We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and cool in the summer. cozy in the winter!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pines Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice and cool in the summer. cozy in the winter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

the pines cottages are all that you would love them to be at any season of the year, charming , rustic, vintage fabulous, and tara and allan are superb peeps. I was there in the summertime, it was surprisingly cool compared to hot lanta , the fan white sound just let me drift away......and of course the smell of pine! also awesome wicked coffee house down the road "bulldog", where they make dog beds from imported coffee bean sacks ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Room Tip: if you have a really big car you can park at the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahfrnch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    37
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
96
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Just spent 3 glorious nights at the Pines in cottage #7 and we had a glorious groovy time there. The cottage was everything we wanted it to be, a slice of heaven in the mountains. The owners, Allan and Tara were fabulous and great to answer all the questions one could ask. The Pines is convenient to everything in the area and also the Blue Ridge Parkway, which was a sight to behold on this trip for us!! Our dog fell in love with the cottage and all the outings we took him on, which was everywhere. The cottages are rustic in the best way possible, we absolutely adored everything. The kitchen was perfect size and the living and sleeping areas were great. We enjoyed the big fireplace and it gave us a mellow fuzzy warm feeling. Bathroom is great, has a full size tub too!! Sit out on the raised deck outback and look up at the stars; what a beautiful sight. So much enjoyment can be found at the Pines if you're down to earth and just want to feel free and bond with nature. It's just beautiful; we'll be back for sure and cottage #7 it'll be!! Peace!!

Room Tip: Number 7 gets our vote. The fireplace is big and wonderful along with all the rest of this great co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoulshineForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My Girlfriend and I both loved the Cottage we rented at the Pines. The location was pretty good, the Cottage was very nice, and the camp was quiet. There was not allot to do in the immediate vicinity, but there was a grocery store less than a mile away. The cottage was clean and very comfortable for us. The only complaint we could have had was using the TV manually without a remote, if that is actually a problem. We will be coming back for sure. I read a review about dog hair and the noisy highway, and we had no such experience. The highway is not visible and I could barley hear it at night when I walked the complex. We had no dog hair in our cottage, and the beds were very comfortable.. We used the kitchen to cook a good meal, and we used the hammock in the back yard. It beat the heck out of a hotel. This place is great for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We didn't need a kitchen, so we chose cabin #3. It's vintage 50s and a little too cozy. The bed, TV, bathroom are all very small. There's very little extra space. The room was tidy. I only met the owner briefly at check in and never saw her again, but that's not a complaint. We arrived in the dark and even finding our own cabin, with no lights, was a bit of a challenge. At night they do not turn on their sign near the road, so can it can be difficult to spot. We could not get their wi-fi to work, but the wi-fi from the hotel next door was unsecured and worked just fine. The location north of Asheville is convenient. It's still easy to get downtown and there are restauruants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is one of the most fun places we have ever stayed. They are individual little cabins with kitchens and fire places. It snowed while we were there, which was beautiful. This is in a great location and seems both secluded and easily accessible. We actually traveled here several years ago, but talk about it to this day. Also, check out the awesome German restaurant next door! Plus they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catch242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

My wife and I instantly loved our little cottage!! It was perfect!! A quant, vintage cottage with everything we needed!! The location was awesome too! A straight shot down Rt 25 and your in downtown Asheville (about a 6min ride) We are planning another trip to Asheville, this time with the kids and will definetly be staying at The Pines!! Allen even let us look around a bigger cottage to see if it would work for our family!! If you want a nice, relaxing, true cottage feel, this is the place!! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdluvsjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We came to Asheville to spend 3 weeks with my mother in law, however she got ill and had a house full of people and no room for us. So, we were referred to The Pines, and it was fantastic. I have stayed at many places through all my traveling, but this is best by far if you are looking for a place that "feels like home". The owner and his children were wonderful, and the cleaning crew always went out of their way to get us what we needed. Also, since the one we stayed in had a full kitchen, we saved BIG TIME with meals. The grocery store is 1 mile away so we bought our own food and cooked it right in our cottage!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.6 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
8.2 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
7.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
4.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Cottages

Property: The Pines Cottages
Address: 346 Weaverville Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-1229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer studio and two bedroom cottages and cabins located just 6 miles from downtown Asheville and 8 miles from The Biltmore Estate. The Pines Cottages is a great place to stay while visiting Asheville and Western North Carolina because we offer more than just a hotel room. Our cottages and cabins have fully equipped separate kitchens and bathrooms. We are pet friendly and our 4 1/2 acres of grounds offer a place to walk your dog, sit next to a fire around our fire pit or cook-out on one of our grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Pines Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Cottages Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing