We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newbury Street

Newbury Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$43.48*
and up
Boston Duck Tour
Ranked #20 of 383 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boston's chic shopping address mixes elegant boutiques with funky salons and trendy galleries.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A good walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The area is very nice. If you like to people watch, this is the place you want to be. A great place for shoppers or even just for a nice stroll. My boyfriend and I walked passed on our way to the Fenway mark from the North end and didn't really get a chance to stop by any stores. The environment though was very nice so even if you don't want to shop, it is still a nice stroll

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kar3nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    975
    649
    167
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Colorful cityscape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Newbury Street boasts a wonderful streetscape with interesting shop windows, beautiful historic churches, and lots of local color. It has the character of a shopping area like London's Kings Road. You don't have to spend money to enjoy it. This is the best of what makes big cities unique.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kvesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Good variety and quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We visit Boston 4-5ntimes per year and always make our way here for at least in visit. Nice shops, manageable crowds and great people watching. This is a real Boston neighborhhod, so don't expect a sterile mall environment. Boylston Street is nearby with more good shopping, dining and drinking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldo_Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great way to spend the day shopping and people watching!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This street is a great way to spend the day if you like shopping. If you don't my advice is to stay away. But for those of us who do, this is a terrific stop on your trip! My husband and I shopped til we dropped here. We had a wonderful lunch on a patio (in mid-November!). There are a ton of coffee shops too. There are also beauty salons, spas, antique stores, you name it, it is here. And everywhere we went the people were so friendly. Honestly everywhere in Boston the people were friendly to us. Great way to spend the afternoon if you are in to this kind of thing. And the architecture of this old place is fantastic!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thesaucyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice stroll in Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

There are a plethora of shops, restaurants, and a cute market along this street. I wasn't in town for shopping but enjoyed the walk none the less. I walked it during daylight, ran it early one morning, and walked down to Steve's Restaurant late one evening - felt relatively safe at all hours. Definitely a pretty walk in the evening.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank S_travels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newbury Street also viewed

 

Been to Newbury Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing