We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stop on the waterfront.”

New England Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.95*
and up
New England Aquarium Admission
Ranked #35 of 389 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The 200,000-gallon Giant Ocean Tank is the centerpiece of the Aquarium, Boston's most visited tourist attraction.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
teachertravlr
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice stop on the waterfront.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My review may be "off" because I'm from Southern California (we've got sea World) but the aquarium is somewhat small. We really enjoyed petting the rays and sharks and picking up the smaller sea life. There's not much in the way of large mammals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank teachertravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,645
    1,394
    777
    206
    73
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Best Aquarium I've Been to So Far!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I loved going to this aquarium! There were so many different species and exhibits to look and have so much fun naming and discussing all of the different species with family. The penguins are adorable and the big tank in the middle is amazing! They feature creature from all over the world and all sorts of environments, so they aren't short of interesting creatures.

However, if you don't like having to stand close to others, this might not be the place for you. It was unbelievably crowded,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryann_B1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great place to watch penguins!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Personally I love penguins and this place has several different kinds in very nice habitats. The center tank is full of many different kinds of fish and turtles and sea creatures!! Oh and don't miss the seals and sea lions in the outside habitat! Very fun aquarium!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cali13girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The center tank is enormous and penguins great”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The kids 7 and 10 loved this visit. The huge center tank has to be seen to be believed. They loved interacting with the rays and small sharks in the smaller tank. The penguins are wonderful and the variety of fish is incredible. Well worth the trip and we bought a joint ticket at slight discount to watch a shark movie next door at the Imax that was pretty good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MicheleD773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very cool”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a nice aquarium. The middle is a huge cylander shaped tank with sharks, sea turtles, rays and a myriad of other fish. The small tanks around the large one contain all kinds of interesting creatures. The jelly fish were some of our favorites. I don't think this compares to Shedd's in Chicago, however it was worth a visit. It was around $25 to get in. (per person) We saw a movie at the IMAX that was interesting, but more geared towards children than we expected. My only complaint would be that it is very dark inside the aquarium and there are scores of children running all over the place, seemingly unsupervised. I would think an older person might have some trouble getting around and/or they might get knocked over. A child could easily get lost in here, so make sure you are paying attention if you bring a child with you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New England Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to New England Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing