We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good location, average Marriott”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. Had read the other reviews. The hotel was extremely convenient for work purposes, but also is in the enjoyable Back Bay area. It was an easy run over to the Charles River (Esplanade) and lots of shopping and restaurants in the area (there is also a larger grocer across the street which is convenient to pick up staple items). Taxi from the airport was around $30 (because of tolls, tip, etc). The hotel is a standard Marriott. The elevators were slow but that's because we typically expect them to be at our beck and call - I had to wait maybe 2-3 minutes each time, which can feel like an eternity. I didn't like the touch screen elevator button that served no extra purpose beyond calling the elevator as it was hard to tell if I had actually pushed the button. My room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. I had a great view on floor 38 and had zero noise issues. There was a safe and refrigerator in the room. I have also stayed at the Courtyard around the corner - I think I would stay at the Copley Marriott upon a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    1,393
    472
    148
    61
See reviews for
697
641
136
1,149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

On Monday, May 12th, I stayed at the Marriott Copley Plaza with two of my girl friends. We had called ahead to let them know that we would be late arrivals, and they were fine with that. I had a bit of trouble finding the hotel (the sign is no where to be seen.. but that is Boston for you). Parking is great due to the location of the parking garage and the valet (though it is costly). The room itself was spotless and the beds were incredibly comfortable. We stayed in a corner room on the 34th floor, and it was an amazing view. Absolutely would stay here again. Also, the staff was helpful throughout the entire stay!

Room Tip: Harbor View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank foodsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Whenever my family is coming to Boston (because I go to school in Boston), they always choose this hotel due to its excellent location and -- as my mom said -- its amazing beds, which ensure excellent sleep quality.

There is nothing special in this hotel. The service is pretty much the same as other hotels in the area. The rooms are roomy though, and that's what my family like so much about this hotel. The bed also seems to be bigger than other hotels like Hilton, Westin, and Sheraton.

Even better, the hotel is directly connected to the Prudential Mall. With this, my parents can use the T by using the Green Line-E through Prudential Station, go to Apple Store with minimum walking outdoor (especially handy when it's raining), and shop until they drop (literally).

Our most recent stay at Boston Marriott Copley Place was great! I had my Commencement Weekend last week and it was very convenient for them to go on-and-off without being exhausted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Adriel,

Congratulations on your graduation! Your Marriott friends wish you a great future.

Thank you to you and your family for the loyalty to our hotel. I am pleased that your mom enjoys our beds as well as our great location.

We hope that you will continue to chose us during your travels to the Boston area.

Once again, congratulations.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed for one night in this hotel. As I arrived by cruiseship, I was already early at the hotel and although officially check-in is only at 3.00PM, I was very happy when they gave me already a room at 11:00AM (when I arrived). Although there are signs that the elevators are slow, I had no problems. I think the maximum wait was probably 2 minutes. Room was perfectly ok. Good Kingsize bed, good/warm shower. Although as mentioned in other reviews there is no real restaurant, just a kind of sports cafe in the upper part of the lobby, across the street is a shopping mall with different restaurants. The room rates are high, but I was aware this is Boston where there are no cheap rooms, so I come to the conclusion that the rate I paid was Ok for Boston.
The hotel is very downtown. 5 minutes from the subway station. 5 minutes from Copley Square.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjan-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Copley Place for 5 nights and were welcomed by Dominique who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We got a room on the 31st floor which was fantastic for the view of Boston, and I don't think I've ever slept in a more comfortable hotel bed.

The room was spacious and cleaned every day; the housekeeping staff were excellent.
The hotel is in a perfect location to explore Boston with the excellent Old Town Trolley tour stopping right at the hotel (would highly recommend).

Two negatives, however. Paying for wifi in a hotel in 2014 seems a little stingy to me. Since wifi is available in most coffee shops, trains, planes, etc. and when paying for a hotel room, I believe wifi should be free, not just in the lobby, but in all guest rooms.
Also, we arrived in Boston after a week in NYC and had lots of laundry that needed doing but I was informed by the bellhop that there is no laundry service at the weekend.
In a city as big as Boston and in a hotel as large as the Marriott Copley Place surely a weekend laundry service isn't too much to ask??

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
Green Features: The toilet uses a huge amount of water to flush. I think this could be improved.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here May 4-6 for a quick getaway from Chicago. The hotel is in a great area connected to high end shopping. It's also connected to the train station. Yes the elevators we're a little slow but no big deal. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again. The airport shuttle drops you off on Copely Place and you just walk about two blocks to the hotel. Good hotel. Great location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlohaDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Jose,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your brief getway from Chicago. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our hotel as well as our great location. As you also added, we are located only two blocks away from the new shuttle service to the airport- and for $5.00 per person, it is quite a deal.

Regarding the elevators, we are currently engaged in a modernization project which, once complete, will provide us with one of the fastest and most efficient systems in the city. Until then, it is possible that they may run slower at times. I am sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

Once again, thank you for staying with us.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel staff was friendly. When the battery in our keycard reader died, they took several hours to replace it and consequently we had to call security to let us in twice. They were apologetic and gave us vouchers for breakfast. The room was clean and very quiet. The onsite cafe for breakfast was very pricey, but was good (we used our free vouchers or would not have eaten there due to price).. The hotel is located in a high-end mall- sort of strange, but was close to subway entrances and a great location. The hotel was very busy as we were there for a convention and the elevators were Super slow until the crowd cleared out. No free wi-fi which was a bummer, but I used the guest wi-fi in the mall. The pool and hot tub were in an atrium and very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,132 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Property: Boston Marriott Copley Place
Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing