We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and historic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Whiteville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent and historic”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is my fourth time staying at the grove park and the first since it became part of the omni chain. I see no negative changes as a result of the new management. There remains a commitment to quality service and the traditions that made this spa and resort one of the top in the world. I recommend a day pass to enjoy the pools in the spa. Also, dinner at sunset on the terrace (get a reservation). My complaints are the ridiculous charges for parking ($15 a day currently) and the fact that they charge for internet. Additionally, you won't find free items like a continental breakfast here. However, The rooms are more than adequate and very quiet. Housekeeping is outstanding. The golf course is lovely and there are many many spots to sit and relax while reflecting on the beauty of god's creation. The group conference areas are excellent and on the campus are art exhibits, a million dollar antique clock, an antique car museum and a top notch sports complex that are fee to visitors. Also, the GPI is a stop on the gray line trolley tour which I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you have room preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,878
    1,114
    585
    287
    104
See reviews for
1,174
2,815
134
1,117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The quality of this hotel, especially the spa, is amazing. It is a great weekend getaway from the Atlanta area. The only negative part of our experience as that upon arrival we upgraded our room to the club level. I would definitely not recommend this. While the room was wonderful, the lounge has the worst hours I have ever seen. They are only open for breakfast and a cocktail hour from 5pm to 7:30pm. That is it! For $1000.00 per night it was definitely not worth the upgrade.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 239danan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for being our guest and forwarding your comments to us through TripAdvisor. We are grateful for your comments towards our hotel and The Spa and were surprised to learn you were disappointed with the amenities on the Club Floor. Besides the largest rooms and best views on property, our Club Floor guests enjoy exclusive amenities including a personal concierge in the lounge that is available throughout the entire day, unlimited access to The Spa, complimentary valet parking, and as you mentioned exclusive breakfast, snacks throughout the day and cocktails/hors d' oeuvres each evening. We are sorry you did not feel the upgrade was worth it but hope you will still choose to return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I so wanted to love this hotel but I didn't. I would give it 3.5 stars because it is better than average. We spent extra for the Panorama corner room and the view is amazing. Unfortunately the room was not. For $379 a night, I hope the Omni is saving money for a renovation. We were there with 6 other couples for a friend's 50th birthday. One night, 5 of us shared some wine in one of our rooms around midnight, and with normal conversation, had security knocking on the door because we were too loud. The breakfast buffet is very good and again, the view is amazing. My suggestion, stay somewhere else and go to the Grove Park for breakfast. You will get the same feeling walking through the amazing lobby and you won't be disappointed with the room.

Room Tip: The panorama room did have an amazing view, but ask for a higher floor. Otherwise golfers will see i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfmajors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. While we were happy to read how you felt the view was amazing, we want to apologize for the less than satisfactory impression you had for your room. With the large variety of room configurations that our resort can offer, we are confident that you will have an amazing stay should you choose to return. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If there's one word to best describe the Grove Park Inn, it is heavenly. What a beautiful hotel, a little slice of heaven, with the best views of the Blue Ridge mountains around. The restaurants are incredible, especially Sunset Terrace. Didn't get to try Edison, but I'm sure I'd have been just as impressed. Is it possible to move here permanently? I can wash the occasional dish to offset my costs.

Also, the Centennial Ale was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ger_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the Ritz and Four Seasons with Southern charm and grace at a fraction of the cost. Do yourself a favor and spend the weekend. You wont want to leave the property. Spacious comfy rooms, 4 terrific restaurants, spa, nature trails, pool and the friendliest staff we've ever encountered. and million dollar views like youre in Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRADENTON,FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had an excellent time at the Grove Park Inn. With the exception of a mix up at the Spa and feeling like the experience was somewhat of a cattle call, not very relaxing. The rest of our stay was great, including food,the golf course, sports complex, the room and the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I received a $1,000 gift certificate to spend the weekend at Grove Park Inn. The staff were very helpful because you are constantly tipping someone to help with something. Our room in the Vanderbilt Wing was nice. They will win the prize for the most UNCOMFORTABLE beds and pillows I have ever slept on in a hotel. I could have slept in the parking lot and had a better night's sleep. We were glad to go home so that we could get some rest. The tile in the glass shower was molded and the floor in the entrance of the room was dirty. There was also hair on the bathroom counter for someone else! We used the spa facilities and it was nice, but the prices were outrageous. My husband and I are glad we went, but we will never return. We stayed from Friday evening to Sunday morning and our bill was over $1,600.00. I believe that I could have done better at a Comfort Suites in Southport, NC. Sorry but this hotel is VERY overrated.

Helpful?
3 Thank Kelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
4.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,181 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.8 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing