We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delayed Elevators and Front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Delayed Elevators and Front desk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

One of the worst experiences. The elevators are running extremely slow with a wait time of 15-18 minutes. For the two nights we were here, I waited a combined total of an hour. Very displeased. Also, checking in was very disappointing. They knew they had a full house and they only had two people at the front desk checking in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Raul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
56bbc, Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I am disappointed to hear about your recent stay and apologize for your expereince. We are currently involved in an elevator modernization project and when complete will outfit us with one of the most advanced systems in the Boston area. However, there are times when they may be slower than normal. I did review you check in experience with the Front Office Manager for follow up with his team. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you to a better experience in the near future.
Best regards.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    1,377
    468
    144
    59
See reviews for
693
636
133
1,133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
301 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I always look forward to staying here. The location is excellent for work, shopping or leisure. The hotel is huge but the staff still make you feel like an individual. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of a fridge which many Marriotts don't offer. There is a good supermarket across the street. The gym is good and the views from some of the rooms very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, MO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel fell below my expectations in several areas. Although the staff I encountered were always pleasant, the maintenance and overall operation of the hotel is lacking. there are basically two banks of elevators, local 1-27 and Express 1, 27 - top. It is not an exaggeration that waiting times were in excess of 20 minutes to go up or down on many occasions. The hotel posted an apology, but the problem was supposed to take up to two years to resolve! The air-conditioner in my room had a faulty relay. The maintenance person indicated this was a known problem. I was there a week. Why wasn't it replaced? The sanitation of the couch in my room was filthy from unidentified bodily fluids. I even turned the seat cushion over and it was worse! Come on, people! Really! As others have mentioned, WiFi in the rooms is not free. There are two tiers of service one can purchase, both of which are more per day than most people pay per month. Finally, the in-room safe was non-functional. I would not recommend this property for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: Elevator service above the 27th floor may be faster
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BEWSaintLouis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena K, Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to file out the survey through Social Media
I would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you recently had at our hotel. Your comments concerning the overall maintenance and operation of the facility have been shared with the appropriate departments. I can assure you corrective action is being taken on all issues

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your patronage of Marriott Hotels and Resorts is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is situated in the center of all the action of the Back Bay area! Convenient to much shopping, restaurants and other tourist attractions. I especially liked the way it is connected to the Copley Place Shopping center. There's something for everyone here! The rooms are very nicely appointed. The staff very professional, courteous and helpful. The only issue was with the elevators. Seems as if it's a new computerized system and there are kinks that they're still working out. Hopefully they'll get it corrected soon! I would definitely stay here again regardless!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelawareCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this Marriott. The location was great! Within walking distance to Fenway and Boston Common with a great mall directly across from the hotel. The duck tours depart across the street and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and city-sized (bigger than NYC but smaller than a "regular" room). It's so huge that you feel like you're in a people warehouse. All-in-all a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view above the 22nd floor for a brilliant panorama of Boston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here as part of the a conference with 800+ people. It was a very comfortable hotel in a very convenient location. The only real problem was the elevators. I waited for one to go from the 9th floor to the lobby for 15 minutes. Several of the other people waiting took the stairs down 9 floors because they had to be at meetings. It was like this almost all the time. On the positive side, the room itself was very comfortable. The staff was particularly helpful.

Room Tip: lower floor might help with the elevator situation
See more room tips
Green Features: They seemed to being doing a good job with recycling.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a convenient position in Back Bay and has good facilities...BUT I resent being charged nearly $30 for s short phone call to the UK when my phone failed, and around $18 for "extra fast" broadband. But the worst thing was the no/slow of the lifts. We, and all other guests were fuming when having to wait up to six or seven minutes for a lift. On complaining - no apology, just a "Yes, they are being uprated!"

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed its great location. I was at the same time disappointed that you feel that other aspects provided a negative impact.

As you correctly stated, we are currently involved in an elevator modernization project which may slow the pace of the elevators at times. It is a laborious process but once complete will provide the hotel with one of the most advanced system in the Boston area.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Property: Boston Marriott Copley Place
Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing