We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #34 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were visiting the area on Friday, August 5, 2011 and needed a room at the last minute. The first couple of hotels we contacted were charging a rate of $200/night or were booked. I found the Mountaineer on Yelp and the review wasn't horrible so we checked it out. From the outside it wasn't great and we asked to see the room for cleanliness, it was acceptable ...not great. We accepted it last minute but they gave us a different room that was very dirty and had an unidentifiable smell. We went straight to the front desk and requested a refund and went on down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were here for the festival, and althought the room did stop in 1965, we slept well in our room. I took an early dip in the pool and thought that a warm shower would be great. Well, one small problem...no hot water in room 165. We still made it a good stay. Now my daughter and son-in-law had a different expereince. in room 166, they had blood on the mattress, a fight with a spider as big as the one from Will Smith's Wild Wild West movie, but the good thing was that they were out of the room early.LOL
Have a good strong drink and it will be good.

Room Tip: try to stay in the front units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnydurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed at this motel while gem mining at nearby towns, and by far this was the best motel/hotel stay I've had in years. The people working the desk were amazingly attenitive to anything we needed or questions we had about places to eat or things to see. They didn't just care about getting you a room, they were interested in how the drive in was and what brought us to their town. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance from the motel. The rooms were very clean and big. We stayed in the 'double bay' rooms which are located behind the building of regular rooms. The rooms were bigger (with 2queens)than normal hotel sized rooms. This area was very quiet and when we were sitting on the lounge chairs outside our room we could barely hear the traffic from the road out front. They don't have fancy new furniture or flat screen tv's, but who goes on vacation to sit in the hotel rooms anyway. We traveled with 4 adults and 2 kids (realistically 1 adult and 5 kids). If you are traveling with kids, I highly recommend this place. There's a huge kidney shaped pool with an extra 2ft area for the little ones and a very large 8-9ft deep area for all the cannonballs your group can handle. And, the pool is open 24hrs! Nothing like a little midnight swim in the hot summer weather to make the vacation perfect. This was my first time at the Mountaineer Inn (suggested by me from a friend who stayed their twice in the past), and I will most definitely book a room here in the future when in Asheville.

Room Tip: There are double bay rooms, which had 2 queens and just some extra space around the beds for all you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliem103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This motel looks very welcoming as well as the owner, but after we opened the door we were welcomed into the '60. Which can be fun, but is not worth the money cause it desperatly needs a renovation. Furthermore, we felt unsafe for the first time: crappy roomlockers and easy-to-break-in-windows.

To go in to downtown you will have to walk for about 15/20 minutes.

Room Tip: go 2 another motel: plenty to pick on same street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dounia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Bring the kids here for the experience and a good nights sleep. The inn keeper was so friendly and will talk your ear off if you let him. Has owned the place since 1964, rather on a whim. The room was clean and of course, some things were a little on the downward slide, like the cracked front of the vanity or the worn upolstery on the chairs, but the bathroom was spic n span-- I checked. The beds were comfy and our a/c unit worked wonderfully. I think the value for the money is incredible! There is a minifridge in the room and coffee maker & coffee provided. Usually when we stay at more interesting places, I don't expect to find those things, but they were nice to have. And yes, the tvs were left overs from the 80's but they worked just fine. To stay in Asheville in such a prime locale for around 70$-- it just can't be beat!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

It's true, the hotel it's a little run down but clean. Staff very helpful and welcoming. It is very conveniently located near downtown, restaurants, gas stations, supermarkets and shopping mall. The Biltmore Mansion only a few minutes away. Nice vews of the bustling life outside. The room was nice and warm. The breakfast healthy, good coffee. The price is right and the owner just lovely. We will go overthere again. Very centrally located. It was a great week as well as my birthday. The price is just right!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smatthaei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This place is great! I love the location and the flowers and trees! It is a part of Asheville and has been there forever!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
1.8 mi away
Aberdeen Inn
Aberdeen Inn
#29 of 39 in Asheville
82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sweet Biscuit Inn
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Princess Anne Hotel
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 39 in Asheville
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beaucatcher
The Beaucatcher
#27 of 39 in Asheville
83 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Reynolds Mansion
The Reynolds Mansion
#3 of 39 in Asheville
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £42 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "Appalachian" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing