We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the worst room I've stayed in”
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
40 Berkeley
Ranked #12 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easily the worst room I've stayed in”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a miserable place, the rooms are by far the worst I've ever stayed in - much worse than any backpacker hostel - the whole place is extremely depressing. Almost nothing works, the bathrooms are gross and the staff were unfriendly.

Jail like is the best way to describe the whole place.

Do not stay here, the best part was that it was so horrible we stayed out in the town more than we would have.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gibbon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    432
    324
    156
    124
See reviews for
115
363
224
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've staying in few hostels before, and so far all my experiences has being great!!!
40 Berkley, is just great place to stay, location right in Back Bay Boston, so you ale to walk all over Boston from there.
Definetelly will be back !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 611Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great for an overnight in Boston, or a few days if you don't mind the bathroom down the hall.

My room was quite a hike from the ladies' and I had to visit it a few times in the night due to 'turista.' Would have liked to have a room closer to the bathroom. Being downtown, there is some traffic noise and sirens at night. I also had to leave before breakfast, so missed out on that. But overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: The men's room was centrally located but the women's was down a wing; so if getting to it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went to the 40 Berkeley and left 45 minutes later. At that point, due to it being so cheap, the money didnt matter. Didnt feel safe at all. I dont know about anyone else but I like my own bathroom I case I have to pee in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hostel was perfectly located, a small walk to most places, a 711 over the road, train station just 5 mins away, great breakfast included, value for money paid. Lots if places to shop a 10 minute walk away, many many restaurants also a 10 minute walk down the road.

Room Tip: We booked a delux suite, our own bathroom, and tv in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

is a good hotel free popcorn free cookies and s cheap 112 one night stand a room for two . is also close to amtrack station six minutes to walk.the hotel has tv private bathroom is clean and fresh you should try

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chetan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at 40 Berkeley during a sightseeing trip to Boston in May. The hostel is almost exactly like living in a college dorm -- so minimal furniture, utilitarian linens and shared bathrooms. You're sharing the space with an international clientele as well as elderly and disabled residents who live there year-round. I think it's great that they didn't discontinue the community housing aspect of the location when the current owners took over. If you don't like other people, including some with more challenges than you may have, don't stay here because you will be miserable sharing space, meals, bathrooms. For my suburban family, I really was glad to have the experience of staying somewhere more interesting and diverse than what we encounter everyday.

There was a free Memorial Day barbecue on the day we arrived and that was delicious. We stayed in a 5th floor quad that faced Gray Street and we didn't have any problem with room noise. One of our beds was a bunk and the only unfortunate thing that happened with that is that my 10 year old fell out and hit the floor one night because there was no rail on it. They should probably take care of that.

Sharing a multi-person bathroom -- well, I haven't done it in awhile, so if you haven't either, then remember to bring flip-flops for the shower and some kind of a robe. I never had to wait for the shower. There were 2 showers and a tub on our floor.

We had no problems with cleanliness, I did not see any bugs or leftover hair/stuff from previous patrons as others have reported. But, sharing space with others...if someone else has just used one of the three stalls in the bathroom, it could smell in there...if that's going to ruin your experience of saving $100+ per night, then make a note.

The free breakfast is institutional food - scrambled eggs, two kinds of yogurt, bacon/sausage, pancakes or waffles, oatmeal, grits, breads, and a few other things. The oatmeal was sometimes watery, but fine. If you're looking for a fancy breakfast, there are plenty of other options in the upscale, Back Bay neighborhood. A branch of Flour Bakery is nearby - delicious! And we went to dinner one evening at Picco - an Italian restaurant a couple of blocks away and that was great. The money you save on accommodations can fund your restaurant budget.

The common areas are really nice - one of my sons had a lot of homework during the trip and he went to the lobby and used the rocking chairs that face the courtyard. They also have lots of sofas, tables with outlets for computers, free Starbucks, a TV room with theater seating.

40 Berkeley is in a great location - the neighborhood feels safe and it's very attractive with row houses and beautiful, tree lined streets. You could walk to all of the tourist spots or take the T from Back Bay station - just a 5-10 minute walk away.

Overall, this place is exactly as described and as I expected.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Gray Street and up high are quieter. Lower floors are good if you don't want to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMombler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,597 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
2,009 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#69 of 83 in Boston
1,122 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 83 in Boston
464 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Property: 40 Berkeley
Address: 40 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-6316
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing