We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff at Asheville CI&S was very accomodating and attentive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The staff at Asheville CI&S was very accomodating and attentive.”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past. It is nicely located, clean, and rooms are spacious. The breakfast offering was varied and good, and the internet access is fine. It has a nice pool and an exercise room with several very nice treadmills. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I will definitely use this hotel again whenever I am in Asheville.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaFaHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    422
    100
    29
    18
See reviews for
471
497
47
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed here to travel early to Mars Hill for Athletic Tournament on Saturday. Good location for convenience to area restaurants, shopping, and interstate access. Comfortable beds with courteous staff, and good hot breakfast for family with multiple breakfast desires. Food was well laid out for breakfast, and provided nice selection for both hot and quick needs. Fruit both frozen for waffle toppings, and fresh for pickup was provided; a real treat for someone who loves fruit for breakfast! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikera55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 26 January 2011
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china grove, north carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at the Asheville Tunnel Road Country Inn..
The mountain view could be a little better... but overall...the motel is a great value.
Everything and everyone was A+...If you can't afford historic Asheville's Grove Park Inn then stroll through that resort (especially mid Nov. thru New Year's to see National Gingerbread Houses) and then go on over Country Inn and Suites and rest your head.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 21 January 2011
Glad you enjoyed your stay at, Country Inn & Suites Asheville I-240-Tunnel Rd
Hope you will book with us agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We got lost finding it b/c our stupid GPS wasn't working too well but once we found it, what a treat it was! The desk clerk was very helpful with directions to our destination the next morning (Mars Hill College) and he also helped me download an important document we needed to take with us. (My jump drive wasn't going in and he came over to help.)

The room was clean and warm (it was so very cold outside) and the beds were very comfortable...I loved the pillows so much I wished I could purchase one! I was able to eat a very nice breakfast before we headed off to Mars Hill which is 19 miles away. They have an account with the college and I can see why. It was wonderful. Hope to stay there again if my daughter is accepted to MHC!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narniagirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 21 February 2011
We all hope your daughter gets accepted to Mars Hill College. Glad to know you had a great time during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We have stayed here several times and each time are equally impressed with the staff and everything else about this hotel! We love the service, the free cookies :) and the fact that they greet you each time you walk in the door! If you ever are in Asheville, you should stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVLRAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 21 January 2011
Thanks for staying with us. Hope to see you in the near future.!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwater, fl
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We had just stayed at the country inn in Savannah GA the night before. Both hotels are nice and clean but the service at this hotel was head and shoulders above the other. They were extremely polite and ehlpful at check in. They went out of there way throughout the stay to make sure all our needs were met. What a difference! Heated pool was great as was breakfast! Would recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoda5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_aatr, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that we made your stay the best that we could. We take pride in our hotel. We hope that the next time that you are back in Asheville you choose to stay with us again. We love taking care of our guests. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon in Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hialeah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

1. The main street entrance to the hotel could have been cleaned from accumulated ice, so to keep cars from slipping downhill, as happen to the car that was trying to exit from the hotel the first night we were there, almost hitting our vehicle. That condition was present for three days (until ice melted) even though it was reported to the front desk.

2. We were a party of seven, staying in two different suites. On all four days we had breakfast there, and all four days some of us had to stand while the rest of the party sat eating breakfast. There were guests eating breakfast in the lobby, down the hall, etc, because of no room at the breakfast room. Regularly ran out of coffee, danishes, and waffle mix.

3. We had a five day reservation and were suppose to check out on Monday; however, because our oldest daughter had to move her overseas trip arrival date by one day, we had to check out one day earlier. The front desk completely refused to apply any discounts or consideration because they said we had made a five day reservation on line, even though: a) Reservation was made by phone, not on-line; we actually spoke to someone live when reservation was made, and defenitely was not told rate was only good if five days were booked. b) we had two suites. c) we had actually stayed at another Country Inn and Suites on Tuesday evening because this location (Asheville I-240 - Tunnel Rd) did not have any rooms on Tuesday night, (making our stay with Country Inn five days overall).
They ended up charging us for the night we did not stay there, with taxes and all fees. The best the front desk could do was give us the manager's business card and ask to contact her at a later day. We honestly thought that charging people one whole night, including taxes, even though they had not stayed there was illegal, but it obviously isn't.

4) At the time we made the reservation, we asked for a high floor. Not only were our suites on the first floor, but they were at the end of the hallway leading from the lobby, as to make sure we heard all conversations from guests coming from the lobby (that includes everyone staying at the hotel; impossible to stay there and not walk past our two rooms. Needless to say, the nighttime rest was not optimal.

5) Both suites faced a well lit parking lot. There was a faulty street light outside that kept turning on and off during the night, lighting up the rooms every time it did. The old curtains would not close well enough to keep the light from all of a sudden flashing the room.

6) On the second suite (the one with two queen beds) the a/c fan kept blowing curtain up, letting the light come in the room. Nothing could be done about that.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirlui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing