We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest place I will never go back to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Grove Park Inn is a special place. Beautiful setting, great location and all the charm you could imagine from an old resort hotel. It's a real shame the Omni has ruined it, and jacked up the rates. The pictures you see on the website are accurate, but what you can't see is the thousands of other guests and staff members running around trying to avoid them. You can't see the dirt and dust in the corners of the rooms, the three day old wraps in the Spa Cafe, or the front desk person texting her family while you stand in line waiting to check in. It's extremely clear that this place has been turned into a cash machine for Omni as they draw in people from all over the East coast to enjoy their hard spent dollars, only to leave them disappointed and vowing never to return. They don't care - they will milk it until the reputation fails them, then they will sell it or "reinvent" themselves later. The nicest place I will never go back to. For the money, there are so many better options in the Southeast. Go elsewhere to spend your hard earned dollars and your time away with family. If you really want to see the Grand Old Grove Park, just go there for a drink or dinner and sit on the front deck. You will have seen all there is to see.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to post your review. We are sorry that you did not feel the experience was up to the expectation you had set and apologize for the issues that you relayed. We were very disappointed to learn of the issues pertaining to the overall cleanliness, restaurants and helpfulness of our staff. As you can see from the vast majority of our reviews, these instances are far below our standards. We have passed along your comments to the respective management and we will take action to ensure these instances are eliminated at once. We hope you will re-consider coming back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,094 - 5,100 of 6,373 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's been a couple of years since we stayed at the Grove Park Inn and while we've always enjoyed our stays we always wondered how good it could be with professional management. Now we know. Previously unused "dead" space is not put to fantastic use as dining and seating areas. A fiasco of a check in process has been replaced with an efficient and friendly process. A dark "great hall" has had light added to it. Ridiculously uncomfortable seating in the Great Hall has been replaced with comfortable seating. Limited dining options for families has been corrected. Dated rooms have been upgraded. In short, just about everything that could have been improved has been, and it's gone from a 4 star to a 6 star resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank franklyspeaking22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A wonderful week-end celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversay. The friendliness of the staff made our stay most enjoyable. The scenic views from the terraces, to the history of the hotel....a wonderful destination for a special occasion. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over such a monumental occasion! We loved hearing that you enjoyed your stay and our staff helped make the occasion memorable. Happy 50th! We hope to have you again next time you have a chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you want to stay in a beautiful hotel with great amenities and great service be sure to check out the Omni Grove Park Inn. The rooms are spacious, and many have a beautiful view of Asheville. The several restaurants offer a variety of great food, as well as market area for a quick sandwich or latte. The architecture of the hotel is amazing so you'll enjoy checking out the hotel lobby, the original elevator located in the rock of the massive fireplace, and the terraces behind the hotel overlooking Asheville. This is beautiful.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I am a old Grove Park Customer. I have stayed there since the Sammons owned it. It is not near as good now as then but over all I still love the place. It the history,and the Building that draw me back. Not the Corprate world of the OMNI.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've stayed in some of the nicest and most historic places in the US and GPI is my favorite. I can't wait to come back. My family and I stayed at GPI for three nights earlier this month.

It was my wife, myself, and our four children (2 months, 2, 4, and 7). The room comfortably held us all with great views, too! The restaurants were all excellent and the fitness center was very, very kid friendly.

The parking was easy and everything was stroller accessible.

Everything about the GPI is charming. All of the outdoor spaces entice you to lose your mornings and afternoons completely hanging out and taking in the view.

Also, the staff is incredible - the best around, no doubt about it.

I can't wait to schedule a time where my wife and I can come back without the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DagnyTaggert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Grove Park M, Manager at The Omni Grove Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for the wonderful compliments you have provided. We loved reading how much you and your family enjoyed the resort and all of the amenities and we are humbled that you feel that we are one of the nicest and most historic places in the US. We really appreciate the kind words and hope we can welcome you back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Grove Park Inn is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are very clean. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The fitness center are top-notch. The views of the mountain are so surreal. The Grove Park Inn is my preferred hotel when in Asheville. You must go visit the Biltmore Estate when you visit Asheville.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
4.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 66 in Asheville
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.8 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Address: 290 Macon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £188 - £751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Park Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing