We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here for a convention. The hotel is in an awesome location, with easy public transportation access to anywhere in Boston and the Amtrak train station, all within a five minute walk. You can even walk to the Amtrak station through an indoor route and just cross the street. Two malls are attached and there are so many good restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself is clean and the room was very clean and comfortable. I did not request any extra services but the staff I encountered seemed friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here the next time I need a hotel in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123michel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Thank you also for staying with us.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to the Boston area.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    1,393
    472
    148
    61
See reviews for
697
641
136
1,149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived at noon on a Saturday and saw the registration line was spread through the lobby. We choose to return two hours later and completed our registration in 35 minutes. REALLY! Four staff members and five empty stations. The elevators are also poor. Hard to believe that you can wait fifteen minutes to reach your destination.

Over our three day stay I never saw anyone assisting guests with taxi service or directions.

Fortunately the room was clean, well appointed with a good mattress. This is not a new hotel. Clearly management is resting on their corporate reputation not interested in serving their guests. A sign indicating speedy elevators are coming is a sad excuse for management expressing concern.

Room Tip: Stay on a low floor and use the stairs.
See more room tips
Green Features: Poor. No obvious green programs other than a suggestion to reuse your linens obviously to save the hotel labor and expense.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing our hotel.

I was disappointed to learn that when you arrived on Saturday the registration desk was busy. It so happened that a large group staying in the hotel was departing, as another large convention was arriving at the same time. Since at that time there weren't many rooms available because guests were still enjoying them, interactions at the desk took longer. I am sorry that this was an inconvenience to you.

I was also disappointed to learn that you did not noticed any of the multiple green initiatives we currently have. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to further discuss them. I am at the same time pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and great beds.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

When you know that a convention is coming to your hotel why place signs around stating that elevator delays are to be expected while we upgrade our elevators? Why upgrade when you know the hotel is full to capacity? This should have been accomplished weeks earlier. The only time that you had no wait was going to the fitness center - which is really good. The bar staff was completely overwhelmed a couple of days and finally I gave up and went to my room. While the location is great, it's not worth the price or the headache.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet. I never heard any hall noise at all and my room was very close to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomjr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Boston.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our Health Club and room. I was at the same time disappointed that the pace of the elevators may have been an inconvenience. As you noted, we are currently engaged in a modernization project and once completed our system will be extremely efficient.

Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Not only a great location for all things Boston, but a very friendly staff. We had a great room with a lovely view of the river. The bellhop remembered us from two days before. They could use another restaurant, but there are certainly are many good restaurants very close to the hotel. The problem - supposedly being renovated - but certainly not in our time there (five days) was the elevators. Thank goodness we were on an upper floor, as many times by the time we arrived at the middle floors gong down the elevator was full so people had to wait for the next, and then the next one. Ask for an upper level room if at all possible, if the hotel is busy you will be happier - with he view and the elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor - above floor 20 if possible - both for the view and ease in gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom03301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our great location.

Regarding the elevators, as you stated, there are some that are much faster than others. That is because as the modernization project evolves the system becomes noticeably faster. Thank you for the observation.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Oh my, this is a great location, connected to two pretty fun indoor malls and near a lot of major sites in Boston. But oh my, they just aren't up to hosting groups (and maybe not up to hosting individuals.) The elevators are "in progress" and people waited as long as 20 minutes for one. The locks on the doors frequently don't work and there were several days when we had to get new keys three times a day. The safe in our room was not bolted to the floor, or the wall, or anything - it was completely free-standing and someone could easily have walked away with it. And when I got there they didn't have a room for me.
On the positive side, there's the location, and the in-hotel restaurant Champions, that's pretty good. But I'll stay at the Westin the next time, believe me.

Room Tip: Since I wouldn't stay there again, I wouldn't recommend a particular room.
See more room tips
Green Features: They encourage re-use of towels - that's all i was aware of.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trackervienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in our hotel during your last trip to the Boston area.

I am sorry that you feel that your stay was less than pleasant. This is unusual and I understand your disappointment. I am at the same time pleased to learn that you enjoyed Champions Bar & Grill as well as our great location.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
678 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had a nice stay - my room was nice and clean and had wonderful views of the Charles River. I had LONG waits for elevators, however. There is a first-rate grocery store across the street (Shaw's) - I was there every day for snacks and bottled water. They have very good sushi, too! The hotel location is good, right on Huntington Avenue in the Back Bay area. I took the new Logan Express both ways to-and-from the airport. It runs every 20 minutes and costs $5.00 - can't beat that. It drops you at Copley Square and then you have a 5-minute schlep (up an incline, unfortunately) to the Marriott.

Room Tip: Plan ahead for the slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 493Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My guest room was very clean and quite comfortable. I liked that there was an empty fridge in the room, especially since there is a nice supermarket directly across the street. I stocked up on fruit, yogurt, juice, and granola bars, and never had to pay for breakfast at the hotel. The hotel itself is connected to two malls, so there is easy access to restaurants and shops. There are many fine restaurants within easy walking distance.

The location was perfect. Directly across the street is where you can take a Duck Tour of Boston (I recommend that as well!). The Back Bay transit station is at one end of the mall connected to the hotel, so you never have to go outside. There is also a cheap ($5) bus called the Logan Express that takes you from the airport to Copley Square, and then it's just a two block walk to the Marriott.

The Champions Sports Bar at the hotel is large and serves average hotel food. I found that it can get quite loud during World Cup games!

Although there are many elevators, they did NOT seem to work efficiently, and I often had to wait a long time. (I was there for a convention, so maybe that's not typical.) See below for room tips.

Because of its fantastic location and all of the conveniences nearby, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Because there are two sets of elevators (1-27 and 27-38, ), I would choose to stay on floor 27. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaw5604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Property: Boston Marriott Copley Place
Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing