We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal B&B close to everything that you would want to do in Boston.”
Review of Yun's Place

Yun's Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yun's Place
Ranked #22 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Located at the edge of Harvard campus, Yun's place was ideally located for us to experience Boston for the first time. A simple 15 minute stroll to the Red T1 line near Harvard Square passing thru the Harvard Campus was interesting in itself. A 3 stop T1 ride took us to central Boston in no time at all (for the cost of $2) and the reverse trip was just as easy, no matter what time of the day. We even had the pleasure of walking from Yun's into central Boston along the Charles Rivet which was just a short distance away. Although it took us over an hour, it was a great way to get acquainted with the city.

Alan, the proprietor, made this all very simple for us with provision of simple maps and suggestions. We enjoyed our stay at Yun's place and the interaction with Alan and Yun made us feel like valued guests. Nothing was too hard for them.

The breakfast was simple, fresh and all we could have wanted. Excellent.

The rooms were extremely comfortable and quiet. The room we had contained two single beds which could be pushed together. The bathroom, although shared, was not a problem as Yun's has only two guest rooms. It was sparkling clean (as was the whole house), warm and fresh. A testament to them both.

We would highly recommend Yun's to anyone wishing to visit Boston. Do not be put off by the B&B not being in central Boston. In fact we saw it as an advantage as we had easy access to the city proper by public transport and walking when we wanted and we were able to see the Cambridge/Harvard area which was a hive of activity day and night. We have already recommended Yun's to friends and will stay next time we visit Boston.

Room Tip: Only two rooms are available in this wonderful B&B. The one we had had two single beds. Just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed at Yun's place, house, for 5 nights. Very nicely decorated with nice furniture. Place was quiet and very clean. There was no problem with me coming in late at night, I just kept it quiet coming in. They ask you to take your shoes off and wear slippers in the house and they had slippers to provide. Bathroom was nice size and clean. There are only a few rooms so there's no long wait for the restroom if it's in use. Breakfast was croissants, big muffins, and Yun offered to cook me some eggs one morning, juice, coffee, and tea. Fee was half the price of a hotel in the area and the location was convenient to the Boston Transit bus line, about two blocks down the street. I'd stay there again if I needed a place in Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xJESS13x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Yun's place is GREAT!!!it's located near from Harvad Square.we took a taxi from airport.it only takes 8miles .transportting for travelling around Boston is also quite convenient.only one mile to the rail.you can choose taking a bus or walking.there are free wi-fi,luxury breakfast,the best part is the owners Yun&Alan will really make you feel like home ,they are super nice and sweet!they gave us a warm welcome when we arrived here,many helpful advice for our tour,even gave us a transportting card to make our trip more convenience. we were so lucky that Yun made dinner for us.used the vegetables from their backyard!!we had a great chat during dinner.the friendly atmosphere made us relaxable! there are different types of bedroom to choose.all of them are comfortable clean and quiet! btw,I had the best sleep here so far during the one-month trip. I LOVE Yun's Place!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzz636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Yun’s Place is a B&B in the old-fashioned sense: a room in a home with shared facilities for a reasonable price.

Yun’s is like visiting your relatives. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The furniture looks like it all came out of a garage sale and everything is a bit worn. But the place is very clean and comfortable.

The owners care about you and are very kind and helpful. You eat breakfast in the kitchen, often sitting with the owners. It really is like visiting family.

Don’t come here is your idea of a B&B is owners who live in a separate wing and who only are around to collect money and provide breakfast. And don’t expect every room to look like a page from Architectural Digest.

Private and street park is available. The location is central and great if you have a car and want to cover all parts of the city. It isn’t quite as good if you are relying on public transportation since it is about a 20 minute walk to the subway station near Harvard. And much of the walk isn’t the most pleasant.

Come to Yun’s Place if you like a homey B&B in a central location and for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This was by far the best way to visit a new place. Before we arrived the communication via the internet was exceptional! We knew exactly what to expect before arrival.
First things first, the price and location cannot be beat!
This was our first visit to the area. We arrived at the home and received a warm welcome. The home was clean and orderly. Alan& Yun gave us a quick tour of the home (location of the kitchen, restroom and use of keys). In addition, we were given maps of the area and tips on how to use the public transit was well illustrated. The beds were comfortable and there was ample of lighting. There is free wi-fi and were able to surf the web and email with ease on our ipads!
Breakfast was nice. We had an assortment of cereals, muffins and crescents to choose from. We were also quite fortunate as Yun made a WONDERFUL pear sauce each morning. The pears were picked from the tree behind the home. If you are lucky you will be able to enjoy this delectable treat!
We decided not to rent a car since the transit service can take you to almost anywhere in the area. We walked almost everywhere. There is a bus stop only a couple of blocks from the home that takes you the rails. We chose to walk to Harvard Square to catch the rail. This is an easy one mile trek and if you walk one can absorb more of the community.
We were able to come and go as we pleased and were given good tips on where to eat, and places to visit. We felt right at home and never once as an outsider. If we needed anything all was had to do was ask! Why stay at a cookie cutter hotel when you can live as though you are part of the community. This place has something that those places never will, heart!
When I return to the area I would not hesitate to return to Yun’s Place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socialworkerdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Yun's place is close to Cambridge and the city of Boston. Price is good at $99 per night. We have stayed in a number of b&b's in the USA and this was not one of our favorites. There is no television in the rooms and no nice little luxuries that you often find in this style of accommodation. Bathroom is shared which is not a major drama but we don't enjoy sharing the same bar of soap with others. It would have been good to have been provided with personal products for the bathroom. Breakfast is self serve continental. It is sufficient but nothing special. The house is clean but we did not see the rest of the house - it seemed to be out of bounds. We are an easy going couple who enjoy meeting new people which is why we like to stay in b&b's. This is the first b&b that I would say did not make the grade.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I stayed at Yun's place in October for 4 nights with my husband and 2 boys (7 and 2 years old). I decided on the place after reading all the great reviews, but we were surely disappointed. To me, Yun's place is not a professional run Bed and Breakfast, they simply rent out 2 rooms and a bathroom, and provide a self-serve breakfast, which was the same stuff - muffins and croissants from COSTCO, 2 varieties of cereal, milk, juice and coffee - for all the 4 days! They did not clean our rooms or make our beds. Our trash cans were over-full before Yun decided to clean them on the last day. Alan was so particular about little things like switching off the bathroom lights and the exhaust fans! Common, there has to be some freedom when you have kids and when you pay so much of money!

Another major negative of this place was that Yun and Alan have their offices on the same floor, so we hardly had any privacy! They worked in their offices all day and even until late night! Alan hardly ever spoke to us though we had a lot more interaction with Yun. I am still shocked about all the great reviews of this place - not sure what went wrong when we stayed there! We have stayed in several B&B and have had such great experiences, but this one was a disaster! In fact, we were so unhappy the very first night that we decided to move out the next day. Since they were not willing to refund us the money for the remaining nights, there was no way we could afford another place for 3 nights in Boston. Hence we decided to just stay and remember it as one of our 'Not Good at all' experiences!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
4  Thank traveller9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yun's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yun's Place

Address: 66 Hopedale St, Boston, MA 02134-1238
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute walk to Harvard Business School. A 20-minute walk to Harvard Yard and Harvard subway station, from where you can access all of Boston and Cambridge, including MIT, Boston University, Hynes Convention Center, and Boston Convention Center. $109 per night, single or double occupancy. Complementary breakfast, Internet access, WiFi, parking. We offer two rooms in a Victorian-era house. One room has a queen-size bed and can comfortably accommodate a couple. The other room has two single beds. Our bathrooms are shared. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing