We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled rotten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Omni Grove Park Inn
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I loved the natural beauty surrounding this hotel, the great views out of every window, the history of the hotel, service and room. It was my last night of vacation and so I paid for an upgraded room that included a huge jacuzzi. After a not-so-great experience at another hotel, my last night of vacation was redeemed at this hotel due to the great staff and beautiful hotel. I saw a picture outside of my room of John Burroughs and the quote stated "I go to nature to be soothed and healed." and this stay was exactly what I needed. This hotel exemplifies great service at a great location.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the top floors/high floor and request a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorthwhileWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,472 - 5,478 of 6,935 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have heard so much about the Grove Park Inn and were excited to stay at this hotel.
Rooms: We were in a recently upgraded room. The room was large, clean and had all the amenities. There was enough place to relax and not feel crowded in. The newly renovated bathroom was wonderful, modern in feel, and contrasted nicely with the old world charm of the hotel. The beds are new and wonderful to sleep on.
Service: The service is average at best, going from excellent to terrible. Check-in is always a nightmare and the staff on the front desk are just plain rude. This is your first real interaction after you are wowed by the impressive building, and your image is shattered. Some of other staff including specifically the concierge desk, house cleaning and support staff are outstanding. Most of the staff at the bar and restaurants are overworked and seem forever harried.
The hotel is spread out, the pools separate, the sports complex a short walk, and multiple places to eat casually.
Food: We choose not to eat at this hotel.
Ambiance: Arriving at the hotel is spectacular, entering the lobby and looking out through the lobby is quite spectacular. It is wonderful to sit outside, with a drink in the evening, or at a meal, and soak in the view! The old world charm of the large lobby with the massive fireplaces, contrasts nicely with the modern wings and rooms.
Overall, a spectacular hotel with service issues that need to be resolved.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Khaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a piece of history. Over 100 years old and built out of stones, this is truly a grand historic hotel. The lobby is magnificent. The huge stone fireplaces on both ends hide the historic elevators inside of them that you use to get to the upper floors of the historic section of the hotel. Staffed by interesting elevator operators, it is unlike any experience I have had. My room was in the historic section looking out over the patio with a fantastic view of the blue mountain range. I opened my larger wood windows and was treated to the lovely sound of the huge waterfall which lulled me to sleep each night. I spent the afternoon in their amazing spa. Unable to get an appointment for a treatment (although I was told I was first on the waiting list and that they would call me only to find out that others that were there for the same meeting I was there for were able to walk in and get an appointment that same day) I opted for the day pass. I am so glad I did. What an amazing relaxing experience. While I loved staying in the historic section of the hotel, others attending our conference did not and had tales to tell about erie encounters they had had with unexplainable things happening. They opted to move to the new section. I didn't have those experiences and enjoyed the historic ambiance and character and views from my room. This is truly a magnificent property and a very special place. What a treat - and the spa was simply amazing.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank 103lisas103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have been fortunate enough to stay here on several occasions - mostly for the A&C Conference each February. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful.This 1913 hotel is beautiful and has been nicely maintained. In the past I have stayed in the Vanderbilt wing and in the original building. I prefer the Vanderbilt Wing only due to the size of the rooms, I would prefer to see that all the rooms be furnished in the A&C style, but that is due to my interest in that aesthetic. The main hall has wonderful fireplaces and some cozy seating, although some of the newer furnishings seem to be completely out of place with the environment. The antiques are exquisite. The views are wonderful from the terraces, everyone should find the time to sit back and enjoy them, I have always enjoyed dinner on the Sunset Terrace. Breakfast is always wonderful although very expensive. I agree with some reviewers that it would be very helpful to have a shuttle run to Asheville on a regular basis, not everyone arrives with a car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice historic hotel with what we were told was a great spa..we could not get any services..were told they were booked out for 2 weeks..never told this on front end..old outdated musty rooms....no room service on one day, decided to check out early..has a nice gym, but not connected

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We took a long weekend and spent every moment at the hotel. We enjoyed a great breakfast buffet and began our day at the spa. The staff and service were wonderful. I highly recommend getting a massage and enjoy the spa area for the entire day. There is no better way to relax!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It was our 40th Anniversary so we splurged on a night at the Grove Park. The hotel staff was wonderful and the food was good. The cost was out of sight. Plus at dinner time the elevator attandant took an hour break so that meant we had to walk down the stairway with bad knees and it ruined our evening. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank 73janec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
3.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
4.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#27 of 68 in Asheville
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.8 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Asheville
318 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Grove Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Grove Park Inn

Address: 290 Macon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804-3711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#6 Business Hotel in Asheville
#6 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Family Hotel in Asheville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £155 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni Grove Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni Grove Park Inn, located in Asheville, N.C., Is one of the country's most celebrated resorts. Noted for its understated elegance and southern charm, ten U.S. Presidents and countless luminaries from the worlds of art, entertainment, sports and politics have stayed at this one-of-a-kind hotel. Offering sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, innovative and locally sourced restaurants, a Donald Ross designed golf course, an expansive tennis and fitness center, an award winning spa and spacious convention facilities. This AAA Four Diamond Property is listed on Fodor's "Top 10 Luxury Spa Resorts" and Travel + Leisure's rankings of "Top Spa Resorts" in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Omni Grove Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grove Inn Asheville Nc
Park Inn Grove
Grove Park Hotel
Grove Park Inn Resort Spa
Grove Park Spa
Grove Asheville North Carolina
Grovepark Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing