We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great for families.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Island

Castle Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67.98*
and up
Boston Odyssey Dinner Cruise
Ranked #48 of 383 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of a fort erected in 1634, Castle Island is a great place to walk, jog or just unwind and enjoy the view.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Really great for families.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My family (5 year old and 1 year old) spent nearly 6 hours here! Between the beach, playground, fort, and boardwalk, there is a lot to do. The water is calm which is great for young kids. But boy is it cold! There is a café very close to the beach which has some lunch options but nothing for vegetarians. But we really enjoyed their fruit smoothies.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NotYourBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    133
    19
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Spend the Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Castle Island is always a wonderful day trip. It's great for a long walk, a picnic, kite flying or to take the tour of Fort Independence, which is rich in US history (It's not open all the time, so check hours for Saturday and Sunday). It's also fun to watch the planes coming and going from Logan Airport. There is a playground for children as well. Be sure grab a bite to eat or an ice cream as Sullivan's.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A bit dilapidated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have brought small children here and would not do it again. Tried roller blading here once too. I won't be back. It's not a place for me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kspadegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
608 reviews
304 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 945 helpful votes
“Great place to visit on a sunny day with views of Boston Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were here on a beautiful summer Saturday...and lots of people BBQing, walking/running, fishing and taking advantage of the great weather.

The views of the Boston including some of the Harbor Islands and the JFK Presidential Library are amazing!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikko4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome, awesome, awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

What a spectacular find! My husband and I were looking for something to do with our twin six year olds. They weren't in the right mood for a museum or a nature walk. They requested to go to a park. We were not looking to spend our vacation day at a run of the mill playground, we could do that any day. But Castle Island was so much more. We actually spent the first two hours we were there on the beach catching crabs, playing in the sand and getting our feet wet in the water. We eventually got hungry so we grabbed some food at Sullivan's and found a table in the shade to sit and relax and eat our lunch. We walked around Fort Independence and then finally made it to the playground. The playground was very large and had plenty of equipment for all the children there. My only suggestion would be to have the fort open on weekdays not just weekends. We would have loved to do the tour. But wow, what a great place to spend the day!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank les91178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Castle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing