We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience and even worse Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Biltmore
Ranked #56 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst experience and even worse Customer Service”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our reservations at the property's website rate were "canceled" according to the clerk whose story was that the credit card was refused. He still had a room at three times the website rate. Needless to say we started to look elsewhere for a room. He 'helpfully' knew of a property 2 blocks away that had good rates and availability. We went to look and found an older motel style property that was clean, well-lit, with a personable manager. We booked for our two night stay. Funny though, our credit card worked fine at this property. I checked with the bank and found that the card had never been run by the Economy Lodge. Tried complaining to Choice Hotels customer service and was completely blown off by the representative. During our stay at the other property we discovered two other parties that had the exact same story - canceled reservation, try 2 blocks down, availability there. It is obvious that the clerk is feeding rooms to the other property probably for a kickback in cash. Choice Hotels don't care apparently so we will no longer use that chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    36
    27
    25
    42
See reviews for
36
52
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Love the new renovation. Everything is much more better then the last times visit. Friendly front desk staff. Clean rooms, bathrooms, fridge, microwave etc... the parkinglot needs some attention other than that its great and cheap place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patric3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Relaxing and very quiet place. The rooms view was calm. The front desk staff was great. Called me in some time after check in to ask if something was needed. Great rate and just enough for a normal visit to other state.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeBiltmore, Front Desk Receptionist at Econo Lodge Biltmore, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our Econo Lodge Biltmore in Asheville! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the views, and our service! We hope to serve you again the next time you visit Asheville.

- Ruth C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Last visit was not as well enjoyable as this visit to the Econolodge Biltmore. The renovations are beautiful. So many changes have taken place since last two years. No stains on bedsheets or towels, clean bathroom, clean and fresh smelly rooms. Convenient service with great customer service staff. Best of all, the hotel still costs less. Loved it along with my family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeBiltmore, Front Desk Receptionist at Econo Lodge Biltmore, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our Econo Lodge Biltmore in Asheville! We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed our renovations, customer service, and our rates. We really appreciate your comments, and hope to serve you and your family again soon!

- Ruth C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capron
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Over the years we have stayed at this hotel over 20 times. They have the best rates and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. Also it is a quick cab ride to downtown.
We have never had any issues. Close to great restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasaclnzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeBiltmore, Front Desk Receptionist at Econo Lodge Biltmore, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your review of our Econo Lodge Biltmore in Asheville! We are so happy to hear that you have stayed with us many times over the years, we truly appreciate your business, and comments! We are glad to know that our location is perfect for you, and that you enjoy our rooms, and rates. We hope to continue providing you with excellent service for more years to come. Thanks again!

- Ruth C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The rooms and beds were clean (we rented 2) and the desk clerk friendly. It looks like Econo Lodge is trying to update the rooms as it appeared to have newer furniture and flatscreen tv's than those in the pictures. One of the rooms had an issue with the bathroom but the clerk had it fixed within 15 minutes from the time I notified him. The rooms had that typical musty smell that goes away after you turn on the ac. The outside of the rooms were a different story, the parking spaces on the office side of the building are very narrow and are difficult pulling out of especially between two other vehicles and being close to a block wall behind you didn't help. We felt very closed in and at night it felt kind of creepy due to the low lighting.

Room Tip: The left side of the hotel doesn't feel as creepy, it a lot more open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeBiltmore, Front Desk Receptionist at Econo Lodge Biltmore, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your review of our Econo Lodge Biltmore in Asheville! We are glad to hear that you liked our rooms, and customer service! We are currently continuing renovations in/on our property, and the outside/parking lot is something we will definitely be working on soon as well! We definitely appreciate your input, and hope to serve you again in the future.

- Ruth C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I have recently stayed last weekend and enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and tidy, the microwave was clean and spotless and without any smell (recent stays at other hotels had dirty microwaves). The staff was very understanding and greeted me with respect. The internet was working up to its speed.appreciative place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirtt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeBiltmore, Front Desk Receptionist at Econo Lodge Biltmore, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks for your review of our Econo Lodge Biltmore in Asheville! We really appreciate your comments about our rooms, and our service! We strive to maintain our rooms, and everything in them perfectly clean, and tidy. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to serve you again soon!

- Ruth C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#47 of 65 in Asheville
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Asheville
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#38 of 65 in Asheville
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#40 of 65 in Asheville
240 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Biltmore

Property: Econo Lodge Biltmore
Address: 190 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Biltmore 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Asheville
Asheville Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing