with four of us taking showers. We used the pool & hot tub, also used the workout room. There was a lending library where you could borrow a book to read. The front desk was courteous & readily available to answer questions about local eateries or the closest Post Office. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. Eggs in the form of a burrito the first morning. Scrambled eggs with ham or bacon. English muffins, bagels, or bread for toasting. OJ, apple juice, water dispensed from a machine. Make your own waffles with fruit, chocolate chips, brown sugar, & syrup that you can add if you want to. Apples and bananas available all day along with chocolate chip cookies. Coffee & tea available all day. The front desk area had a fireplace and a couch to sit and read the newspaper.My family enjoyed our visit here and we will return on our next visit to Asheville. I, also highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make your reservation early to get better room rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travel4uflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing