We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just so-so”
Review of Franklin Park Zoo

Franklin Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #90 of 389 things to do in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Franklin Park Zoo is home to incredible animals from around the globe. Visitors can stand face-to-face with the Zoo's seven western lowland gorillas at one of five glass viewing stations in the state-of-the-art indoor exhibit. Also, be sure to also visit the African lions in the Kalahari Kingdom, the tigers in the Tiger Tales exhibit, the Masai giraffe, the Grevy's zebra on the Giraffe Savannah and the many other remarkable species that call the Zoo home. During the summer months, enjoy Butterfly Landing and Aussie Aviary.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“just so-so”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I suppose if you're going here with small children, it's good enough. I took my 3 grandkids: 12, 11, and 8. The older ones were more interested in the playground with various climbing activities than they were with the animals. This is an older park and it shows. In addition to the rather expensive admission prices, http://www.zoonewengland.org/ it costs $2.00 per child for the merry go round and there are additional charges for others "special" activities. I advise everyone to bring lunch, snacks and drinks, even though there are refreshment stands. Picnic benches are available. All is all, it was an okay day and we spent 3 hours walking the entire park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pickytraveller2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    102
    89
    53
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“zoo all to ourselves!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

saw all the animals and the zoo in about 2 hours because of the rain. it was great. the animals were still active and seemed to be enjoying the rain. the lion and gorillas were the best part of it.

2 different parking lots and entrances. use the main one called the zebra entrance

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tonystewart14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I live close to Philadelphia Zoo and that zoo is fantastic so this zoo had to do a lot to impress me. Most of the animals were temporary not there. There was one of every animal most of the time (that poor male lion looked super depressed). The Zoo was HUGE, confusing to walk around, and there weren't many areas that they had animals. Literally there was a really long walkway with nothing on it. I thought we walked into an actual Park. Plus, there are way too many playgrounds in this zoo. I know there are kids and all but I'm sure they would be entertained enough by the animals. The food was eh and expensive. Too many 3D, 4D, 5D, 6D rides that I really don't care about. After like what felt like 3 hours my boyfriend and I just wanted to leave as fast as possible. The whole experience was just eh. I feel bad for the people who haven't experienced a real zoo yet.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a day”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went on the first Saturday of July which meant that adult admissions was the same price as children. We were at the zoo for about 4 hours. Some of the other reviews are pretty harsh - this isn't San Diego Zoo or Busch Gardens - don't expect to ride a roller coaster or see millions of animals, but this is a nice, decent-sized zoo for a family to spend a day walking around and enjoying. There are convenient restrooms, food available, a huge play area for kids and many nice exhibits with animals free to roam in natural-looking habitats, not cages. Go here on a nice day and you'll have a good time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bd9902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I love this Zoo because I live in Boston”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It's very poorly funded by the State and the City, it runs on a shoestring budget, and yet it does great things. If you come on a "Free" day don't be surprised it's crowded, and don't complain about that. It was FREE, what do you expect. If you want it to be better, help by buying a membership, which will give you reciprocity discounts at other Zoos, and admission to the Stone Zoo. To me the Gorillas are worth the price of admission, and so too are the tigers. For people complaining about animals "hiding" -- do some research, some animals are nocturnal. It's a Zoo, not a circus. First became members when our kids were babies, now they're adults and we're still members. Consider membership.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MMurphySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franklin Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing