We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homeless shelters are cleaner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #32 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homeless shelters are cleaner!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The room smells like cigarettes and mold. Everything is outdated. The carpet is dirty. Gnats flying all around the room. I felt something biting me throughout the bight. I looked allover and ccouldn't tell what it was. I made my husband keep the lights on while we slept. I woke up every hour worried about having to sleep in this nasty dump. We paid $120.99 because we had no other options. We should have camped out and stayed in the car. This is by far the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. I will never come back here!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sobetobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    44
    21
    23
    63
See reviews for
35
61
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived late and no rooms to be found so we had to stay here. The price was 79.00 which was really overly priced for what we received. This is an older hotel so the room was big, but not realy clean. The owner was nice though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandit44803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lages, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is a travel back to the 70's, but the staff is very friendly. The room is huge and the shower is great. The breakfast is good. The hotel owner is amazing to talk about everything you want to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gatiboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

OK,,only $79 a night, but....bird poop on the room door, lime green bathroom fixtures, dribbly shower, no drawer on desk, no wi fi password, handle missing on chest, chair cushion ripped,smells like cheap room deodorizer, dirty coffee maker, dirty shower curtain, moldy shower. Don't stay here. Pay more and get a better place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knitkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Convenient to Grove Park and downtown but old, decrepit and nasty.

Room had mold in shower/bathroom and furniture looked like it was from a homeless shelter!!

On-line image is much nicer than reality.





  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finley, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stay clear! Booked 3 nights online. After the first night, I woke up with bite marks all over. Looked through the sheets and found bed bugs and fleas! What a combination! Spoke to the owners and moved to a different room that smelled like cigarettes! No reimbursement for my horrible encounter! Owners told me, "There's nothing we can do." DO NOT STAY HERE! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived late after a 11 hour driving day. Only four rooms left in town. We took one in the mountaineer. The farther away from the lobby the worse the rooms got. We ended up in the back looking at a wall. The furniture was worn the floor was vacuumed around the furniture the worst part was after reading the other reviews on trip advisor I threw back the sheets and found pubic hair etc... At that point I went to the front desk which was being run bY a 80 plus year old woman and asked for clean sheets. She insisted that the sheets were clean. I told her in no uncertain terms were those sheets clean. She was very nice about it and sent up some clean and warm sheet right out of the dryer. Other from that the room was ok everything worked and the food was fine in the am. It is not horrid if you ask for what you need.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brimton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 63 in Asheville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Asheville
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#39 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountaineer Inn

Property: The Mountaineer Inn
Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing