We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Chance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Stanley, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at the Grove Park Inn on the Club level and our stay was superb with high quality service and value. We will make sure to return in the future. The renovations that were done were just fantastick and brought the Inn up to date with the more modern facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,577
    1,057
    551
    267
    96
See reviews for
1,078
2,624
124
1,042
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for four days last week. My wife was attending a conference and I was along to check out the local area and the Great Smokey Mountain National Park (within driving distance). I had quite a bit of time to explore the hotel and I really rather like it. The main building is extremely interesting architecturally both inside and out. Its location on top of a hill offers a wonderful view over to the Smokey Mountains. Sitting with dinner or drinks looking at that view was extremely relaxing. We were fortunate enough to have rooms in the historic building itself and they were decorated in an arts and craft style. All very nice. The service was continually first rate - infact it was the thing that stood out to me the most. The food was good and though I did not go, my wife loved the spa.

Negatives? Well, I don't really like the two wings that they have added to the original old hotel. I'm not keen on how they look externally and then internally they almost make the place too huge from one end to the other.

Stay in the historic center, enjoy its facilities and view and imagine that that is all there is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PADILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We selected the mountain view, upper floor, in the Vanderbilt Wing. From what we were advised the rooms are a bit larger, newer, and well appointed. They were a bit modern for a historic inn, but not a minus.
A note on parking. Depending on your length of stay and attraction plans, you have the choice of self parking or valet. Valet is very convenient, and the attendants are very efficient. If you like easy access to your car chose the self parking. We always seem to leave something in the car we need later. If you are staying in the Vanderbilt Wing the garage is attached. The big plus is the garage floors correspond to your room floor. Very easy access to your car.
We can't say enough about the restaurants. Saturday night is the Prime Rib Buffet. I'm not going to try to describe it. You just have to experience it in person. The morning buffet is a work of art. Nothing left to your imagination. If you choose the Sunset Terrace for dinner you must try the scallops. Perfectly seared, tender, and no grit. Depending on the time of day, you should choose your table well. It does face West, hence the name, and the sun can be an issue. Everyone wants the outside table for the view. The second row in has the same view with far less sun to deal with. You can also pick the far right or far left for great seating.
The hallways are lined with photographs and pictures of the famous people who have stayed at the Inn. It's like a walk thru history.
Overall a wonderful experience. Looking at such beautiful fairways almost makes me want to take up golf again. Or maybe not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kissyourdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Grove Park Inn, very clean, comfortable, lots of things to do without leaving. Good accommodations. Edison restaurant was excellent. The only negatives were the door staff was less than helpful when I told them I was self parking as far as giving me directions to the self park area. The reservations person on the phone was not friendly. Other than that it was a great place to stay and a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for being a guest of ours and letting us know some areas where you thought we could improve. We are sorry for the trouble you encountered while trying to self park as well as the encounter you had while making your reservation. We have passed along your feedback to the respective management and we will look into ways we can enhance these areas. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience and hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at the Grove Park Inn. We wanted someplace special for our 40th wedding anniversary and it was exactly what we were looking for. We enjoyed our couples massage...just note that if you are staying for just one night and are planning to have dinner at the Inn, plan your massage and time at the spa well before check-in at 4pm. Otherwise you will not have time to fully enjoy all the amenities of the spa. We had dinner at the Sunset Terrace and when we made our reservations I let the staff know it was our anniversary. We had a great table at the edge of the dining room with the perfect view of the mountains. We also requested to stay in the Main Building with the older rooms. Our room had a king bed (without mountain view) and it was ample (I believe, though, that some rooms might be quite small). The bathroom was VERY small and cramped, but we wanted to be in the older section and so we were fine with it. If you want to relax in a lovely place with friendly accommodating staff (good enough for presidents) and are prepared to pay, then I highly recommend the Grove Park Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MissyJosKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us over your 40th Wedding Anniversary. Seeing how much you enjoyed your experience was very rewarding for us. We are glad you had a chance to enjoy dinner on the Sunset Terrace, some time at our spa and really made the most out of your stay with us. Thank you for your support and we will look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Hotel is beautiful. Great amenities: pool, golf, spa, fitness, piano bar, restaurants. Make sure to stay on the Vanderbilt tower (recently updated). Only complaint is that the internet is very slow.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank InesOtoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was here for a mini college reunion. The resort is very nice with a great lobby, restaurant and bar area. The setting is beautiful and the hotel staff is great. The rooms are nothing special, very standard which was a little disappointing considering the cost but they were clean and comfortable. My qualm is with the spa. We chose not to visit the spa because the prices were laughable. I travel pretty extensively and live in downtown Chicago. I have never seen spa prices so out of whack. An $80 minute massage for $279? You have to be kidding. Since we picked this property because of it's reputation as a spa, this was quite disappointing. We asked if he could use the pool or other spa facilities. I expected to pay something to do so but a day pass is $90 and we were told that we should get to the spa before 9am to ensure there would be space for us. Again, ridiculous especially since we went down to look at the spa at 11am and it was nearly empty.

Room Tip: Don't go here for the spa unless you have money to burn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to send your comments. We were very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay but are sorry that you perceived our spa as overpriced. Included in the price our our massages is access to the entire spa facilities all day, regardless of what time your treatment is. The Spa offers 43,000 square feet of amenity space that includes therapeutic massage waterfalls, hot/cold plunge pools, eucalyptus steam rooms, salt-water pools that play music underwater, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, zen gardens and more! We were recently ranked by Conde Nast as one of the top spas in the U.S. and we are certain that if you took the chance to try it out you would not be disappointed. We do hope you will consider returning someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing