We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fancy rooms but missing some details” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Asheville West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fancy rooms but missing some details”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We booked two rooms here on Aug. 13th. They were aesthetically pleasing, that's for sure, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately, the rooms lacked a number of amenities (breakfast, a fridge, microwave, hair dryer, iron and board) that are common in other motels in this price range. We were able to get an iron but it needed to be picked up from the front desk--not very convenient in the morning before you get dressed. Personally, I would have taken some of these things over an LCD TV.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBeenBattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfig, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for choosing us on your recent trip to Asheville! You will find that we are a great value in the area, and we hope that if you return to Asheville you will choose one of our Superior King or Deluxe Two Bed rooms that offers the microwave and refrigerator to better accommodate your needs. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    217
    77
    28
    21
See reviews for
117
194
56
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I have stayed here before, but now that I see the rennovations, it's so much improved! We had a King room which was very spacious and excellent price. Loved the flat screen tv and also a computer table/chair in case you wanted to work, complete with lots of outlets for electrics. The new floor is a laminate that resembles wood, which looked very nice. The bed was super-comfy and the room was quiet. Although the inn was full, we did not hear our neighbors. Many had dogs, too. This place is located beside a Cracker Barrel, Dunkin Donut, and Hardees. You have lots of choices for food. We like to walk to Applebees and enjoy cocktails. This inn is also convenient to Blue Ridge Parkway, which is the reason we visit Asheville 3 times a year.
It is indeed a little hard to find. By the time you see the Cracker Barrel mentioned in the directions, you have almost missed the turn-in road.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kedron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

This was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever visited. The furniture was new, and the laminate floors seemed much cleaner than typical hotel carpet.

The staff was also friendly and engaging. There was some noise from dogs in nearby rooms, but we did not notice it at night.

We will be staying here if we pass through Asheville again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenEyedGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Our trailer broke down enroute to our yearly camping trip. How sad for the family, and how sad for us since we have dogs and it is difficult to find accommodations that are reasonable with pets. We actually thought the trip would have to be postponed due to exhorbitant pet fees at most hotels. Hence, why we chose the camper! After several internet attempts we landed on the Red Roof Inn where pets stay free! We were hesitant, but delighted that we could embark on our traditional trip.

When we got to the Inn we were pleasantly surpised. The Inn is completely redone with hardwood floors. We had a frig. and microwave to do some mini cooking and also brought in an electric skillet to save a few dollars. The room was spacious and staff was friendly. We were very pleased with our experience here and thank Red Roof Inn for such a wonderful marketing campaign and allowing Pets stay FREE! We'll be back and will be looking for Red Roof Inns from now on!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from other patrons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bourbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My girlfriend and I went on a trip to Asheville and were looking for a one night stay in a hotel. We didn't want to pay a ton of money, but we also didn't want to stay in a crappy roach trap.. and it does seem tough to find that balance in hotels, especially on the weekend. Oh, and we also required a dog-friendly hotel as well. We were comparing rates with other hotels and Red Roof Inn was among the cheapest we could find, plus it had decent enough reviews... neither of us had stayed in a Red Roof before so we thought we'd roll the dice and give it a chance.

It is a little hidden, but once we found it the premises were very neat and the lobby was clean as well. The daytime front desk guy was very helpful and friendly, he got us checked in and we got a room on the 2nd floor, unfortunately it was a corner room with absolutely no view of the beautiful Asheville scenery, but we weren't planning on sticking around the hotel for long anyways. The room had nice wooden floors, a flat screen TV, and a clean bathroom. We didn't encounter any strange smells or bugs as other reviews have mentioned. And we also didn't even hear any other dogs, so that was nice. The bed was comfortable enough, and we got a decent sleep, which is pretty much all we needed anyways.

No breakfast, but whatever.. not like hotel continental breakfasts are any different from the crappy pastries you can just buy at a gas station anyways, plus Asheville has a ton of great breakfast/brunch options (although if you plan on going to any of the more popular ones, be prepared to wait.. a LONG time.)

Overall, the hotel and room looked great, comfortable bed, very good for the price, not overrun with dogs, and you get a budget hotel price without feeling like you're staying in a budget hotel. We will probably stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The corner room we had had absolutely NO outside view... so if that sort of thing bothers you then d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyPKnuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This place was hard to find, for they did not have the sign on. Once we found it our room smelled of Pine-sol and urine, and was flanked by rooms with barking dogs. The desk clerk gave us a different room on the second floor on the reverse side of the hotel. We went up and our key wouldn't work. While my husband went down to get the key or room fixed a maintenance man emerged from the room, explaining that he had needed to fix the commode, and then decided to stay in the room and eat his dinner while taking a break! Ok, thats fine, he left the room spotless and the toilet worked. The room was fine, very stark and spartan, but clean and cool. It smelled fine. The most remarkable thing about it was that it was so devoid of usable surfaces to set things upon. There was no vanity or countertop in the bathroom for tooth brushes or glass of water, and the bedside shelf was miniature. It turned out to be ok, safe, clean and cheap. This is another pricy area we were just passing through so we didn't want to spend a lot for a hotel for a night. There were places to eat within walking distance and we had a comfortable bed and quiet night for about half what most of the places cost in the area. Yes, there is laminate flooring, the rooms were updated, and there were NO BUGS, even in the stinky room-which we got moved out of before we moved in.

Room Tip: Unless you are traveling with pets, ask for a room on the right hand side as you face the office, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Excellent job done on this property! Would never have considered a Red Roof otherwise, but the rooms are fresh and clean (love the laminate floor, hotel carpeting being the worst and smelliest thing at most properties). Mattress was very comfortable and way above those at similar quality motels. Ditto for bedding, though only two smallish pillows per bed (so hard to prop yourself up to read). Rooms not huge, but on par with similar chains, and adequate. Must be an older building, as the hotel appeared sold out, but we heard, literally, no noise from rooms on either side. A/C is the usual individually controlled unit common to most motels, and does make a blowing noise, which helps block other noise. The unit in our room appeared to be almost brand new, and was pretty quiet, so that must have been part of the remodel. No amenities, unless you consider the in-room safe (for which they will charge), but at this price point (AAA rate of around 70.00) at almost the highest season, I didn't really need any. Coffee in the lobby if you need it, plus can walk to Hardee's and Dunkin Donuts in about 60 seconds, Cracker Barrel might take you 2 minutes. Very friendly and professional staff. Nice dog-walk area with trash can and bags (my only complaint would be the number of people who let their dogs crap elsewhere and didn't even pick it up...). Area seemed safe and well-lit, and was just off the interstate. About 15 minutes from downtown Asheville. Absolutely no evidence of the "bedbugs" mentioned by one reviewer (and yes, of course, I looked!). Hate to say it, but that can be a problem in even 4-star hotels, and is a room by room thing, so I wouldn't let that discourage anyone from staying here. As with all hotel rooms, you should check the room/mattress etc for those before you unpack!

Room Tip: Three floors with only one staircase/elevator located in the center of the building (no staircase on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sati09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
10.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
WoodSpring Suites Asheville
#47 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#28 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
10.0 mi away
Days Inn Biltmore East
Days Inn Biltmore East
#34 of 63 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Asheville West

Property: Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Address: 16 Crowell Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1105
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#14 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Asheville West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing