We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Honeymoon Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1900 Inn on Montford
Ranked #19 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Honeymoon Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff were great to my wife and I. They were very accommodating and conscious of my wife's food allergies when preparing our meals. We stayed in the Fitzgerald room and really enjoyed the airbath tub. After getting in late after the wedding, they kindly offered to bring a light breakfast up to us the following morning. Their recommendations of local places to eat were spot-on.

Coming from a construction background, I was pleasantly surprised to see all the historic and architectural detail of the house and how well they took care of it. The house is beautiful and nicely decorated.

We would definitely like to make a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvianworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    30
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
651
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently spent two amazing nights at the 1900 Inn, accompanied by our two Labs. The inn couldn't have been more pet friendly, and the breakfasts were superb, as were the accommodations. The weather was atrocious for March 16,17, but we hardly noticed with the radiant heat in the floor, the gas fireplace, the steam shower, etc. We couldn't have asked for more! MJ and Bob, Beaufort, SC

Room Tip: If you have pets, choose the Rosetti Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed an impromptu get-away to the Inn in February. We stayed in the Rosetti room. It was a cold, snowy day so both the fireplace and the whirlpool were much appreciated amenities. The room was impeccably clean and luxurious and our hosts could not have been any nicer. Lynn gave us recommendations for dinner, and boy are we glad we followed her advice (we had a delicious dinner at Nine Mile.)

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the Rosetti room with its whirlpool, fireplace and steam shower with bod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAN212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I cannot say enough good things about the attentive staff at 1900 Inn on Montford. Lynn, Ron and Karen were all so detail-oriented and friendly, and we wanted for nothing during our honeymoon stay. The Cloisters carriage house is a real treat, from its luxuriously relaxing walk-in shower (as big as a small room!) to the enjoyable time spent roaming the house and with the proprietors themselves. We did not want to leave the room, and I personally enjoyed sitting by the two fireplaces with plenty of comfortable throw pillows. The breakfasts were good, albeit rich, and with us being vegetarians they made it easy not to worry about dietary concerns. Check-in and check-out were quick, the towels are fluffy not scratchy - always important!, they don't request that you eat your breakfast with other B&B guests like other places we've stayed; you have the option to eat in-room or in the house.

I just have no bad things to say. This trip to 1900 Inn on Montford was what a real vacation at a B&B should always be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lynn, Ron, and the full staff were all attentive, kind, and some of the most hospitable people we've ever met. The house is in great condition, and comes complete with very convenient private parking, a well-stocked refreshment bar, and the requisite wine service every evening. The live mountain music is a real treat on Saturday evenings (6-7pm). The Inn is a nice blend between easy access to downtown (~20 min. walk at a normal pace) and feeling like you're stepping away from it all when you go to sleep. The breakfast was very good, and is served amidst an engaging and lively discussion with the owners and the rest of the guests. (You certainly won't find a shortage of great stories and topics!) Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the O. Henry Room and the Rossetti Suite during our stay. Both were fantastic. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visited 1900 Inn on Montford for a weekend get-a-way with our dog. It was a great weekend but they seem very picky on how things are run at the Inn. Although this can be great, I think the guests should not feel this way. We were asked to wash our own dishes in our room and were told that room service would not come in with our dogs in the room. I felt this was unfair and with the price we paid, we should have had room service come in to at least make our beds and replace our towels.

The weekend music is wonderful and the property is absolutely beautiful and clean. The brownies were always warm and it was nice the main property was always open to "hang out" in.

Although they claim to be pet-friendly, they make you sign a policy that says your dog will not bark while visiting. Although my dog is well behaved and does not bark typically, when my dog is in a strange place, he tends to bark. I also have no control over my dog when I am not in the room. I felt they really did not want pets on the property which made us feel not as welcome as others. Most pet-friendly places allow the dogs at all locations on the property which was not the case here.

Overall it was a nice stay but we will more than likely not be returning due to the fact that we really did not feel welcome with our pets.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 416Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeme46, Owner at 1900 Inn on Montford, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are happy the reviewer had a "great" weekend and enjoyed both the brownies and the music.

We are sorry the reviewer was frustrated by the restrictions of our pet policy. To avoid disappointment in the future we will be posting the policy on our website. We thank the reviewer for calling this to our attention.

Our pet policy is designed to insure the comfort and safety of all our guests, that includes both two and four legged travelers. With respect for those guests who are not comfortable with dogs we provide a pet free atmosphere within the inn and on our porch. This seems a reasonable compromise to us.

Because all our pet friendly rooms open directly to the outside, we do not enter the room until requested. It would be an awful experience for dog, owner and innkeeper if puppy were to venture out unaccompanied. It is amazing how fast even the most lethargic of creatures can move when they are missing their owners or investigating a new environment. For this reason our pet policy reads, "Guests must contact the innkeeper to arrange for cleaning their room." Sorry if we did not make this clear. We include a copy of the pet policy in the room book to alleviate any misunderstandings.

As many of our guests prefer not to leave their dogs unattended, we deliver breakfast to the door at 9:30 a.m. It includes a special doggie treat, diet permitting. On the second morning we are most often greeted at the door by a wagging tail. At 11:00 we collect the trays, any used dishes and the housekeeping requests for the day. We do not expect our guest to wash their dishes, but we do provide Dawn, a dish cloth and dish towel for those that prefer to wash up their own doggy dishes.

Are we pet friendly? We think so. We have a special treat for each dog on arrival. Each room has a welcome basket which includes doggie towels, lighted leash for late night walks, the ever essential little bag, and a copy of Best Hikes with Dogs North Carolina. We do not restrict dogs based on breed or weight. And we do not charge a pet fee. We welcome all well behaved, well mannered dogs!

Lynn and Ron Carlson
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have tried several Asheville hotels and inns in the past. This is our new favorite by far. Not only was our "William Morris" room over-the-top luxurious (steam bath, whirlpool tub, fireplace, private patio), it was spotless, tastefully decorated, and truly comfortable. The Saturday evening social hour with local bluegrass musicians and generous pours of wine was a hoot. Afterwards, Ron gave us a lift downtown in their classic Rolls Royce, and we had an easy walk back to the inn from the Orange Peel. Breakfast was top-notch and so much fun to eat by our own fireplace while still in our robes.
I really need to add that Lynn is an absolute blast! After one stay at her inn, you will want to move to Asheville just to be her BFF. And if you ever decide to remodel your bathroom, you owe it to yourself to check out this inn first. Once you see how fabulous and inventive a bathroom can be, there is no going back to a standard tub and shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntTT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Inn on Montford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Inn on Montford

Property: 1900 Inn on Montford
Address: 296 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — 1900 Inn on Montford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and Romantic AAA Four-Diamond Inn with four large bedrooms and 1000 sq ft suite in main house and three secluded pet-friendly suites in Griffin Cottage with private, enclosed back gardens. King beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, steam baths, HDTV, personal refrigerators, and high-speed Internet access. Social hour each evening with live music Saturday nights. Full three-course breakfast served at 9 am. Breakfast delivered to your room in Griffin Cottage Suites. Fodor's Choice Award selection for 2009 thru 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1900 Inn on Montford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1900 Inn On Montford Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing