We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best”
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
40 Berkeley
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Ballincollig, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“not the best”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

3 of us stayed in the hostel and it was very basic indeed. the room was extremely hot, NO AC which is ridiculous. we had to get a fan blowing into the room so we could cool off. breakfast was okay. lifts were slow as ever. quicker taking the stairs. showers and toilets were okay. we got by. you have to wear flip flops in the shower to avoid picking up anything.

only good thing was the price and the location. free wifi was good too. close to the train station and to prudential center/boston common.

i would prefer to stay at another hotel which would have better hygiene then 40 Berkeley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aislingnrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    437
    327
    157
    124
See reviews for
119
366
225
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I rented a single room, which was very basic (squeaky bed, dresser, desk, chair and lamp). BUT, it was SO HOT! My room, which faces west, got extremely warm and uncomfortable with the morning/afternoon sun streaming in through the window. Nowhere on their website was it clearly indicated that there is NO A/C in this hostel. Why are they hiding this? There was a ceiling fan and window but nothing else to help cool off. I couldn't even close the shade to block the sun unless I closed the window. The breakfast in the cafeteria was not bad. Plenty of options to choose from. The bathroom on the sixth floor was alright, but there were no paper towels to wipe the sink area clean so I was always looking for a dry place to put my stuff down. The neighborhood is great, and a short walk to the bus station, Chinatown, Prudential Center, Boston Commons. So, I might only come back but only during the cold months.

Room Tip: If you're going in the summer months, ask for a room that doesn't get too hot (avoid the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

No aircon in rooms fan does nothing it is like a sauna. Location is good but I've felt more comfortable in the middle of the Sahara.. In desperate need of cool air in the building. Wet towels shouldn't be needed to sleep anywhere

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sendtorichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

As a hostel was nice. The room was simple but clean. The environment is nice and the internal garden is beautiful. The toilets were ok and the location good. However it was not worthy the price we paid. For that price we could go to a hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is the cheapest place to stay in Boston if you want a private room (which is not to say that it's cheap, but it's an expensive city). It is marketed as a hostel, not a hotel, and so it has to be accepted that the standard of accommodation will be as such. I stayed for four nights - two in a double and two in a single room (because of availability issues) and the title of this review sums up my experience.

The hostel is in a great location (very convenient for Greyhound and Amtrak, not so good for parking). The area is safe and close to the main attractions - downtown is about 15-20 minutes walk away and Boston Common is also nearby. The staff were fine - not overly welcoming and they didn't tell me about any of the discounts available for attractions, but I can live with that. The rooms were spartan, but fine for a short stay. The decor reminded me of an old school classroom - varnished floors, a large in-built closet and (in the double) a traditional wooden desk with graffiti etched into it. The beds were comfortable if not the best quality. The blinds in both rooms were broken which meant sunlight streamed through in the early hours of the morning, and there was no mirror in the single. The wifi was generally ok, although it did cut out occasionally. Lots of reviewers have commented on the filthy bathrooms - maybe my experience was unusual, but the bathrooms on the sixth floor were always spotlessly clean and had recently been renovated, and I never had to queue for a shower. Towels were also provided.

The breakfast was a good addition, but for the quality of the food it probably wasn't worth it. My scrambled eggs were so watery I had to stop them from sliding off the plate - the continental choices were better. I didn't spend any time in the common areas, so can't comment there, but I got the impression it wasn't the best hostel for meeting people if that's what you're after - most people tended to keep to themselves or stick with the groups they were travelling with. There are also a significant number of older, permanent residents - not an issue for me, but if you're looking to have a raucous time, this place wouldn't be right for you.

40 Berkeley isn't a bad place really, although I still think it's a tad overpriced. In summary, if your financial means are restricted but you really want a private room, it will suffice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freshlybrewedcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

As myself and my partner are travelling across America for 3 months we wanted to stay somewhere relatively cheap but also clean and comfortable for our stay in Boston. Unfortunately the 40 Berkeley was cheap but neither clean nor comfortable.

Don't let the nice clean, air conditioned lobby fool you, once you get into your room it is like stepping into a sauna! The only way we got any sleep was to wet our towels and sleep with them over us!

The shared bathrooms are prison like and don't feel very hygienic. 2 showers and 3 toilets for a floor of 30 rooms ... You can imagine the morning rush.

Needless to say we checked out after 2 nights (we are in Boston for a week) and all the receptionist could say to us was "you know you won't get your money refunded"...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

3 day stay: shower drain plugged, scummy water with gobs of hair floating. Another day, no toilet paper OR paper towels for 30+ rooms. All surfaces greasy/grimy throughout. Will bring sanitizing wipes to "clean" my room forever onward. Disgusting impression for international visitors.

Otherwise, good location 1/2 mile from Boston's great subway. Huge, welcoming lobby with helpful desk staff, sightseeing info, nice courtyard, computer access, Wi-Fi, television theater, even a library. Awesome cafeteria-style breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
273 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#70 of 83 in Boston
1,129 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 83 in Boston
3,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#58 of 83 in Boston
2,087 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 83 in Boston
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Property: 40 Berkeley
Address: 40 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-6316
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing