We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but a little disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
WEIRTON
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful but a little disappointing!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I must begin by saying this historic hotel is beautiful and is truly first class. We have stayed there numerous times and always enjoy it. Nestled in the beautiful mountains it is a restful and luxurious retreat. Our room was spacious, clean and all of the facilities offered are lovely. The restaurants are all excellent and the entertainment in the Great Hall was enjoyable.

The spa is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Walking into it, one feels as if they are entering a subterranean world. Men and women each have steam, sauna and inhalation rooms as well as hot tubs and cold plunges. In the larger co-Ed section,there are two pools with hot tubs on either side with waterfalls beating down, giving a feeling of a massage as it hits ones shoulders and back! Heavenly! There is also an outside pool with a spa menu for dining.

Now for the negative and the reason for a 4 instead of 5 rating. My husband and I booked spa treatments two weeks prior to our visit there. Then at 9:00 p.m. the night before our treatments, he received a call from the spa canceling his treatment. They asked if he would like a massage instead of his scheduled Gentlemen's foot treatment and he declined as he doesn't like massages. They gave him a day pass in lieu of his treatment. Had we cancelled in this time frame, we would have been charged the entire amount but they cancelled and he got a free day pass! Not right. My husband told the desk clerk in the spa he felt this wasn't right and they said there was nothing they could do but would have manager get in touch. The Manager did phone that evening and asked what we wanted! What we wanted was the treatment we booked or a sincere apology for the cancellation. A glass of wine or lunch or something to make up would have been a nice, classy thing to do but we certainly were not going to ask for something. It is hard to imagine a top rated spa of that size would find it necessary to cancel any treatment when there are a number of therapists on staff! Certainly there was more than one person trained to do his specific treatment and he could have easily switched the time if that had been an option. We were disappointed that they did not handle this in a better manner and felt the Manager fell short in his Guest Relations.
This is an expensive place and when one pays for good service, it is not unreasonable to expect good service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatiedooWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,657
    1,075
    562
    273
    99
See reviews for
1,101
2,682
124
1,068
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Splurge on room with a view - you will not be disappointed. Great mountain retreat - spa is a must. Food is excellent - massive breakfast buffet, but dinner on the Sunset Terrace is classic chophouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I attended a conference here and was very pleased with the accommodations. I had a room in the Vanderbilt wing which was much larger than expected. The front desk staff ensured I was comfortable since I had asked for a quiet room. Everything here is first class if at times a bit rustic. The facility is large and the grounds appear to go on forever. Beautiful mountain and forest views. Lots of dining and drinking and entertainment options.
I'd like to come back on my own time and dime.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FJAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First, I want to thank their wonderful front manager (Dave) for making our trip wonderful. We paid several hundred dollars for one night stay to a (no view room) but two double beds.

Second, Dave made our trip great due to the price we were paying and after a mid-night check in a brunch. The brunch is really extravagant. It is really worth a try. You ought to stay in a hotel for 2 nights to enjoy all the amenities.

Third, enjoy sometime in the lobby bar and go in the winter to enjoy the enormous fireplace (I think it is over 10 feet long).

Lastly, the pool has amazing views and you need at least a day at the premises to enjoy the 100 year old history. 2014 they will be having their century party and I look forward to going back to the hotel for it.

Room Tip: We had a double bed large room in their newer side which is connected to the main hotel. I would ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwchass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is our second stay at GPI, last time we stayed at historic room. This time, we stayed at Vanderbilt Wing to enjoy the renovated room.
We had an issue when we checked in the hotel and had to change the room, but the staff made their effort and we appreciated that.

The room was renovated, but whoever designed the room needed to pay more attention for details.
Bathroom;
Shower is nice and VERY spacious. But the bathroom itself is VERY SMALL, not enough room to putting up bath towels, dirty/clean clothes, not enough space on countertop to spread any of your own cosmetics. The designer must be 7' tall, because you need very long arms to reach the toilet paper. The distance between the bedroom and the Bathroom is ridiculously far.

Bedroom, Dining room and Living room;
Very Spacious, but not well designed at all. The closet is away from bedroom, actually it is located in living room.
There is only one mirror (tall one) in the living/dining room area, and you cannot use hair dryer in the front of the mirror because electric outlet is located far side wall. I tried to have makeup in the room while my husband took shower, but there is no other mirrors near the table. There are PLENTY of room in the junior suites!
The bedroom has no sufficient lighting to find your clothes in the dresser.
The reading light is way to short. It shines on the night stand but not on your book. You have to lean against the night stand somehow.

The drapery is nice design. However, it was not easy to open/close, because of the length of the drapery or the iron rod? I do not know. I gave up to close up at night.

The greatest thing about this hotel is the view.

Overall, the weather was wonderful and we had a good stay.

Room Tip: The Murphy bed in Junior suites is more like a queen size roll-away bed to us. If you prefer real be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I came here for a conference, it is a nice old hotel. There is an old part of the hotel that is reportedly haunted, let that guide your preference for rooms! The conference rooms were nice and modernized. The grounds are great for walking around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is amazing-wonderful room, excellent service, spot-on amenities-this was my third visit in as many years & I will definitely be back, again & again. I love Asheville & there is a lot to do both at Grove Park and in Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Glenna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Property: The Omni Grove Park Inn
Address: 290 Macon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#8 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Spa
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing