We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Asheville Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1900 Inn on Montford
Ranked #14 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Loved our stay at the 1900 Inn on Montford. Owners Lynn and Ron were wonderful hosts. Very gracious, welcoming, and helpful. Absolutely THE BEST social hour on the porch with delightful Biltmore wine and the Pond Brothers singing/playing for us. Very special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in Cloisters ..we over payed. I mean it was nice for sure but it's missing some maintenance. I snagged my yoga top on the vanity that is tiles laid into wood frame. For a room that is 750/ night that was a low end decision long term. Even worse is the 1/2 bath that us also wood and has been visibly repaired with cheap varnish and continues to chip. The bed was uncomfortable and the sun that comes into the bedroom in the morning is unavoidable as the curtains are not even wide enough to cover the windows. The upgrades are definitely nice but way too complicated to figure out for a 2 night stay. The host had to walk us thru the place explaining everything, even the shower which was terribly awkward. Sure I'd like to have the host in my repertoire of memories with my husband on a romantic getaway when I go home. Not. We never could figure out the expensive hvac zoned system and slept hot because it would not shut off auxiliary heat set at 75!!! Unbearable. The hosts were rude and in accommodating not to mention terrible cooks. The breakfast was the worst I've ever had and it only declined on day 2. When I called to ask about one dish that appeared to be old as in unedible, I was made to feel a bother so much that I still think back to our stay there and get a pit in my stomach. The woman is unkind and will argue her point so that it makes u give up. So rude. To top it all off the cable didn't work the wkd we stayed which was a big disappointment as we were basically paying to lock ourselves in this really expensive room all wkd ordering takeout. Consolation prize? A coffee cup. Gee thanks lady. I will never stay there again. Should have stayed next door at Black Walnut.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steamrollerbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeme46, Owner at 1900 Inn on Montford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I am not sure where to begin. The Cloisters is a very large private suite. It is not $750.00 a night, considerably less in fact, but it is still very expensive. Rightfully, the guest should have every expectation of a comfortable and pampered experience.

We attempt to do a very thorough check-in including stepping into the large steam shower (6 x 8) and showing the guest how to set the thermostatic control for the shower and the temperature for the steam system - both of which I consider important to a comfortable experience. The whirlpool takes some explanation as well. It is both air and water jets and has a shiatsu massage function. It is an amazing experience, but I agree, it’s complicated. In fact we have a bound notebook with instruction for TV, HAVC, whirlpool, steam bath and so forth which we leave for the guest in the event of information overload. Or there is always the option of calling the concierge for assistance. It is too late in the day a year later to recall what the issue may have been with the HVAC.

Our service records do not indicate a service call for HVAC in June or July of last year. We do reflect however, a service call for Direct TV, our satellite provider. They schedule the service. This was inconvenient for all eight rooms in the inn, but particularly disappointing to a guest who was looking forward to a “snuggle down” weekend. However, we do provide a library with 500 DVD’s.

As for breakfast, I do not understand. Our food is cooked fresh every morning. We deliver breakfast to the Cloisters 5 minutes after the food leaves the oven. The food arrives piping hot, on a beautiful tray with orange juice and fresh flowers.

I agree with the guest, no one should be unkind or rude.

Lynn Carlson
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From start to finish, the best out of town stay we have had. No details were missed. Amazing breakfast, wonderful hosts and fantastic front porch with talented entertainment. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Edith Wharton was a fantastic, quaint room. Great AC and very very quiet. In a house as old as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K4nier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were greeted and checked in by Karen who was very helpful and answered all our questions. Owners Ron and Lynn were very gracious and made us feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious. We stayed in the O'Henry room which had the most comfortable king size bed. The commons spaces were inviting and comfortable with coffee and snacks available at all times. We enjoyed swinging and rocking on the large front porch. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Given the fact you have many options to stay in Asheville, and we have stayed in a number of them, this was the best experience of them all. We stayed in Zelda's room and it was spacious and cozy at the same time. It has its own deck and stairwell and a very large bathroom. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The cherry on top of this already delicious cake are the owners Ron and Lynn. They made it a very special weekend for my wife and me. We can’t wait to come back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weaver2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife was cycling in the Assault on Mt. Mitchell a few weeks back and we used that as an excuse to spend a few days before in Asheville. We had the pleasure of staying at the 1900 Inn on Montford. Great place, great location, great room, great food, wonderful proprietors and even on site live entertainment. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is the second trip we have taken to the 1900 Inn, and both times were great. This time we stayed in the William Morris Suite. The room was a little smaller than the Rossetti Suite, but very nice. The shower is great and can open outside for a neat experience. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and the breakfast is served each morning to the suite.

The nightly social hour is fun (6-7) and the hosts, Ron and Lynn, are very nice and knowledgeable about the area and are very pleasant to know. On Saturday night, they have live country music, along with the Biltmore wine and good company.

We had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Go for the Rossetti Suite if you like the privacy or the main house for more social time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,240 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#14 of 66 in Asheville
6,822 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,648 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Inn on Montford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Inn on Montford

Address: 296 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: £191 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1900 Inn on Montford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and Romantic AAA Four-Diamond Inn with four large bedrooms and 1000 sq ft suite in main house and three secluded pet-friendly suites in Griffin Cottage with private, enclosed back gardens. King beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, steam baths, HDTV, personal refrigerators, and high-speed Internet access. Social hour each evening with live music Saturday nights. Full three-course breakfast served at 9 am. Breakfast delivered to your room in Griffin Cottage Suites. Fodor's Choice Award selection for 2009 thru 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1900 Inn on Montford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1900 Inn On Montford Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing