We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and friendly, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clayton, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient and friendly, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

A friend and I chose this hotel for it's convenience to the sights we wanted to see and for the good rates. We found it to be clean, had a great breakfast and the desk staff was just wonderful in helping us with directions; drawing routes on the maps kept conveniently on the front desk. All staff was friendly and helpful and we felt right at home. We already plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Back rooms were quiet. Parking at rear made loading and unloading easy. And the windows open; let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello valued guest!

Thank you so much for your great feedback about our property. We are in a perfect central location to all of Asheville's attractions. I am so glad our staff was friendly and helpful. We do have good rates and a good breakfast. Our desire is to make you feel "right at home", so I am happy we achieved that! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    408
    95
    27
    15
See reviews for
444
474
47
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our first time staying at this location. We have stayed at lovely Country Inn and Suites in others states. This location did NOT live up to our expectations whatsoever. Yes, the lobby is nicely decorated. Guess what? No one stays in the lobby. Upon arrival, there was practically no parking available. The halls and our room had a weird smell - which we could not seem to place, but weird nonetheless. The room is dark and the paint job is very poor plus there is staining on the wall near the venting (which always makes me think mold). The main problem was that our room had clearly NOT been cleaned to standard. We had to call the front desk because there was a spill on a table. It was a large spill, gritty, and smelled awful like spoiled dairy or milk. Absolutely disgusting. (She did come clean it up, but the damage was already done - and the stain is clear on the table). Additionally, there were other "signs" the room had not be adequately cleaned - cup rings on tables that should have been wiped down and plastic tags on the floor that should have been vacuumed up. On a positive note, our housekeeper during our stay did seem to do a good job, but as two adults, we keep our room clean anyway. Lastly, the cookies were not the fresh, soft cookies we have always experienced. Very disappointed. I would not recommend this hotel and feel completely taken based on what we paid for a poor experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello valued guest,

We appreciate your feedback concering your stay with us. I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations . We have addressed your issues with our director of housekeeping so as to improve our procedures on room inspection. We are very proud of our housekeeping department and your situation was very unusual for us. I am sorry you did not persue the complaint furthur with our gm so that he could find a solution that would satisfy you fully. As to your other concerns such as parking; it is fine to park along the sides of lot as well as in front of the property adjacent to Waffle House. In regards to the cookies, I will assure you that they are baked fresh daily and most folks seemed to prefer them crispy. I am glad you appreciated our new common area renovations and the efforts of the housekeepers when they provided stayover service.Take care and please continue to stay at Country Inns and Suites wherever your travels take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We really liked this inn, it was convenient to both downtown Ashville and the Biltmore Estate. We had a room with a king sized bed that was very comfortable and a sitting area, mini fridge and bathroom with a single sink set in a spacious vanity that was great for having all our toiletries out on the counter. We stayed for 4 nights and housekeeping did a great job here. The breakfast was fantastic, much more extensive than most motels with hot and cold cereal, a self serve waffle maker, juice machine, coffee, tea, toast, butter, jelly and alternating omelettes with breakfast burritos and sausage alternating with bacon. Would definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 523Deedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Greetings valued guest!

Thanks for giving us such a great review from your recent stay. We do hear that the beds are so comfortable, some folks even want to know the make and model so they can purchase one for their home! The "fantastic" breakfast does surprise alot of guest as far as quality and quantity. I am glad you enjoyed the spacious suite and were pleased with the ease of access to downtown! So happy that you will definitely stay again!Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel in May. I was more than pleased with its proximity to downtown. You needn't even get back on the highway, simply make a left out of the hotel and 2 miles later you're in the heart of Asheville. Overall, breakfast was good and I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 7thnovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi and thank you!

We are so glad you took a minute to relay your thoughts about our property. The convenience to downtown is awesome, and of course, we are far less expensive than hotels in downtown. I am so happy you enjoyed our large, hot breakfast. Thank you for promising to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in this CI about 7 years ago. It was okay then, but it's great now!

We're retired folks who don't like being up late with the young 'uns, so we ask to be on the top floor and hope the management puts more of our kind up there with us!

Each morning, the breakfast buffet was stocked with fresh rolls, muffins, bagels, etc. The sausage biscuits and gravy was restaurant quality. My wife liked the blueberries, raspberries and strawberries with her yogurt. Had bacon one morning and sausage patties the next. The 2nd morning they had two kinds of omelets that were excellent.

The hot tub was hot, the pool was cool, the rooms were clean and quiet and the staff was always helpful, especially giving us directions. The hotel location offers quick, easy access to downtown thru the tunnel. There are all kinds of restaurants up and down Tunnel Rd.

Looking forward to our third stay at this Country Inn!!!

Room Tip: If you shut the AC off, turn it on when you leave so the air is fresh when you return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello and thanks for the great review you gave us !

We are glad you found us to be great after 7 years instead of the"ok" place you remembered. I am so happy we could accomodate your higher floor request and assume it was indeed quiet.We work hard to bring you the breakfast that you say was well-stocked, fresh and excellent! You noted that the pool temperatures were perfect, due our maintanence staff checking at regular intervals to assure temp and ph balance. Thank you so much for saying that our rooms were clean and the satff was helpful. You also did not leave out the fact that we are a quick and easy drive to downtown Asheville, the place to be! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Wow! When you walk into this hotel it's complete 5 starts I've not seen a lobby this nice the floors was amazing,the fire place was very nice as well! Upon checking in I was greeted the lady at the front was very nice and helped us a lot with directions and places to eat. After getting getting into the room we walked in and it was nice and cool and fresh the bathroom was plenty big enough for the both of us at one time big shower, the beds I loved the most i never wanted to get up! Nice big new tv. we had a room in the back on 4th floor the woods in the back made it feel even more like a country inn! The breakfast was more than enough for me eggs, biscuits and gravy,bacon, it was different every day we went! Food was great and was kept clean!Overall I give this place 5 stars the staff we in countered on our stay always had a smile and was willing to help!! Thanks country inn for making our stay great! I've done booked for the fall when the leaves change!
Also thank you to the GM who helped us with our car trouble you was our life savior!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindyc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 6 June 2014
A sincere thanks to you very valued guest!
We are so pleased to hear about your experience with us.We are so delighted that you loved our renovations to the lobby. We are also very happy that you "loved" the bed so much that you didn't want to get up! I think I am personally going to have to spend the night here now! Although we are in a business district, I agree with you that the wooded view out back makes it feel "countryish". We are so glad that all the staff were smiling and helpful during your encounters with them. As you pointed out, we did in fact install brand new big tv's in all rooms this past month. We are so glad to hear that you have already set your reservations to return. Also, the manager was happy to assist you with your car troubles! Thank you so much again for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Convenient to downtown and Biltmore. Clean and nicely furnished. Fills the bill at a good price. Nice breakfast included. Close to large mall. Near most large roads. 10 minutes to Biltmore estate. Cannot Wal to restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Das4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us!
You are correct in stating that we are very convenient to not only downtown but also the mall and the Biltmore. I am so glad you enjoyed our large complimentary breakfast. The only point I wanted to differ with you was concerning walkable restaurants-we are a 1/4 mile form several chain restaurants that are accessible from the sidewalk.I am sorry you were not told about that.We do hope you will return !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#33 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing