We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It is a wonderful place to spend the weekend. You don't even have to leave the property. There's restaurants, shopping. The view is great. The staff are always so helpful and pamper you. The spa is great. It is an experience you don't want to miss!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank 362sherriej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,731 - 5,737 of 6,822 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

There is something alluring about these grand old dames of a bygone era.
Something pretty much none of us have an inkling about. Perhaps if we're in our 70's or 80's + we might recall the white gloved, well dressed era of traveling when these places catered to the ladies and gentlemen of the day.
Or perhaps if we spent our growing years in cities like New York, Chicago, San Francisco, or other great old towns, but alas, most of us grew up in one form or another of suburbia. That leaves us with an image of old school charm and elegance which is an illusion but an illusion which can be easily satisfied.
Such is the case with the Grove Park Inn.
There is nothing inherently wrong with the hotel, everyone was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, but so was the staff at the Marriott.
The food was good, the shops cater to the casual business traveler, pretty much what we have come to expect from a business hotel these days.
Omni, or any modern corporate hotel chain, is to be commended for the care and feeding of an old, classic, genteel, hotel.
And perhaps that's where the problems start.
As one is escorted to the old, still staffed, elevator by the fireplace for that "wonderful nostalgic ride, reminding us all of a bygone era", you are met with a pithy quote stenciled on the rocks outside the elevator doors. After noting this "artwork" one becomes aware this is an ongoing theme throughout the hotel, including on the cheesy mirror frame in your bathroom.
Further inspection of your room notes an effort to keep the character of the 1920's and 1930's within the rooms and furnishings (as well as the common areas) and, all-in-all, they do an adequate job. Unfortunately, when updates are required, in many cases it appears the first and last stop was Pottery Barn or Restoration Hardware.
The hotel is doing its' best to stay true to it's craftsman roots with furnishings in the style of Stickley and Roycroft. Alas, the care and feeding of such woodwork is time consuming and expensive. It appears the staff lacks the training, time, materials or ability to regularly maintain the furnishings or the management has deemed it not necessary.
Which brings us the primary issue. This, like so many other of these old grand hotels, is old and fragile. The effort and money required to keep up the standards must be staggering. One would think Omni knew what they were getting into, however one does not have to look far to see desperately needed maintenance being ignored.
We had a nice west facing room on the 6th floor. Nice view from the original windows.Original mechanisms and hinges...great for an afternoon, post storm, fresh air...opps...when opening the window, one notices the extremely poor condition of the window from, the sill and all wood portions of the assembly. This is an original part, facing west...to keep it intact requires constant attention.
Omni has not doe this. One then wonders what else has been left to rot away.
Down in the lobby the question is answered. The beautiful wood bar is a masterpiece....until one notes the large (about 10-12 feet) section that has been allowed to warp so badly the bartenders cannot place any thing on it for fear of it sliding off. Evidence of attempts at cheap fixes were obvious and more than a bit startling. This wasn't a Holiday Inn, it was the Grove Park...this was inexcusable.
Examination of the condition of the hotel left us with the impression Omni is trying to get by on the cheap.
The room coffee and wi-fi was nice, until you note they are charging you $25 p. day for the privilege, but that sort of thing is not uncommon in upscale hotels, but the superficiality of the place was greatly disappointing. Rather than proper maintenance of the hotel and the furnishings, we see stenciled quotes of a "bygone era" on the walls and furniture and a "vintage" hotel coach in the lobby.....like an amusement park.
And perhaps this is what we want.
I started this ramble with a word about the allure of the bygone era...nostalgia is as good a word as any. Unfortunately, we have very little solid memories of that era except from movies or advertising. Say "jackets and ties or dresses and gloves for dinner" to the modern American traveler, and they'll look at you like you have two heads, yet this is the era the GPI and places like it flourished.
One can get a sense of it at the GPI, just don't look to close and don't except the gentle formality and grace of the "old hotel".
If the visitor enjoys living their life though catalogs and television, the place will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to fill out such a detailed account of your overall impression of our historic property. We were very disappointed to learn that you felt that we are not maintaining the resort properly. We spare no expense when it comes to ensuring that we preserve the history while keeping our amenities up to par with our travelers expectations. We appreciate you pointing out certain areas that you felt needed attention and we can ensure you that these areas are being carefully monitored and discussed internally. We are glad that you appreciated the "old world" ambiance that we embrace and hope you will think about coming back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We came with great expectations based on prior experiences. Left feeling severely underwhelmed. overpriced for the service and quality we experienced. Ate at the Sunset Terrace and food was not good, service was worse.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We appreciate you choosing to be our guest once again and taking the time to let us know the areas where you felt we can improve. We are very sorry for not meeting the expectations you have developed from prior experiences. We will continue to work on the areas you referenced and hope you will give us another chance next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Grove Park Inn during our vacation and were impressed with everything about the resort. The hotel is incredible and every staff member we interacted with went out of their way to make us feel welcome. This is one of the best resorts we have visited and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Traci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Omni Grove Park Inn is back on top! The new ownership and mangagement by Omni has turned this great detination hotel around. One of the finest destination / resort hotels in the east and certainly the finest in the South east! This is not the least expensive stay in Asheville but the quality of the facilities, excellent dining, the friendliness of the staff, not to mention the views and history make The Omni Grove Park a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The views from GPI are lovely. The Spa is superb. The Sunset Terrace restaurant is fine. The rooms are not worth the price you pay. They need to be updated badly, and are nowhere what you would expect for a high end hotel (or high end hotel prices). We had a business meeting here, and got the use of two suites, and those were not particularly impressive, either. One of them didn't have a locking bathroom door, just a sliding door with no latch--not so hot for a party with coworkers! The valet parking is apparently not covered, since my car came back covered in pollen and pine needles. I could have parked myself in a covered garage for $5 less per day. I would use the spa again in a heartbeat, but if I choose another high end hotel in Asheville, it will likely be the Biltmore.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and filling out a review for us to learn about your experience. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our accommodations and appreciate your feedback about the ways they can be improved. We are glad that you enjoyed the spa and your meal on the Sunset Terrace. We hope you will have another chance to use our spa and will possibly consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a wonderful old inn that holds its historic charm even though it has been renovated and updated. As a history buff, I was thrilled to be able to use the original elevator - manned by staff in 1920's uniforms, and to find an original oak desk in my room. It is obvious the management is proud of the history as many historical items and photographs are prominently displayed throughout the building. My room was very large, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom immaculate. First rate accommodation. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I stayed there as part of a conference, so I didn't have spare time to spend at the spa or recreational facilities, though I peeked at the spa and wished I'd brought my swim suit. The conference food was terrific - flavorful, served hot and not overdone. So much better than usual business meeting fare. For snacks, "The Marketplace" offered sandwiches, salads, cookies, muffins, etc. which was very welcome. I will say that the wall between my room and the next was very thin and I could hear every phone call the other occupant made, as well as his TV in the middle of the night, which was very annoying. Also, the resort is a far distance from town and other businesses, so, unless you have a car, you are a captive audience. Of course, if you are looking for a quiet yet upscale place to stay, the Grove Park Inn has so much to offer, being a bit secluded might be just the ticket.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank SophiesMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
3.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,240 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.8 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
306 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Address: 290 Macon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#7 Family Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £144 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing