We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bi-polar experience of hits and misses. Misses expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights with the objective of enjoying Asheville, NC for 1 day and hiking in the Great Smoky Mountain National Park on another. It should be mentioned that I am a Hilton Gold Card member but usually stay at the Hilton but chose to give the Doubletree a try. Misses- I checked in on a Friday and the only person at the counter was a trainee left by herself. Needless to say there was a line and she kept apologizing for being just a trainee but also made some rude comments about customers who do not like to wait. I am unclear to whom she was referring since there was a line and the woman behind me had two kids who started to misbehave due to the wait. Where other staff was is beyond me since the next morning when I went to get breakfast there were two gentlemen working the counter at 6:30 AM! Seems like poor management scheduling to me.

Secondly, I was given room 516 and not offered an upgrade which is usually normal for Hilton Gold Customers. The room was small and the bathroom was very small. It reminded me more of a Days Inn or Red Roof Inn. Moreover the ice machine and soda machine are directly across the hall from this room instead of in a separate room or next to the elevators. I was woken up several times due to "ice runs." If you insist on staying here DO NOT GET THIS ROOM.

Hits- good breakfast food. Nice variety and options. Second- Good housekeeping; room was always kept clean. Third-Location; next door to the Biltmore Estate and a couple of blocks across the street is Biltmore village and its many shops. A five minute drive to downtown Asheville and easily access to I-40.

Overall, when the plusses and minuses are added up, I give this hotel a ranking similar to that I would give a Holiday Inn, or a Days Inn. I used my Hilton points for my stay and would not pay the full asking price per room for this hotel. There are any options in Asheville and you may wish to consider whether a free chocolate chip cookie is worth the difference. I even think the Hampton on Tunnel Rd is a better value and a better experience than this supposed Hilton property upgrade. The Hilton on I-26 is the best Hilton property in Asheville by far.

Room Tip: Stay away from 516 and the ice machine from hell.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jjmat49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Jjmat -

Thank you for your feedback on our DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore. We love hearing that we hit the mark with your comments about our nice breakfast, good housekeeping and convenient location to many attractions. When a guest feels we miss the mark, we will always treat this as a learning experience and address those concerns. There is always a starting point with each new Front Office trainee, and we promise to educate them in all areas of guest service. This will provide a congenial arrival experience for our guests. I'm sorry about the noisy ice machine, and will have our Engineering department look at these units to see if they can make them run more quietly for your return visit.

Thank you for you comments.

Sincerely,

Herb R. Arnold
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,407)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent the past weekend in Asheville, NC enjoying the Biltmore Village. It is a beautiful place to walk around with plenty of nice shops and restaurants. I was able to use Hilton Honor points for our (2) nights at the Doubletree. The hospitality was exceptional, as well as the breakfast. It's always nice to travel and still have the comfort of home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrrG411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Greg O,

We love our HHonors guests! We are thrilled to read your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville-Biltmore! Its great that you enjoyed our beautiful location in Biltmore Village, and that our team showed you our exceptional customer service while you stayed with us. We look forward to having you back soon!

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville-Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Through our reservations with DoubleTree and their association with The Biltmore House, our experience over the weekend couldn't have been any better. Staff, food and room was all excellent. We felt we were appreciated and everyone made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear ThomasM

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our DoubleTree in Asheville, NC. We love that you enjoyed the convenience and guest service at our property.

We hope that when you return to the mountains of Asheville, NC, you will once again choose our DoubleTree.

Sincerley,

Herb Arnold
Director of Sales
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville-Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great location just outside entrance to the Biltmore. Grounds are beautiful, great breakfast, quiet rooms back from road. Hotel adjoins a Friday's with an outdoor poarch and you receive 20% discount with room key.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent 2 nights here in June on our way to Nashville. Excellent friendly staff (you're greeted with warm cookies), spacious rooms, comfy beds and reasonable indoor pool/gym.
If you haven't booked breakfast, the Duckers restaurant is worth the money for a hearty start to the day.
In walking distance of a variety of good eating places in Biltmore village, or there's TGI Friday on site if you prefer.

The only possible downside was the noisy air conditioning unit, but we set ours to cool the room before bed then turned off during the night and the room was perfectly comfortable, even with the very hot weather they were experiencing during our stay. A fridge in the room would have been handy, but ice mnachines were available.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AthelbraeTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes, the hotel is beautiful inside and the location is first rate. Complaint: no HDTV and just a few channels available. Also, no USB charger ports in the room! Walking distance to restaurants and shops, but do not eat at the onsite Friday's. This location had the worst service at the bar I have witnessed this year. I usually eat at the bar and run up a large food tab so service is usually not an issue but the folks here could not show less care for their patrons.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear ATLfans,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of the DoubleTree Biltmore. We are glad you enjoyed our beautifully renovated hotel and our location in Historic Biltmore Village. We are appreciative of the concerns you brought to our attention. Please know that we are in the final stages of upgrading our TV services, which will provide our guests with HD signals and an enhanced channel line-up throughout the hotel. Also, we appreciate your feedback about TGI Friday's and will share this with their management team, as it is a separate entity. We thank you for your business and hope that you consider staying with us in the future.

Sincerley,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville-Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The personnel were exceptionally helpful. The wait at the counter to register was minimal. The employees were kind and always concerned about meeting the needs of everyone. The only concern I had is the cost of fruit - $1.50 for an apple or banana was high.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank C1240OLsandrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
0.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
5.5 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville

Address: 115 Hendersonville Road, Asheville, NC 28803-2868
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Asheville
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#11 Family Hotel in Asheville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £122 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville-Biltmore, an Asheville-based Biltmore Farms Hotels property, is a full-service hotel located one block from The Biltmore Estate and within walking distance of the historic Biltmore Village’s quaint shopping and restaurant district. This newly renovated 197-room hotel offers guests a distinctive upscale ambience in a relaxing atmosphere, and a complimentary warm fresh-baked DoubleTree cookie upon arrival. The DoubleTree’s recently completed renovations include improvements to its Cecil Wing Guest Rooms, lobby, public and meeting space, as well as the additions of a state-of-the-art e-Lounge Business Center and Market Place. Additional amenities include an indoor pool, complimentary high speed wireless Internet, an ultra-modern fitness facility and more. Our in-house DoubleTree Catering offers a variety of culinary and event options, ranging from small corporate meetings to full-scale weddings. The DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore is a drop-off and pick up point for the Historic Asheville Trolley Tours and is only minutes from downtown Asheville, major interstates, the Blue Ridge Parkway and Asheville airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore Asheville
Doubletree Asheville
Asheville Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing