We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention Hotel, not enough elevators. Good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mission Viejo, CA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Convention Hotel, not enough elevators. Good location!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent a week here because of a convention. There are 9 elevators, but 2 or 3 were not working. So, you waited a lot. Sometimes you had to go down to the first floor get one to go up. Room and view of Boston was really nice.

Location was excellent. Easy access to the subway. A shopping mall and grocery store across the street. With a refrigerator in the room, we were able to stock things for breakfast and snacks. Lots of places nearby to dine. Work definitely stay here again (hopefully the elevators get fixed!)

Room Tip: Get a room towards the top and a view of the Charles River. Lower floors are blocked by local build...
See more room tips
Green Features: They ask to reuse sheets and towels if you can. Don't know if they do any recycling.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVCA0Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    1,426
    482
    151
    64
See reviews for
718
654
138
1,172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at the Marriott Copley for a conference during the last week of June. I had a room on one of the highest floors with two double beds. The view of the surroundings was outstanding; the room itself adequate but not particularly memorable. The hotel staff were all kind, courteous, and accustomed to dealing with large groups of people. I at at the sports bar a few times and they had great pub food with a good beer selection. The location was great with easy walking to two green line T stops. My only peeve was the long wait time for the elevators, which while partly a function of the number of people in the hotel, should not have been quite the issue it was when there are so many elevators. Other than that I enjoyed my 4 night stay very much!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IntotheWoods22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We arrived to thd hotel via airport bus which stopped about 2 blocks or so from the hotel. It wasn't bad and was cheaper than renting a car or cab. The staff greeted us as we were there for business and leisure. The staff was helpful particularly the front desk attendant. The room was very nice and the view overlooking thd city was fantastic. The hotel is in the heart of Copley Square and walking distance if you have strong legs to the main historic attractions. The highlight for me was the Freedom Trail. The only issue at the hotel was elevator service, incredibly slow. Overall, the experience was great and I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyaJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Woman in the reception was very good. Rooms were like everywhere else in the same type of hotels. Very convenient for shopping as it is connected to 2 shopping centers. It is convenient to have several restaurant options downstairs but many options also close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reesepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First, let me say that the elevators where working fine. There were some relatively recent reviews about work on the elevators. I was there the week of July 4th and everything worked perfectly. The customer service, including valet service, was excellent. I asked for a late check out due to my flight and it was granted with no problem. There is a good store right across the street and the hotel is connected to a nice mall, all within easy walking distance.
The room was clean and comfortable and the bed was so comfortable I hated to get up. It was a very good experience and an excellent location.
The only negative comment I have is that the WiFi required extra payment to use. I expected free WiFi for the price of the room. I ended up using my personal hotspot instead of their service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank road_tested2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were here for a conference for my husband, so we got a better rate. I don't think we'd choose to swing it otherwise. But if you're here, can't beat the location. It's close to 2 T-stops (underground subway), a Shaw's supermarket, the Boston Public Library and the Boston Public Gardens. We walked the mile plus to Boston Common and then the Freedom Trail from there (we like walking, but it's an easy t-ride to any of the sights and to Harvard and MIT in Cambridge).

Franco, the concierge is a sweetheart. He got us reservations on a Saturday night for Atlantic Fish Co. I had to try to reserve online and then by phone; no dice. Franco made a call to the manager and presto, we were in at 7. He also was really gracious helping me out with some details, taking time and effort to make my life easier. I'm grateful.

The hotel room had a great view, and all the cleaning staff, etc., seemed to be great.

My only negatives are that the wait for the elevators could be several minutes (as many as five or so) and that we had some difficulties with the front desk to separate out work charges from personal charges. One of the staff assured my husband that it was no problem to fix it if he would take care of it at check-out, and... it wasn't. It took half an hour of our planned pre-flight time, and they still didn't work it out. We don't fault the desk staff before we left; just the guy that convinced my husband to wait until we were time-strapped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momsf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel during the summer. The best thing was the area in which it was located, Back Bay is a very good neighbourhood with great restaurants around and nice shops. However, I believe that there are many other great hotels in the area.
This marriot has little personality and is very simple in many ways.
Although the service always met our personal standards, the lobby area and rooms aren't special in any way.
Also, for people who want to be in a more relaxed atmosphere, this will not be the hotel for you as it is placed inside a mall with a lot of people walking about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Maria,

Thank you to you and your family for staying with us during your visit to the Boston area. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our great location and that our staff was pleasant.

I am sorry that our lobby was, at times, busy. As a large, downtown convention hotel, it is possible at times that large groups conglomerate in the public areas. I apologize if this was an inconvenience to you.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again during your next visist to the Boston area.

Bes regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,248 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Property: Boston Marriott Copley Place
Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing