We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to see a farmer's market in Boston”
Review of Haymarket

Haymarket
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
Boston's North End and Waterfront Walking Tour
Ranked #78 of 389 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: During daylight hours on Fridays and Saturdays, the Haymarket on Hanover Street, near Boston's North End, is rich with culture and bargains. Visitors who stroll through the crowded alley can spend very little and come home with a full load of fresh fruit, vegetables and seafood sold by local vendors.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
776 reviews
454 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
“Great to see a farmer's market in Boston”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

While walking through the area we came across this farmer's market. While we didn't buy anything it was good to see that the Farmers Market concept is seemingly alive and well in the USA. We had in fact the day before visited the Farmer's Market in Medford, where we were staying in rented accommodation, and bought some local produce for our dinner.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brucestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Bring a grocery carrier if you plan on doing any real shopping”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Haymarket street market is Fridays and Saturdays and a great place to get a wide variety of fruits and produce. It is a produce market and NOT a farmers market. The produce is brought in from wholesalers by vendors. Much of it is discounted because it is fully ripe with a short shelf life. That is a plus if you are ready to use it or are looking for vegetables for canning.

Our visit there 7/19/2014 we were looking for vegetables for canning and got ingredients to make our salsa. After viewing the produce stocked by the vendors we decided upon making salsa. We got a case of tomatoes, 5# bag of onions, cilantro, hot peppers and other ingredients, plus we left with fruits and other vegetables. This made for a (very) long walk back to the nearby parking garage. Note to self - bring a wheeled grocery cart next trip!

The produce market was more than a trip to the grocery store. Like many have said the people made it a fun experience. There are permanent meat, seafood, cheese, ethnic grocery and food shops on the streets the produce market inhabits. Well worth visiting even if you have no idea what you are looking at.

Next trip we will bring a wheeled cart for carrying our purchases!

Parking is expensive, we paid 35$ because we went past the 90 minute mark at the parking garage we choose.

Plan on making a half day or longer trip by visiting Faneuil Hall, Quincy Market and the streets around there.

If you want to shop I'd advise bringing a cooler to pack your purchases or explore then shop at the end.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wcstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great people watching and great deals on all kinds of foods”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I don't know which is more interesting, the people working the stands or the other customers! Many different languages spoken around you and ethnic food markets, too! On one side is the produce stands and on the other side of the sidewalk there are some great ethnic grocery stores, that sell halal meats and MANY different cuts of several different meats. Some of the stores are down ancient looking stairs into these cool basement stores - I've gotten some good fish and harder to find spices there. There are 2 other fish booths as you walk around; I've gotten great fish from both of them, as well. Love the cheese monger, my only regret is that I don't buy from him more. AND, they sell great French Bread to go with some brie and wine. The produce isn't perfect but the prices make it worth taking the small chance that it will go bad quickly. My advice is if the price is much lower than the others, it may go bad rather qucikly (not that I've ever had strawberries get fuzzy on the ride home. . . ).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank faminita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

To visit Boston and miss this would be a mistake. It would also be hard to do, since it's nestled right on the Freedom Trail and close by to so many other attractions.
It's a great place for finding those hard-to-find ethnic specialties of spices, cheeses, breads, meat, etc.
Fantastic for people watching and experiencing something different. It is an authentic experience you will enjoy. I promise.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Back In The Saddle Again
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Where else can you go for a nice walk, meet people from all over the world, buy fresh produce cheap and be entertained for free? Get over the fact that all of the produce is not perfect. This is a must see whether you live nearby or are visiting from out of town, I make it a point to stop by every time I'm in the city. I also checked out the Custom House today for the first time. The best $4.00 I ever spent (plus it is donated to Children's Hospital) What a view of Boston from the outdoor terrace on the 26th floor!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PlayaBoy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haymarket also viewed

 

Been to Haymarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing