We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Large comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Rooms were large, comfortable, and roomy. Bed was very comfortable, although a little soft for my taste. The view was nice but not the mountain view which were more expensive. Hotel itself was very impressive. Check in was fast and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,957
    1,133
    601
    292
    110
See reviews for
1,189
2,875
139
1,145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

For the past 10 years, I have stayed at the Grove Park Inn for the Arts & Crafts Conference in February. I've seen the Inn have its ups and downs. This past year, things have went completely downhill. At my recommendation, I brought my partner, mother, and sister here in early November. The experience was dreadful. The front desk staff was rude at check-in. The room types I specified when making the reservation were not honored. My partner and I requested a king sized bed and instead were placed in a room with two smaller beds. When I mentioned the term "partner" the reservationist said, "business partner" and I said, "No, life partner." I truly believe the management here discriminates against the LGBT community.

Food in the restaurants has went up in prices and decreased in quality considerably. Both of our rooms were dusty. Tiles were broken in my mother's room. The bedding was worn out and pillows were awful. The spa - which I usually consider exceptional - was awful. It was dirty and my massage therapist even complained to me about how bad the management was ruining the hotel.

This place has gone to hell. I hope Omni moves on. They do not know how to honor this wonderful Inn and I hope their discriminatory management teams fails.

I will not return and do not plan to attend the Arts and Crafts Conference as long as this is an Omni property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
First off, we would like to thank you for being a guest of our over the last decade and a long-time supporter of the Arts & Crafts Conference. We were very alarmed to hear of the encounter you described and upon further investigation have determined that the mistake made at the Front Desk was just that, an honest mistake. For the record, we ourselves are a diverse property that welcomes everyone and are extremely sorry that you felt uncomfortable as it was most certainly unintended.

We also want to apologize for falling short of your expectations in other areas and have disseminated your comments amongst the appropriate management to take action regarding your concerns.

Since The Grove Park Inn joined the Omni Family, we are seeing the highest of guest service scores and hearing more and more positive feedback. In addition to their commitment to guest satisfaction, Omni has an outstanding record of honoring and maintaining historic properties and we couldn't be happier to have them as our proprietor.

Once again, we apologize for the miscommunication that took place and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I've been staying at the Grove Park Inn for many years, on business and for pleasure. But when I checked in, the clerk asked "Is this your first stay?" My history with this hotel has been lost in the transition to Omni. The Grove Park Inn always had such a spirit and history and staff that knew which customers had been here many times. Omni has put their imprint on this property and taken away the old (in a positive sense)) nature of this inn blending into the mountainside. Prices are high on everything, so that Omni stockholders will get a good return. The traditional and homey Grove Park service has been replaced by the sanitized Omni service to standardize this as just another Omni hotel. Fortunately some of the shops that sell North Carolina arts and crafts remain, probably due to contracts with the original Grove family. The brand of the Grove Park Inn should not be so blatantly overshadowed by the brand of Omni hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Emerson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We appreciate you for being a long time supporter of ours and taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We apologize for the disconnect you encountered upon your check-in and specifically not being able to recall your status or stay history. We are in the middle of transitioning our reservation system and hope to have this process completed very soon. We do thank you for all of your observations and have addressed your comments internally with our staff and will take measures to make the transition more seamless. We hope you will continue to visit us and promise that your experiences here will only get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The staff goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome. The Grove Park Inn is a magical place... the history, the views, the quality of the accommodations and the impeccable service... all make for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank vlsmds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We came for the National Gingerbread House Competition and we had the perfect experience. Everybody on staff was just super friendly and helpful and went the extra mile. The hotel itself and all the decorations are tasteful and beautiful. Wherever you go, you find something interesting to explore.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Beautiful location, public spaces very nice, great staff but the noise level in the sleeping room was such that I would not stay at the hotel again. The bed and pillows were comfortable but there was a service corridor above my ceiling and the noise was all night long and loud. Didn't get a wink of sleep! Too bad as the hotel has so many great attributes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are extremely sorry that you encountered a hiccup during your stay which you believe will cause you not to return. We have addressed this issue with our staff and can assure you that measures are being taken to prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to alert us of this situation and we hope you will reconsider coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Grove Park Inn is truly a place to visit or stay when you're in Asheville. If you have a chance to go to a conference at the Inn, don't miss it. The conference amenities are excellent (Guest WiFi, not so much, though), and the food is outstanding. The best Caesar salad ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
4.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,199 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.9 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
743 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#6 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing