We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for two nights I guess”
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
40 Berkeley
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The only thing good about the hostel was its location. We only used the hostel for sleeping, as our short stay meant we needed to pack our days full of activities to make the most of the time. I wouldn't say the hostel was dirty, nor would I say it was clean.The staff were okay I guess, they did not understand us, which was frustrating (they were American, so no idea why they couldn't). On the website,we were promised breakfast and toiletries as well as great facilities, the kitchen was closed however and the only toiletries were the soap and water in the bathrooms. They did give us a voucher for breakfast at a nearby sub shop, but I did not find the choices very good (were quite unhealthy and greasy). It is okay for a room for the night, but do not expect more. I know it is a hostel, and I shouldn't have expected too much comfort, but I had more hopes following the promise on its website.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rissa1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
There are newer reviews for 40 Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Considering the price, it's not really worth it. It is very noisy because of the traffic. The rooms are very small and very simple, only one power outlets, no lockers, no A/C, old and small beds. The guy at the reception desk was very low efficient and not very helping. Overall, not a very good place for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our family stayed here one night while in Boston. We had a private room and were right next to the girls bathroom. Bathrooms were very clean and rather updated. Our room was like a college dorm room --super simple and plain --but it is a hostel, so I respect that. Since we pay per person, the rate seemed a little high, but I'm sure that if we tried to get a hotel near that same location, we would have paid much more. So it was a good experience (we had never stayed in a hostel before) Cafeteria was closed, but they lined us up with a cafe across the street, and that was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnamcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

About 1hour To walking fr.o.m. Central station. But subway is fine,
Very old interior. Fel like 1960. No curtains. Old hard bed. No lockers. Very bad which means u cant leve anyting. For hostel okey but Max 1-2 nights

Room Tip: IF u look for hostel its just fine
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

alk to her school, but an advantage was that she really learned her way around the city. She felt very safe. 40 Berkeley has nice lounge areas and a very cute shaded outdoor patio. Breakfast is included. The entrance is monitored 24 hours with front desk personnel. Again, the staff was very nice and made my daughter feel welcomed! It is not air-conditioned, but her dorm would have This a great choice for a reasonable stay in Boston. My daughter did not have housing for a summer program at Berklee College of Music and this was a lifesaver! We booked by the week. It is basically a dorm room, but the bathroom on her hall was newly renovated and very clean. Actually nicer than my dorm was when I was in college. There are also rooms with a private bathroom. The staff was excellent and the manager, Edward, very accommodating to work with. The room was much quieter than a dorm would be, and gave my daughter a break from all the noise, chatter, and music during the day. She had a 20 minute wnot been either so that did not matter.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for a floor with a newly renovated bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SusanG123452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Not easy to find a "low" price stay in Boston with good location. 40 Berkeley Will offre you a clean room, clean rest room and a nice location in dowtown Boston. Cafétéria was closed but breakfast was arranged in a cafe just in front. Ah it´s not a luxury hotel BUT an hostel so do not except things that don't fit with the place.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlandineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This accommodation was okay, the room was generally clean, apart from the sink, and was spacious enough. However, there was no a/c, only a fan and it was very hot! Bathrooms were okay, clean but dated. Breakfast was horrible-mostly fried bacon, sausages, homefries etc. Great location, however. Right next to Back Bay station and within walking distance to Arlington on the green subway line and Copley square. Reception staff weren't the friendliest. Free popcorn and cookies was a bonus! Overall, it was cheap and cheerful, it was literally just a place for us to sleep for the night and it was fine and central so that we could explore the city without having extra transport charges.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank saoirse14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
277 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#72 of 84 in Boston
1,135 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
514 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#58 of 84 in Boston
2,189 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Address: 40 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-6316
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Price Range: £72 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing